We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay.”
Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
Narooma, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I thought the motel was absolutely wonderful and the owner /hosts are lovely people Everyone should venture off the highway to stay here, The prices are budget, but the rooms are boutique motel status, The only thing I would suggest is that because the iga and everything is so near, maybe a microwave in the rooms would add to the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms, are wonderful. each has its own personality. i have stayed in two different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien W, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Denise,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We plan on getting microwaves for each room in the near future, but at the moment we do have one available on request. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    60
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
105
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We usually stop at another motel on the highway, but it was unavailable. How fortunate for us. We were pleasantly surprised at the lovely room, immaculately clean, tastefully decorated. Lisa & Damien are very friendly and helpful, we will be back for sure!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien W, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give such a lovely review. We are proud of our rooms and do whatever it takes to make our guest comfortable. So it is always nice to hear positive feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We decided to travel by car from Sydney to Brisbane and this was a good place to stop for the night. A small operation run by a young couple who live on the premises. Although a somewhat small room it was well equipped and served it's purpose. A little cafe across the road had a limited, but ecellent food. Although called the Riverside Motel it was a 8 minute walk to the river. However after spending hours in the car with only short breaks we needed to stretch our legs. It was nice spending time at the river with the locals enjoying a summer evening. We stocked up with snacks and drinks for the days drive at a shop across the road. We seemed to be in the midst of a thriving business and residential area, but we spent a quiet night getting some much needed sleep.

Room Tip: all rooms on ground level with parking, any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

this is just a simple motel off the highway in sleepy karuah but it is hard to fault if you are after a nights sleep on a long drive. immaculately clean and well presented rooms with quality furniture, very quiet, extremely friendly and helpful owners who obviously take pride and care in their motel; plus good value!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiegoonengerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangaroo Valley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a family run motel where has recently been refurbished. It was extremely clean and the owners were very helpful.
It is a very quiet town and the motel is situated in the small main street with the club, takeaway, IGA service station and river within walking distance.
I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it - great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were very impressed with this motel. It's located in a town where there's not much to do except for a IGA (across the street), local club, liquor store (next to the IGA) and a BP. We stayed here for one night during our trip to Brisbane.

The rooms are modern and clean (including the bathroom and carpet) and included an airconditioning, fridge, LCD TV, and free wifi. The car park is next to your room. The owners are very friendly and helpful. There is also a little cozy garden with seats and a bbq which we used. The owner supplied us with some bbq tools so no worries about that. You can buy the meat and some wine across the street.

Although the rooms were very nice they are bit noise as you can hear traffic passing by during the night and the blinds were not very blackout so we woke up early because of the light entering the room. The beds are good as are the pillows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I made a late booking and was only there for the night. I travel a reasonable amount for work, staying in a variety of accommodation. The Riverside Motel was great. I paid less than $100 for the night, had a really comfortable bed, in a well appointed room, and could ask for no more. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
0.6 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
15 reviews
11.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
10.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
513 reviews
12.1 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
599 reviews
9.3 mi away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 3 in Corlette
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 428 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Spacious Roms at Great Rates! In the heart of Karuah and only a short walk to all shops, attractions and eateries, the Riverside Motel is the perfect place to stay. 100% owned and operated by your friendly hosts. Lisa & Damien will ensure your stay is as pleasurable as possible. All rooms are freshly refurbished and reappointed. Including large bathrooms, complimentary tea & coffee, large flatscreen television, free wifi and plenty of comfort. Don't miss this chance to stay in great comfort for an affordable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing