We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very peaceful couples retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Ranked #2 of 6 Huskisson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

What a fantastic B&B for a few nights away from the kids and the rat-race of life. The house itself was set off the road and hid behind the well kept gardens, without a hint of the beautiful breakfast area (as it was inside and outside, and a little of both :-) ). The rooms were spaciuos, inviting, peaceful and serviced everyday. Waking up to breakfast ready made is always a treat, but a breakfast that sends your tastes buds into a frenzy and fills your belly for the day, is quite an experience. The baked yoghurt would have to be my favourite. Close enough to HUskisson to walk and very short drives to some beautiful seaside bush walks. Found a quiet spot to watch some dolphins play. Recommend for a quiet getaway, even if you wanted to share some kid free time away with friends, as there are plenty of rooms to go around.

Room Tip: The room with it's own private balcony is nice. The door is very private and you can leave it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kermitB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for your supportive comments. We have spent a great deal of time on our garden with native hedgeing to make our B&B as private and as peacefull as possible. Being a couples retreat without children also helps with the relaxing nature of our retreat.
The home cooked food quality and comfort of our guests is our primary focus and we are aware this is Australia and we do have more mosquitos at certain times of the year. We provide repellant in the rooms with air-conditioning so doors are able to be closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Huskisson is a great little seaside town in the Jervis Bay area. This B&B was a 5-10 minute walk from the main street, and the same from the beaches, which are pristine white sands and stunning turquoise waters, sheltered bay beaches and ocean beaches too. Breakfasts of stewed fruits, baked yoghurts, hot options such croissants filled with ham and cheese, good coffeee and sweet breads with coconut, banana, dates, walnuts and many others.

Rooms spacious and pleasant, everything provided for including robes, fruit, chocolates and a spa.

We stayed in the front room of this delightful B&B which was street facing and a little noisy with all the passing traffic, and the breakfast traffic also as is served outside on the terrace, which meant a real sleep in was not an option. Having said that I would stay again as no idea why you would want to sleep in whilst in this area, make the most of every daylight hour.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExoticLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your great comments about our breakfast, we realy enjoy sending guests out for the day having enjoyed our home made delights.
We do encourage guests to make an early start as the mornings on the coast are just the best so alot of guests like to have breakfast around 8 to 8-30 and head off to our beautifull beaches and national parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here in September and this B&B has a LOT going for it.

- Superb breakfast, equal to the best I have experienced anywhere. They could open a restaurant with food of this standard!
- Excellent dining room and deck with beautiful outlook over very lovely gardens
- Delightful, friendly host that couldn't have been more helpful and yet kept his distance
- Tasteful decor
- Wonderful towels

But for me, a lot of this was negated by poor cleaning and attention to detail - this could be maybe accepted at a cheap motel but not at this style/pricepoint. Examples include a bathroom floor that needed a good scrub, bedside lights with broken bulbs, ceiling fan with dirt on the blades, dusty shelves, pillows well past their use by date, clocks set to the wrong time. Fix these and Dolphin Sands would be close to perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Yor comments about our breakfast and our service make the effort we put in make it all worthwhile. We love what we do but not wanting to open a restaurant as well.
Thanks for your review which was very helpfull in confirming that we made the correct decision last November to replace our cleaners. We have also since updated linen and pillows and hopefully now near perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent my birthday at this wonderful b & b. The owners were very welcoming and attended to our every need but also allowed us to have our privacy. The room was spacious and very comfortable, and warm and cosy but would be cool in the summer due to the air conditioning system. We had a wonderful nights sleep and woke to a breakfast that could only be summed up as 'amazing'. There was so much on offer that we wanted to spend more nights there so we could try everything. There was home made breads to die for and compotes and baked yogurts and a cooked option for those who wanted more! The location is excellent as close to Huskissson but away from the husle and busle too. I am already planning my return trip to Dolphin Sands. I would highly recommend a stay here and a walk before for breakfast to make room for the choices they have!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rarakiddiwinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent 4 days over the Christmas break at Dolphin Sands - the rooms (we spent 2 nights in one and 2 nights in another) were comfy and clean. Location was easy walk around Huskisson and the breakfasts were amazing! Definitely worth the stop and great recommendation to spend our days at Murray's Beach. It is not 5 star luxury but a solidly good B&B!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YankinMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

By recommendation from friends we spend 2 nights to getaway from the business world . Best bed and breakfast, great spot and very private, the hosts were hands on and the facilities very personalised. I was not disappointed and would certainly go again..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilou1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My wife and I decided to spend the Mothers day week end with a difference.
After searching for something we may enjoy we found the Dolphin Sands in Jervis bay NSW. This charming B and B type of place reminded us so much of Bali that we love.
The rooms are large and well appointed and when we arrived where greeted by our host who are most charming and caring making sure we had everything we needed. The weather was cool and the room was cozy and heated. We had total privacy even though we were not the only guests there and did our own thing.
Apart from that the next morning we had a wonderful breakfast served with what looked like home made preserves and bread, just that nice touch we wanted to share as we believe that praise should be given if so deserved.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glendale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ceespray on Owen
Ceespray on Owen
#3 of 6 in Huskisson
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huskisson Bayside Resort
Huskisson Bayside Resort
#4 of 4 in Huskisson
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay

Address: 6 Tomerong St, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Huskisson
Price Range: £157 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dolphin Sands Dolphin Sands is an idyllic, intimate Bed and Breakfast, situated in Huskisson at the heart of stunning Jervis Bay, NSW, well known for it's pristine white sand beaches and unique wildlife. Exclusively for adults, Dolphin Sands is the perfect retreat for those wanting a break to recharge, celebrate an occasion or a memorable addition to your itinerary while visiting Australia. Set within peaceful private gardens, guests are welcome to enjoy the serene open-air dining and lounge area, where our locally sourced breakfast is served or choose to relax in one of our five spacious bedrooms. The main street of Huskisson is within easy walking distance, where guests can explore the boutique shops and try the wonderful cafes and restaurants that Huskisson has to offer. Dolphin Sands is the perfect base for those who want to enjoy all that Jervis Bay has to offer. From the famous white sands of Hyams Beach to paddle boarding, dolphin and whale watching cruises and walking trails of Booderee National Park, there are plenty of local activities to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you to Dolphin Sands and sharing everything that beautiful Jervis Bay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing