We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay for family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bell Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bell Farm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay for family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

They say a picture tells a thousand words and the photo below tells you everything about the wonderful time my children, my wife and I had on the big bell farm. Bruno spared no effort to make us feel at home and introduce my two city kids to the farm animals and the vegetables and fruit he grew. We will not hesitate to recommend this place as a place for family fun and much needed country tranquility. Thanks Bruno for a memorable experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddeeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Took my 3 children in the last holidays. Stayed 3 nights. Kids had a ball feeding the goats and running round the farm in general. 12 yr old son had a blast helping on the farm.
Accomodation was very neat and tidy. We stayed in the cabin with two bedrooms. Plants of room for the four of us. Very central to lots of activities. We did the mountains, huskison, Nowra and in and around the valley.
Very reasonably priced. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a fantastic few days at Big Bell Farm. The baby goats were so cute and kept our 6 year old entertained. By the end of the trip she stated "I need a goat!". The tree swing was a hit with our 4 year old. Bruno is a wonderful host and the girls also enjoyed a horse ride and seeing a calf being hand fed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Therese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My 5 year old reviewed this as "the best place in the world"!. It's fantastic for kids, and my husband and I had a great time too. Highlights included:

1. Feeding baby goats (16 days old!) named Tom and Jerry
2. Nice wood BBQ for steak dinner
3. Bruno the owner giving our son a ride on Molly the horse
4. Proximity to Kangaroo Valley township
5. Gorgeous views of cow fields and the escarpment
6. Peaceful walk through the farm, picking oranges and lemons from the trees

Cabin was cosy, simply furnished and quiet with a good kitchen so self-catering was a realistic option.

Really good value - about $220 I think for weekend (Friday/Saturday nights). The owner was lovely, helpful and kind. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank germanyanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu plains
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I took my two boys there in July and they had a ball feeding the baby goats etc.

We found the cabins nice and tidy and well priced. Bruce the owner was a good host and even took my sons for a ride on his horse for no extra charge.

I would highly recommend this as a good getaway for the family. The only problem is that my boys now want me to buy a farm with goats.

Definitely will return soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We have been lucky enough to stay here several times and always look forward to coming down. The farm is very cute and there was 4 newborn kids (goats) which our children just adored. The owners are always very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Whether that is free horse rides for the children or making sure the gas heater is on when you arrive. I am sure we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by an ever friendly owner. Offered us free oranges and lemons from his trees and gave us a run down on the property, including the mystical creek that runs through it. The cabin was extremely fitted out. Gas heater and also a small electric blow heater was provided, seeing we stayed in the middle of winter. Electric blankets provided. Kitchen was fully equipped, with nothing in short supply. Tv and dvd player also. The only thing I would say isn't up to par, would be the fold out sofa bed. The sofa itself was very uncomfortable, and I could image the bed would be also...but fortunately we didn't have to use the bed in the sofa.
Our dog felt at home in the cabin and was highly amused with the goats and cows.
I think I'd spend time there again for another short visit like the two nights we just spent there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangaroo Valley
3.6 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
15.2 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hillside Kangaroo Valley
Hillside Kangaroo Valley
#9 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wombatalla Guesthouse
Wombatalla Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bellawongarah at Berry
Bellawongarah at Berry
#1 of 1 in Bellawongarah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bell Farm

Property: Big Bell Farm
Address: 1666 Kangaroo Valley Road, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmstay in beautiful Kangaroo Valley with 3 self-contained Holiday Cabins. Each cabin has spectacular views into the escarpments of Morton National Parks and to the Wedding Cake Mountain.Two of our cabins have one bedroom and sleep 2-4 Persons,one cabin has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 6 persons. We are a child-friendly place and provide free cots and high chair. There is a games room and with the parents permission we give children a horse ride.Each cabin has good heating in Winter with gas heater and el. Fan heaters and cooling in Summer with air-cons and fans. You will have your own verandah and your private car port. There is a BBQ and a campfire for everyone. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing