We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway to "refresh"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Ranked #2 of 6 Huskisson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

By recommendation from friends we spend 2 nights to getaway from the business world . Best bed and breakfast, great spot and very private, the hosts were hands on and the facilities very personalised. I was not disappointed and would certainly go again..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilou1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

My wife and I decided to spend the Mothers day week end with a difference.
After searching for something we may enjoy we found the Dolphin Sands in Jervis bay NSW. This charming B and B type of place reminded us so much of Bali that we love.
The rooms are large and well appointed and when we arrived where greeted by our host who are most charming and caring making sure we had everything we needed. The weather was cool and the room was cozy and heated. We had total privacy even though we were not the only guests there and did our own thing.
Apart from that the next morning we had a wonderful breakfast served with what looked like home made preserves and bread, just that nice touch we wanted to share as we believe that praise should be given if so deserved.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with private entrance
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glendale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Was dissappointed at the quality of the room for the price of $235. My personal opinion is that this price sits in the luxury b&b bracket but nothing seemed to be in that bracket be it the size, view, bed, tv, shower,cupboard or even the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjoshi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Appreciate your review. This was our last available room that weekend and is due for renovation before the summer season. Your review has made us bring that renovation forward as a priority.
A larger more modern room was offered at the time of booking but as this had twin beds the offer was declined.
Breakfast offered was, 3 types of cereal, assortment of fresh fruit, two poached fruits, baked yogurt as well as home made fresh yoghurt, a selection of 4 home made breads and I beleive the hot breakfast that morning was parmesan toast with oven roast tomatoes and grilled pancetta. Tea, coffee and fruit juice.
Our guest book consistantly has rave comments on our breakfast and guest service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Although we only stayed one night, thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Huskisson. Dolphin Sands was within walking distance to the center of town and the beach. Our room was excellent, spacious with a lovely deck out the back overlooking the gardens. Breakfast was delicious and served outside on the large communal deck.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Wayne and Beatrice are excellent hosts. They made great suggestions on what to do and helped us get reservations at the best restaurants in the area. The rooms were well designed, comfortable and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts were outstanding: fresh seasonal fruit, juice, museli, rhubarb, poached pears and apricots, grains and a hot plate every morning. My favorite was the pancetta and tomato on toast. Overall, a great experience and highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennybeck83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

we had a lovely night at Dolphin Sands. We arrived late, we'd planned to camp but it was raining so had to make last minute alternative plans.
The owners of DS were lovely, so hospitable and friendly.
With great touches like fruit in our room and sweets. We paid a bit extra for the spa room and it was worth it.
The bed was so comfy, great nights sleep.
The breakfast the following morning was also lovely, all home made and very healthy.
Great, totally unplanned visit. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyanneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My husband and I got married in Jervis bay in December 2009 and we rented the Dolphin Sands luxury cottage so that my parents and sister could also stay with us. We also wanted room to get ready for the wedding. We had the place for 5 nights and spent $1800. We had to pay the full amount one month in advance. We also booked 4 rooms in the B&B across the road.

Our hosts were rude and never even said congratulations - let alone go out of their way to do anything special for our wedding. There was no indication in the rooms that there was even a wedding on.

The place just wasn't that nice. I don't know how they get away with calling it a luxury apartment. There is only one air conditioning unit. It is in the lounge room and didn't work very well. Thank goodness it wasn't that hot while we were there. The windows do not have fly screens so we were eaten alive by mossies. They also only supplied one roll of toilet paper (there were 6 of us staying the cottage) and said that we would have to pay for any more.

My relatives stayed in the Husky Sea Breeze apartments and they were 1000 times nicer and half the price.

Very, very average.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank MangoMango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Thank you for the review information. This property was not Dolphin Sands B&B but a holiday rental house, Jervis Bay Luxury Cottage, which we manage.
The cottage sleeps 8 which translates to just over $50 per person per night with all linen and towels provided.
With a rental cottage guests usually want privacy and want to be left alone, which we respect. With all rental cottages we always have a starter pack of toiletries, tea coffee etc and the booking form and confirmation information supplied to the guests on booking outlines this.
This cottage has a large recycled air-conditioner, 2 gas heaters for winter, 13 window fly screen's, a front and back screen door for guest comfort.
In regard to the one room, not 5 that was booked in Dolphin Sands, what a delightful lady. An older aunt who had breakfast with us each morning and kept us informed about the wedding with not a hint of being other than being exstreamly happy and delighted with everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ceespray on Owen
Ceespray on Owen
#3 of 6 in Huskisson
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#2 of 4 in Huskisson
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay

Address: 6 Tomerong St, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Huskisson
Price Range: £163 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dolphin Sands Dolphin Sands is an idyllic, intimate Bed and Breakfast, situated in Huskisson at the heart of stunning Jervis Bay, NSW, well known for it's pristine white sand beaches and unique wildlife. Exclusively for adults, Dolphin Sands is the perfect retreat for those wanting a break to recharge, celebrate an occasion or a memorable addition to your itinerary while visiting Australia. Set within peaceful private gardens, guests are welcome to enjoy the serene open-air dining and lounge area, where our locally sourced breakfast is served or choose to relax in one of our five spacious bedrooms. The main street of Huskisson is within easy walking distance, where guests can explore the boutique shops and try the wonderful cafes and restaurants that Huskisson has to offer. Dolphin Sands is the perfect base for those who want to enjoy all that Jervis Bay has to offer. From the famous white sands of Hyams Beach to paddle boarding, dolphin and whale watching cruises and walking trails of Booderee National Park, there are plenty of local activities to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you to Dolphin Sands and sharing everything that beautiful Jervis Bay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing