We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent the night here with my son while we drove his car from the Gold Coast to Melbourne. It was a lovely place for a stop over and as the title says, it was a modern, comfortable and clean motel. It was well priced, very close to the RSL for a nice dinner and local shops across the road. My only complaint is the total lack of water pressure in our room, I would have had more pressure tipping the water over my head from a cup. The provision of tissues in the room would also be a be plus, especially in winter.

Room Tip: No road noise and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
102
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We needed a quiet stop over about 3 hours north of Sydney as part of a trip to Queensland, and did this place deliver. The rooms were really nice, well presented and extremely affordable, probably the best Value motel I have stayed in for a long time. Arrived at 9pm for a late check in and we were well looked after, with reception being kept open just for us.

Room Tip: All room are good, no traffic noise anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was an excellent place to stay, lovely room, friendly staff and really convenient for our journey south towards Newcastle. We enjoyed being close to the river for our evening stroll to watch the sunset and listen to the rainbow lorikeets roosting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely clean fresh great bathroom close to RSL where great meals was had, lovely fish and chip shop up the road and best of all IGA right across the road, beautiful decorated modern. There is a lovely barbeque area as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matfle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and loved the place. This motel is very well set out . Owners Are very friendly and helpful and down to earth people . They made our stay extra special with personal touches of rose petals on bed , candles, bubbly and even put cake in fridge for my hubby's birthday ... He was so surprised and I am so grateful to the Owners Lisa and Damien. The rooms were modern and decor was lovely. Very clean room with spacious bathroom..
Motel is handy to basic shops IGA ,bottle shop, RSL and not far to other attractions Nelson Bay etc. The price of this place is amazingly cheap and we stayed on a long weekend. Very happy and I have spread the word and friends want to stay now ;)
Thanks Lisa and Damien

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this little out of the way Motel based on another travellers report/feedback - you can do the same!. This is one really smart operator - great service, very obliging managers/owners, Damien could do enough for us, The accommodation and facilities were EXCEPTIONAL with all we needed regarding supplies across the road.
Cute little motel, excellent service and facilities - We will be back guaranteed!
Larry and Bronwen D

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were very neat, clean and seemed recently upgraded. Could not ask for better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I thought the motel was absolutely wonderful and the owner /hosts are lovely people Everyone should venture off the highway to stay here, The prices are budget, but the rooms are boutique motel status, The only thing I would suggest is that because the iga and everything is so near, maybe a microwave in the rooms would add to the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms, are wonderful. each has its own personality. i have stayed in two different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien W, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Denise,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We plan on getting microwaves for each room in the near future, but at the moment we do have one available on request. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
12.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
0.6 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 428 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Spacious Roms at Great Rates! In the heart of Karuah and only a short walk to all shops, attractions and eateries, the Riverside Motel is the perfect place to stay. 100% owned and operated by your friendly hosts. Lisa & Damien will ensure your stay is as pleasurable as possible. All rooms are freshly refurbished and reappointed. Including large bathrooms, complimentary tea & coffee, large flatscreen television, free wifi and plenty of comfort. Don't miss this chance to stay in great comfort for an affordable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing