We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great meal”

Hawng Khrua Thai Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 32 Restaurants in Huskisson
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia NSW
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Am a local in the area and have eaten here fairly often over the past 10 or so years both at the Restaurant and Take away. Meals are always great. The staff are always friendly even when the hectic busy season (December/January and Easter) hits they always give their best. Happy to wait a little longer when they are busy as the meal is worth the wait. They are also happy to adjust the dishes to your liking ie. more/less chilli etc, I love my Chicken Pad Thai with extra vegetables and they are happy to oblige. Great value too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    16
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“STILL AS GOOD AS EVER”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A beautiful meal from a fairly standard Thai menu. I have been here quite a number of times over the last 15 years or so and have never been disappointed. The meals were of a high standard and a good size (only three dishes required to feed a small family of 5 + entree). The service was prompt and the staff were very nice and friendly. It is still very popular as it was near full for the 90 minutes or so we were there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank silverstreak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food poor service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The food is really awesome big serves and great flavours. The two female staff were abrupt rude and arrogant. Really made night unpleasant

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Cook
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hawng Khrua excels again.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We ate here after being away for 8 years. I was delighted to say that the quality of food hasn't changed a bit. GREAT dinner for two. We have eaten out and around the world recently... happy with good food from all over. We were again relieved that the restaurant hasn't changed hands, same owners, same great cooking style.. Best... cow pat kai... I've had in a long time... Great to be back...We have eaten in most of the newer restaurants in Huskisson, and none of them were great. The others were expensive too. This was good food and value too...Thanks Hwang Khrua!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jk0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER ever again!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We chose Thai over a good old fashioned RSL meal thinking it would perhaps be more upmarket. The staff messed up our order and then confronted and questioned our integrity when we bought it to their attention in such a forceful and rude manner that we rolled over and accepted our fate. One prawn per soup goal, chilli far too hot - more like eating dirty dishwater with toenails floating atop - never again - Our main meal was a similar disappointment - far too small but this time no taste at all, no authentic thai flavour - I would not recommend this place ever!.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawng Khrua Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to Hawng Khrua Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing