We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Beach Cottage that feels like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Huskisson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to call the Huskisson Bed and Breakfast our home this past long weekend. I loved it from the moment I saw the veranda, in through the sitting room and right to the claw footed tub in our room. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were well decorated, and the whole atmosphere helped us relax and enjoy the beauty of Jervis Bay. The location is perfect for pretty much all activity in the area. Be sure to book in advance as it fills up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a month long tour of Australia.

We found the property online whilst researching the area and unlike some other reviewers on Trip Advisor, we had spent time investigating if this was the type of place we wanted to stay.

We knew that it was particular type of place with a unique, rustic look and feel. Some people like a mismatch of furniture, fixtures and fittings and cluttered belongings in the communal areas whilst others don't - but you can't blame the owners for this. That is exactly what they're offering.

The room we stayed in was comfortable, stylish and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spacious and generously appointed. WiFi was excellent, the shower hot, the bed comfortable and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. We had everything we needed and the location allowed us to explore this pretty area.

A brief word about the location... I took a quick look on Google Street View before booking and it showed me that it was on the main road into the village. It's a bit unfair to complain about a place being on a main road if you haven't first checked to see if it is or not. I didn't see anywhere on the website or elsewhere that they claimed this place was hidden away in the hills or was secluded down a private road or anything. So to moan that cars drive past during the day is a little odd.

We found that although there was traffic driving into this quaint little town during the day, the odd car at night didn't particularly disturb us.

We had breakfast on the verandah whilst watching beautiful lorikeets bouncing from branch to branch and had a sundowner on the deck with a busy wombat wrestling with the many trees in the garden. In fact, as a keen gardener, I liked the cottage-garden, overgrown style.

Yes it is considerably more expensive than other places in the region but you know that before you book. Spending the time to read the website you'll know the owners approach, the ethos of the place. It's shabby chic, it's a traditional 100 year old beach house and they match this style with a relaxed, informal service style. If you're looking for modern, cutting edge design, formal gardens, immaculate service and to be waited on hand and foot then you'd be better off elsewhere.

If you take it for what it is, where it is and get what the owners are offering I think you'd struggle to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danieltjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in December and I cannot fault it. The rooms are beautifully made up and really light and spacious. Gorgeous bathroom and the breakfast each morning was delicious - eggs anyway you like with toast, cereal, fruit, variety of tea and a glass of orange juice. It's a 5-10 minute walk from the main street in Huskisson which is lovely and has a few nice restaurants and cafes. Kate and Steve are such a lovely couple and really look after you and tell you about local places to visit - definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We are in the middle of an 8 night stay at this charming B&B and we can only highly recommend it to others. We are staying in the fabulous family room, which is perfect for a stay with young (or older) kids. Our kids absolutely love it here because they can cuddle and play with Sundae (chocolate lab), play board games, watch DVDs or hang out in the living area or the garden. We love having our own room and the magnificent claw foot bath. I can only say good things about Kate & Steve they are such lovely people and incredible hosts. They go out of their way to help or offer advice and make sure everybody is happy. We love it here and Jervis Bay is a perfect family holiday. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank NicTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Huskisson B&B for 3 nights. Not being big fans of B&B's we were however convinced to stay there by the near perfect rating on Tripadvisor. Was it bad - no, did it deserve a rating of Excellent - definitely not. Room was small with and old bar style fridge, bedding ok, fittings average, outdoor area was just like an average and not very well maintained backyard at home, bathroom was quite good, no ac unit (ceiling fan), lack of privacy when people walked through the backyard etc. The photos on the website overstate what you actually get. On the plus side the breakfasts were very good, it was clean, the room at the rear of the house was quiet and the owners were friendly and helpful. It was close to the eateries etc in the town however it is located on a main road which could get quite busy. For the price we felt it was definitely overrated and if we are in this beautiful area again and are looking for somewhere to stay that is better than average we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Our favourite holiday place to stay! Kate and Steve are perfect hosts who have become friends; the house is delightful and stylish. Eating a fresh breakfast on the front porch (weather permitting) is lovely.

Huskisson is a lovely town to visit.
Don't miss paddling at Moona Moona Creek when you visit!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AussieNisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This bed and breakfast in Huskisson just 2.5/3 hours South of Sydney is a beautiful place to stay. We stayed for 5 nights and it was a delight. The hosts Kate and Steve are very helpful and are on hand to deal with questions and share good ideas about places to go and what to do. The rooms are delightful, spacious and airy; the bed was very comfortable and wonderful to sleep in. Bathroom had a great shower and a hugh bath. Breakfast was out on the veranda each morning, although you can eat inside if it is a bit cooler. Breakfast was taken at a leisurely pace and was a good start to the day. We particularly liked the museli and fresh fruit salad; again echoing other comments, the marmalade and coffee were also great. Overall, it was the atmosphere of the place that made it and that was down to the owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ceespray on Owen
Ceespray on Owen
#3 of 6 in Huskisson
134 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskisson Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Tomerong St | Jervis Bay, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Huskisson
Price Range: £92 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Huskisson Bed and Breakfast is relaxed, beach style, boutique accommodation * 4 comfy luxurious queen sized guest rooms. * All rooms have big ensuites with clawfoot bathtubs, walk-in showers, heated floors or heated towel rails. * All rooms open to the garden or the verandah. * The airy, white bedrooms all have super comfortable beds, quality linen, big towels, heating, electric blankets in winter, reading lights, ceiling fans, TV/ DVD, free movies. * The comfortable guest sitting-room has a real wood fire, games and books. * Free delicious light breakfast of fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, bakery toast & homemade jams. * Handmade espresso coffees or leaf tea in a pot. * Guests have the use of a fridge and microwave. * Free tea and coffee making facilities and ANZAC biscuits at all hours. * 5 minutes level walk to first of Jervis Bay's famous white sand beaches and seapool. * 5 minutes walk to beginning of coastal walking, cycling tracks and play parks * 3 minutes to Huskisson centre's cafes, restaurants, boutique shops, banks, bakery, pub. * 5 minutes walk to dolphin and whale watching cruise wharf, heritage cinema, dive centre. * 10 minute drive to Hyams Beach, Jervis Bay National Park and Booderee National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Huskisson Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing