We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend escape”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maggie L
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend escape”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had such a wonderful times with our family, the kids and the oldies and even the older oldies found it comfortable, warm and so beautifully equipped. Anything we wanted or needed was there. As a photographer I had a great time shooting the ridge at night, the dam and birds, and the various plants that the owners obviously knew a great deal about, there are so many interesting trees. We have been there a few times now at different times of the year - summer is great for swimming in the dam, winter great for staying inside and cooking delicious meals in the huge kitchen and using some of the herbs and lemons that all grow right outside the kitchen door. The best weekend getaway I've found yet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the grounds and the spacious living area
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanita G
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family holiday with something for everyone, we'll be back”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the most gorgeous weekend at the beautiful Linton House. It was spacious, gorgeous and has the most amazing grounds. The kids could not believe that they had their very own play park with slippery dip, monkey bars and wobbly bridge! We had adventurous days in our own private, idyllic country side. We swam in the lake, kayaked, picked flowers, collected herbs, tadpoles and fed ducks. Then spent the afternoon relaxing with a well deserved wine, perfect sunset and magical mountain views.
The rooms were very spacious with plenty of room for all of us and each with their own view. Lots of room indoors and outside for entertaining.
We will definitely be back and bring some friends with us next time,
Thank you Linton House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max M
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic weekend away, so relaxing and calm, will definitely be back again”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Loved the view, the outdoor areas were lovely. Swimming in the lake was great. We will definitely be back again and will bring more friends to enjoy it with us.
Note to self: bring inflatable li-lo next time.
The house has views from every room, I would happily live there myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: The place is just so relaxing
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful location, great spot to get away from it all, kids loved it.”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked here for a short pre Christmas break. It was lovely and the kids thought it was fantastic. All the rooms were comfortable, kitchen fine. It was the gorgeous views and the garden that made it better then other places we've stayed around Kangaroo Valley. The kids loved walking around the lake and spotting all the birds, feeding the inquisitive cows, catching tadpoles(and releasing them!) in the pond. We cooked at home almost every night and dined outside under the stars, it was extremely relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sipping a cold drink at sunset watching the beautiful changing colours of the hillsides around us
Liked least: it's the country, there's spiders.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob K
1 review
“showing signs of neglect”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The photos looked inviting, large spacious rooms, modern kitchen, large dining room, bbq, grounds to explore but it wasn't up to scratch. On arrival the garage / shed was filled with leaves and cobwebs and didn't make anyone feel like a game of table tennis.
The outside of the property was overrun with weeds and webs.
The dining room table needed a good clean & polish, to remove the sticky residue.
I loved the entertainment unit - a cardboard box but the amp worked OK.
The rear insect screens were not easy to operate and the screens were torn.
One downstairs room locked off and we were concerned that someone had been living there during the week and may return on the weekend.
The grounds /garden is being developed and hopefully one day will be very nice.
There is a warning to cross the bridge to the small island - at your peril ! sounded ominous, don't send children to play on their own.
To turn on the hose you will need to walk to the dam, locate the upturned boat and flick the switch to start the pump - we didn't bother.
Overall we were looking for a nice well maintained property to host an annual family get togethers and this wasn't it.
Linton house is overpriced and doesn't live up to the advertising - try someplace else

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quiet
Liked least: price, value for money, could be cleaner, replace some utensils, no instructions for the coffee machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“I was disappointed”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Sadly this property has been neglected. The gardens are not as you would see on the photographs and the house was grubby with dirty floors, the verandahs leaf and litter strewn. Whilst we were provided with clean bedding, and towels the crockery and cutlery and frypan were not clean, and the fridge contained a previous guests left over food jars, frozen food and ice-cream. The floors were dirty and the dining room table covered in a sticky residue. The lounge cushions needed a wash and the kitchen a good spring clean.
This was an expensive weekend where we paid top dollar and got sud standard accomodation. I would recommend the local caravan parks where the accomodation is cheaper and much cleaner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The fact that the propery was neglected and grubby
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry that you didn't enjoy yourselves. We have discussed all the cleaning issues with our cleaners to ensure that this does not happen again. As per your suggestion, we have also undertaken a full spring clean of the kitchen- drawers, cupboards, crockery, the lot!
With regards to the garden, it is very unfortunate that your visit was so soon after the large storms that we had the other week. As this is a rural property surrounded by large trees, we have an ongoing battle with leaves on the grass and pavers. Although they are swept up every week, a large storm such as the one the day before you arrived does cause havoc, and unfortunately there is little we can do to stop this. I do hope that if you come again the garden is looking its best for you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing