We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!!”

Jervis Bay Stand Up Paddle
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Huskisson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stand Up Paddling is a rapidly growing new sport. It offers fun, fitness and a fabulously scenic way to get around on the water. It is easier than it looks and almost anyone can do it. Jervis Bay Stand Up Paddle is an ASI (Academy of Surfing Instructors) accredited school, and abides by the high international standards for Stand Up Paddle schools.Anyone with enough physical fitness to take a one hour walk and with basic swimming skills can participate. You will be provided with a quality flat-water cruising board, a paddle and a rash shirt (or wetsuit in winter). You will need to bring appropriate swimwear, towel, sun block and a great sense of humour.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So much fun!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Wow! What a great way to start one's day! Booked the early morning session on a day when the weather forecast predicted 4 °C in the morning so we were very concerned, but wanted to get out of our comfort zone and do it anyway. It was the right decision!
We got to the meeting point just after 7am, dressed in winter jackets, waiting in the car with full heating on. When Mel arrived she offered us wetsuits which we happily accepted but it was still weird getting undressed in such cold weather. When everyone in the group got sorted out and got their boards allocated, we got down to the beach and had a 10 minute introduction into the basics of stand up paddle boarding. The sand was so cold, we were jumping from one foot to the other, but the sun started to warm up the air so we knew we would be fine soon.
Once we got to the water we were hoping we didn't fall into the water but of course all of us did. However at that point the water was warmer than the air so it wasn't an unpleasant experience at all! And once we got the grip of the technique, we just had fun-fun-fun! :)
Mel is very nice and very-very patient. She made sure everyone was ok, let the better ones explore the secrets of this sport by themselves while helping those ones who were a bit behind. At the end of the day all of us returned to the shore with a great smile and a great experience.
In the beginning Mel said after this day we will be hooked to this sport, and she was so right! I am now looking into options around the area where I live to do it again, and even do it regularly.
Thank you so much Mel, it was one of our best experiences in Jervis Bay!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“An awesome morning out”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Get out there and give it a go!!! This was my third trip with Mel and the second with the whole family. Mel and Jase are very patient and want to make sure everybody enjoys the experience and learns the fun of stand up paddle. Their site selection considers the riders abiltities, wind and tides to make the trip a pleasant one. Their gear is all perfect and well maintained. There's sealife aplenty and the expert instructors take the time to demonstrate and encourage you to have a go & learn the skills to stand up and paddle. One trip we took a young girl with cerebral palsy and they could not have done more to manage the trip speed to her fitness and tailor the trip and instruction to her abilities. She had a great time. Highly recommend you experience stand up with Mel and Jase at JB stand up paddle.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience paddle boarding!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Thank you Mel for helping me to tick something else off my bucket list on Saturday!! The three of us had a great time learning to paddle board. Mel is such a patient teacher who obviously loves what she does. I could have easily given up but she kept encouraging me to get back on when I fell off. I have bad ankles and knees but with her tuition I was able to stand and have a paddle and have photos to prove it. The scenery was lovely and it felt so good to be out on the river doing something healthy. Can see why it is so popular!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank js410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

During a recent trip to Australia my husband and I had a chance to give stand up paddle a try for the first time and we really loved it! Jason was a very patient and clear instructor so we didn’t have any problems at all. My husband has bad hips but this was never an issue for him - he was able to stand up on the board from the very first go. The weather was beautiful and so was the scenery to include the kangaroos. It was a real pleasure to meet the owners Jason and Melissa and we throughly enjoyed their company. Huskisson is a charming little bayside town with good restaurants and a fun pub. We definitely hope to go back there again someday!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurajds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was so much fun. The guys were really friendly and helpful. The bay makes it a good place to give it a first go as well. highly recommended!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mels336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jervis Bay Stand Up Paddle also viewed

Jervis Bay, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to Jervis Bay Stand Up Paddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing