We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at a great price!”
Review of Pioneer Motel

Pioneer Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pioneer Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kangaroo Valley
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place at a great price!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stopped in here for one night on our way south. The standard room was much larger than expected, and cold winter nights are certainly catered for with reverse cycle air, great heaters and electric blankets! Great size bathroom, comfortable bed, and spacious living area and dining table. Our car was protected with underground parking too. Would definitely stay there again.

We had dinner across the street at Cafe Bella, the food was fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoshiDogSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Some friends had their wedding in Kangaroo Valley and booked here as it was the closest to the estate. While great over the phone, when we checked in late at night (because we couldn't find it and they did not answer their phone) we were told in a very sharp tone by the female proprietor "You're lucky we're letting you in - reception closes at 8". The room was clean, but more on a par with a nice caravan park than a four star property. Upon checking out, we tried to thank the young man behind the counter, and the aformetnioned proprietor. She did not respond or even bother to make eye contact. Insulting!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BroadyandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Right in the village this motel is a real eye opner,the room we stopped in ( master suite) was more like a apartment with seprate bed room,sitting area ,two more single beds off to the side and a small but usefull kitchen area.
The staff were really great over the phone and in person and another plus was accross the road the "Friendly Hotel " for a great bistro and evening meal.
This would have to rate as one of the best motels i have stopped in and made my stay in this lovely part of NSW a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I visited the hotel early this year with friends, and loved the location, situated right in the middle of the valley, the service was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were at an affordable price. Great for a quiet retreat, and close to other beautiful towns such as Berry. I recommend to all! :):)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Whilst this place is clean, comfortable and centrally located in Kangaroo Valley, it does not really live up to the 4 star rating. It is difficult for the disabled or elderly to access the 2nd storey rooms, and no mention is made of these stairs on the website. You book by phone and are encouraged to book most expensive rooms or suites, because 'no others are available' and then you realise on arrival that the place is actually almost empty. There are no breakfast facilities on site. Service is a bit off-hand.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Stairs (2 flights to room)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tykeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kangaroo Valley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangaroo Valley
2.8 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
15.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
729 reviews
20.0 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
374 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wombatalla Guesthouse
Wombatalla Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Laurels B&B
The Laurels B&B
#2 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel

Property: Pioneer Motel
Address: 152 Moss Vale Rd, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kangaroo Valley
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel Kangaroo Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing