We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a very cosy, comfortable motel with every possible thing you could need for an enjoyable, hassle-free stay. It is only a small motel - 6 rooms - but all are have been very tastefully redecorated and renovated and they are spacious. Everything was clean, fresh and relatively new. The owners are very efficient and friendly. I would highly recommend the Riverside for any stay in Karuah, a small picturesque river town. My husband and I stayed her en route from the Gold Coast to Jervis Bay. We had a relaxing and fun evening at the local RSL - good Chinese food and some great entertainment on the Friday night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We needed to travel from Queensland to the NSW south coast and needed to stop before Sydney so I checked out tripadvisor site and found the Riverside motel located of the main highway in a small town. The reviews were very good however sometimes the reviewers do get carried away.However not this time they were spot on this place is a real gem and if you are travelling past and need a break take it here, you will not be disappointed. The rooms are spotless and have a nice decor and nicely priced. Thanks to trip advisor site I even got a discount off the already low price. The town has enough to survive in with the RSL over the road for a nice evening out .Its great to know there are motel owners out there that understand hospitality and how to run a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winmac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Small motel with immaculately clean rooms. Lovely owners who run the place themselves so very personal service. Karuah is almost an hours drive to Nelson Bay and is a sleepy though friendly town. No meals are catered for at this motel but there is a well priced cafe across the road for breakfast and lunch. IGA supermarket also across the road and club close by for dinner. Car parking just outside your room. If you are looking for a quiet getaway,look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal and Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent the night here with my son while we drove his car from the Gold Coast to Melbourne. It was a lovely place for a stop over and as the title says, it was a modern, comfortable and clean motel. It was well priced, very close to the RSL for a nice dinner and local shops across the road. My only complaint is the total lack of water pressure in our room, I would have had more pressure tipping the water over my head from a cup. The provision of tissues in the room would also be a be plus, especially in winter.

Room Tip: No road noise and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We needed a quiet stop over about 3 hours north of Sydney as part of a trip to Queensland, and did this place deliver. The rooms were really nice, well presented and extremely affordable, probably the best Value motel I have stayed in for a long time. Arrived at 9pm for a late check in and we were well looked after, with reception being kept open just for us.

Room Tip: All room are good, no traffic noise anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was an excellent place to stay, lovely room, friendly staff and really convenient for our journey south towards Newcastle. We enjoyed being close to the river for our evening stroll to watch the sunset and listen to the rainbow lorikeets roosting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely clean fresh great bathroom close to RSL where great meals was had, lovely fish and chip shop up the road and best of all IGA right across the road, beautiful decorated modern. There is a lovely barbeque area as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matfle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
0.6 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
32 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
229 reviews
12.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
218 reviews
10 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,484 reviews
13 mi away
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
#1 of 1 in Shoal Bay
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 428 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range: £56 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Spacious Roms at Great Rates! In the heart of Karuah and only a short walk to all shops, attractions and eateries, the Riverside Motel is the perfect place to stay. 100% owned and operated by your friendly hosts. Lisa & Damien will ensure your stay is as pleasurable as possible. All rooms are freshly refurbished and reappointed. Including large bathrooms, complimentary tea & coffee, large flatscreen television, free wifi and plenty of comfort. Don't miss this chance to stay in great comfort for an affordable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing