We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, beautiful house, Sensational”
other travellers have booked this property
Sahali offers her guests 2 acres of total peace, privacy and tranquility...with magnificent views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sahali offers her guests 2 acres of total peace, privacy and tranquility...with magnificent views
Expansive verandahs with wet edge pool Space to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Sahali offers her guests 2 acres of total peace, privacy and tranquility...with magnificent views
Expansive verandahs with wet edge pool
Space to enjoy
Large combined living and dining rooms with escarpment views
Large combined living and dining rooms with escarpment views
Large combined living and dining rooms with escarpment views
Bedroom 5 (Queen Bed) - North Wing
Bedroom 5 (Queen Bed) - North Wing
Bathroom views over internal courtyard and fountain
Bedroom 2 (Queen Bed) - East Wing
Bedroom 6 (Two Single Beds) - South Wing
Bedroom 4 (Queen Bed) - North Wing
Reading Lounge
Bedroom 3 (Queen Bed) East Wing
Bedroom 3 (Queen Bed) - East Wing
Master Bedroom (Queen Bed)
Master Bedroom (Queen Bed)
Bathroom with views over Kangaroo Valley
Majestic Views
Wildlife welcome
Manicured grounds and gardens to enjoy
Enjoy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mina M
1 review
“Great location, beautiful house, Sensational”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A group of us (12 adults and 4 kids) stayed at Sahali around mid-August and have loved every bit of it. The house was spacious for all of us and had space for the kids to play both inside and outside. The views are magnificent, the pool clean and appealing (we actually used it despite cold weather) and the outdoor sitting area was just what we all needed. Not to forget the indoor fire place which was enjoyable and made the house warm.

The house is beautiful and the property is surrounded by trees and lots of fresh air. The kitchen is well equipped and if you have your grocery with you, you are set to just sit back, relax and enjoy yourself. The owners were great to deal with from day 1 and responded to our questions promptly and followed up with us prior to our stay, during and after to make sure that everything was ok and to answer any of our questions – that’s top notch!

The group loved it and highly recommend this property. We will be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2017
Dear Mina, So pleased you all enjoyed you stay with us at Sahali. Swimming in August….. despite the cooler weather, Sahali’s pool is very inviting, and then followed up with a nice warm bath before settling in and enjoying yourselves in front of the fire, whilst dinner is organised.
Nestled amongst lush green landscapes which allows you total privacy to enjoy your time with us, we do look forward to once again welcoming you to our much loved Sahali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKingslan...
Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Excellent house in magic location”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

As a group of families with young children we had a wonderful weekend at Sahali. The house is uniquely designed with bedrooms branching off from the main living area to different levels and is well equipped with a great kitchen. The outlook is absolutely breathtaking and the gardens and surrounding bushland are lush and green - the kids had a great time spotting lyre birds and waiting for a mystery animal to emerge from its burrow (wombat?!). The house is located just off the main road and in easy reach of the Kangaroo Valley village and for a visit to Fitzroy Falls. We would love to come back and visit again - perhaps in summer to make use of the pool with its fabulous view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2017
Spending time with family, friends and children lends itself to a perfect weekend away and we are thrilled Sahali’s different, slightly quirky style proved to be the perfect choice. Located on over two acres of lush green land, there is plenty of space for adults to unwind and relax, whilst children explore in safety - and hopefully spot some of our fabulous wildlife (yes, the burrow would have held a wombat).
Summer is fabulous at Sahali - long, lazy days spent relaxing by the pool, perhaps with a BBQ on the deck, before the sun starts to set and the night sky is filled with stars - offering a peaceful tranquility as darkness descends . We very much look forward to welcoming you all back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful views, excellent location, friendly owner”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have a group of 3 big families stayed in this house for a long weekend. Everyone enjoyed their time here. The kitchen is well equipped and has almost everything you need to cook with. The BBQ is handy as well. If you feel cold, no worries, set up the wood fire and you can enjoy your wine. Beautiful views in the morning if you look over the mountains. Take some photos of the starry sky at night time if you want.

Close to the towns nearby and it's just easy to go anywhere from Sahali.

Highly recommended.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Dear Dylan,
We are very happy you, your family and friends enjoyed your stay at Sahali at Kangaroo Valley. Sahali, we believe, lends herself perfectly to celebrations across the ages, staying in, sitting by the fire, sipping wine and looking out over the gardens to the escarpment beyond. Staying during the warmer months will bring an entirely different focus to Sahali and we look forward to welcoming you back to our holiday haven!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-Rhodes3...
Gungahlin, Australia
1 review
“Sahali is absolutely breath taking!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I highly recommend getting up early to see the beautiful colours of the sky as the sun rises over the mountains! The large grassed area was perfect to set up games for the kids. We were there to celebrate our father's 70th birthday and had 12 people from a 1 year old to a 70 year old and there were no complaints by anyone. The segregation of the rooms was perfect for our family and then everyone came together in the central hub of the home that overlooks the pool and mountains. The large oven was perfect and we were able to cater for our entire family in one go! At night time, the pool lights and water feature near the pool light up with beautiful vibrant colours and is really quite pretty! The owners are very accommodating and accessible. We will definitely be returning - thank you, Sahali, for a wonderful experience for our father's 70th!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely words about our much loved Sahali. We see Sahali as a retreat from the everyday, perfect to enjoy time with family and friends - sharing past memories and making new ones.
We are thrilled that Sahali was able to play a part in celebrations for a very special 70th birthday and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sahali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMES_PA...
1 review
“Amazing house, amazing view, amazing location”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house is spacious and in a great location. 15 minutes from beaches in one direction and 20 minutes from national parks/waterfalls in another direction. Kitchen was well equipped, lots of information available about the house. Very clean and very comfortable. Nothing like warming up by a fire on a cold evening!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Surrounded by bush land, away from the crowds yet not far from our fabulous South Coast beaches and natural attractions of our beautiful Kangaroo Valley, we believe Sahali offers time to relax, recuperate and rejuvenate.
Whether enjoying long lunches or lazing by the pool during the day - overlooking our magnificent escarpment or at night; staying inside with the fire lit, a glass or two of wine and only the starry sky offering additional light, it is to long lazy weekends, Sahali lends herself to best.

We hope Sahali remains a perfect memory and would welcome you back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleP82
1 review
“Blissful Escape”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Shall is just incredible - the mist rose on us as we did yoga out on the lawn and eventually rose above the mountain, showcasing fantastic views across the valley. The house is beautiful, spacious without being overly so. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need and from start to finish the managers of the property ensured we had a fantastic experience. Highly recommend to everyone and anyone!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Dear Elle P,
We are so very pleased you enjoyed you time with us at Sahali.
We think her quite magical - and it seems her magic rubbed onto you as well.
Whilst only 5 minutes from the village of Kangaroo Valley, the seclusion provided from the surrounding bush makes you feel as if you are a million miles from anywhere.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at Sahali at Kangaroo Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseM1974
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow on first Glance But......”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

When I first arrived at Sahali house in Kangaroo Valley I was impressed. The house & surroundings was beautiful, the pool looked inviting & the atmosphere was so relaxing but I was dissapointed with the mouldy smell in the house, the cob webs in the kitchen & lounge room & especially in my bedroom. House is in desperate need of a very good scrub down. The pool area needs maintenance, very dangerous as there are nails protruding from the timber deck. Extremely overpriced & would not recommend !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
We have no knowledge of a stay by “RoseM1974” - the name does not correspond with any of our five bookings (three of which included young children) in January 2017. However, “RoseM1974" may or may not have been one of a party (of 14!! contrary to our Terms and Conditions) for a guest booking 20/22 January, with which issues arose during guest stay and which resulted in part of the security deposit being held back. The surface of our timber dining room table, which had been “cleaned” with “pot/pan scouring pads” during guest stay, will need to be restored and this will require the table to be removed for a period of one/two weeks to effect repairs, during which time Sahali will not be available.

Guests staying with us at Sahali on either side of this weekend did not seem to experience the same issues, they caused no damage to our property and had their full security deposit returned within two days of their departure.

A review received for Sahali on TripAdvisor (dated 5th January for a guest stay 30/12 to 3/1) tells a completely different story.

Sahali is a premium short stay rental property which offers (for up to 12 guests): six bedrooms, three bathrooms, large well equipped kitchen and entertaining areas (both internally and externally). We take great pride in Sahali, and along with our contract cleaning crews, gardening crew and maintenance staff ensure Sahali is presented exactly as described and photographed. We wish to offer the same experience to each of our incoming guests, and we ask that our guests respect our property as well as the amenities, inclusions and furnishings offered.

If “RoseM1974”, was one of this party of guests, as we believe, who held a birthday party with 14 staying guests and brought along at least one dog, all without notification and at that time unknown to us (contrary to our T&Cs); and was offered (and accepted) an extended checkout at no charge from 10am to 5pm to take advantage of the very hot summer weather and the wet edge pool, then this review has been written with the intent of creating a false negative impression for potential new guests. Sahali often receives return guest bookings - this would not be the case if “RoseM1974”s statements were true.

It is disappointing to receive a review which is written with such malice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing