We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful Escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Sahali offers her guests 2 acres of total peace, privacy and tranquility...with magnificent views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sahali offers her guests 2 acres of total peace, privacy and tranquility...with magnificent views
Expansive verandahs with wet edge pool Space to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Sahali offers her guests 2 acres of total peace, privacy and tranquility...with magnificent views
Expansive verandahs with wet edge pool
Space to enjoy
Large combined living and dining rooms with escarpment views
Large combined living and dining rooms with escarpment views
Large combined living and dining rooms with escarpment views
Bedroom 5 (Queen Bed) - North Wing
Bedroom 5 (Queen Bed) - North Wing
Bathroom views over internal courtyard and fountain
Bedroom 2 (Queen Bed) - East Wing
Bedroom 6 (Two Single Beds) - South Wing
Bedroom 4 (Queen Bed) - North Wing
Reading Lounge
Bedroom 3 (Queen Bed) East Wing
Bedroom 3 (Queen Bed) - East Wing
Master Bedroom (Queen Bed)
Master Bedroom (Queen Bed)
Bathroom with views over Kangaroo Valley
Majestic Views
Wildlife welcome
Manicured grounds and gardens to enjoy
Enjoy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ElleP82
1 review
“Blissful Escape”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Shall is just incredible - the mist rose on us as we did yoga out on the lawn and eventually rose above the mountain, showcasing fantastic views across the valley. The house is beautiful, spacious without being overly so. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need and from start to finish the managers of the property ensured we had a fantastic experience. Highly recommend to everyone and anyone!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Dear Elle P,
We are so very pleased you enjoyed you time with us at Sahali.
We think her quite magical - and it seems her magic rubbed onto you as well.
Whilst only 5 minutes from the village of Kangaroo Valley, the seclusion provided from the surrounding bush makes you feel as if you are a million miles from anywhere.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at Sahali at Kangaroo Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseM1974
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow on first Glance But......”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

When I first arrived at Sahali house in Kangaroo Valley I was impressed. The house & surroundings was beautiful, the pool looked inviting & the atmosphere was so relaxing but I was dissapointed with the mouldy smell in the house, the cob webs in the kitchen & lounge room & especially in my bedroom. House is in desperate need of a very good scrub down. The pool area needs maintenance, very dangerous as there are nails protruding from the timber deck. Extremely overpriced & would not recommend !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
We have no knowledge of a stay by “RoseM1974” - the name does not correspond with any of our five bookings (three of which included young children) in January 2017. However, “RoseM1974" may or may not have been one of a party (of 14!! contrary to our Terms and Conditions) for a guest booking 20/22 January, with which issues arose during guest stay and which resulted in part of the security deposit being held back. The surface of our timber dining room table, which had been “cleaned” with “pot/pan scouring pads” during guest stay, will need to be restored and this will require the table to be removed for a period of one/two weeks to effect repairs, during which time Sahali will not be available.

Guests staying with us at Sahali on either side of this weekend did not seem to experience the same issues, they caused no damage to our property and had their full security deposit returned within two days of their departure.

A review received for Sahali on TripAdvisor (dated 5th January for a guest stay 30/12 to 3/1) tells a completely different story.

Sahali is a premium short stay rental property which offers (for up to 12 guests): six bedrooms, three bathrooms, large well equipped kitchen and entertaining areas (both internally and externally). We take great pride in Sahali, and along with our contract cleaning crews, gardening crew and maintenance staff ensure Sahali is presented exactly as described and photographed. We wish to offer the same experience to each of our incoming guests, and we ask that our guests respect our property as well as the amenities, inclusions and furnishings offered.

If “RoseM1974”, was one of this party of guests, as we believe, who held a birthday party with 14 staying guests and brought along at least one dog, all without notification and at that time unknown to us (contrary to our T&Cs); and was offered (and accepted) an extended checkout at no charge from 10am to 5pm to take advantage of the very hot summer weather and the wet edge pool, then this review has been written with the intent of creating a false negative impression for potential new guests. Sahali often receives return guest bookings - this would not be the case if “RoseM1974”s statements were true.

It is disappointing to receive a review which is written with such malice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMF254
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and stunning location”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Nestled in what feels like a remote rain forest Sahali is a tranquil and relaxing place to stay. The pool is great and overlooks part of Kangaroo Valley and the outdoor space is particularly well suited to summer days and nights. It is a great property for a large group of family or friends and I would definitely return to this well located and unique house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay at Sahali. We believe Sahali is the perfect retreat from the ordinary day to day; and we love to share her with our guests.
Kangaroo Valley itself, is a haven for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and we think Sahali is a perfect base. Summer at Sahali is lovely - throw open the doors, move from kitchen to deck to pool, and while away the hours - making special memories.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBlackman
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heavenly Sahali...”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a stunning place... as you drive through the tree-lined driveway you will smile! Each bedroom is beautiful and the beds are super comfy... the view is unbelievable... the gardens are amazing... our group had a relaxing stay and enjoyed a trip into Kangaroo Valley town. Would stay again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and privacy
Liked least: Shower pressure was average.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
"Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay at Sahali, and we love that Sahali made you smile right from the start. We believe Sahali's magic starts from the moment you arrive and hopefully lasts long after you have left. We love to share her with our guests, as a perfect retreat from the ordinary day to day and we would warmly welcome you back time and time again."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stunning views, beautiful surrounds and truly unique property perfect for any group event or for a special break for 2. Brenda the property owner was amazingly helpful and will ensure a great stay. A visit to Sahali is truly an unforgettable experience!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Thank you Nikki, for your wonderful comments - we believe Sahali at Kangaroo Valley to be truly magical - and we are pleased and proud to share that magic with our guests - whether they be 12 in number or two! Indeed a stay at Sahali for only two guests lends itself to romanticism often culminating in a wonderful surprise for one of the guests. We would warmly welcome you both back on another occasion - perhaps an anniversary celebration, and more unforgettable memories. Wishing you both all best for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C
2 reviews
“Amazing views, amazing place”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here over the long weekend in June and had a great stay. We were a large group so organising the weekend took quite some work. Brenda was always on hand to answer questions about the house and the local area. The view over the pool is simply amazing. The bedrooms were all great sizes and the kitchen and pantry had everything we could possibly need.

I cannot recommend this place enough. Thanks for a great weekend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Dear Hayley,
Thank you so much for your truly lovely comments. We are ourselves enamoured with Sahali and enjoy sharing her magic with our guests; and so are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Sahali at Kangaroo Valley to celebrate and enjoy the July long weekend Shoalhaven Winter Wine Festival with friends. We believe Sahali is wonderful in winter - with lots of room to spread out and enjoy as a group, however with many nooks and crannies to enjoy in solitude as well. We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps in warmer months, when you will see a totally different side to Sahali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsKeegan
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The pool and views make the stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Sahali is perfect for a large family or group. We were a group of 12 adults and never felt cramped in the house at all. The swimming pool is beautiful and you're only a short drive from the main KV town.
The kitchen is very well equipped with a food processor, Kmix, lots of plates and serving dishes, foil, cling film, oil and S&P. Perhaps just bring a sharp knife or knife sharpener (but maybe that's me - I'm obsessed about sharp knifes!).
Brenda was so helpful in the lead up to our stay - answering all my silly questions and also being kind enough to post back some sunglasses that had been left behind.
I would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay at Sahali. We believe Sahali is the perfect retreat from the ordinary day to day; and we love to share her with our guests. We would warmly welcome you back.
ps sharp knives - an obsession for us too - will get onto this immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing