We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karuah Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$86
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karuah Gardens Motel(Karuah)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Port Stephens(Corlette)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$208
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort(Salamander Bay)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$103
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    US$134
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Pool
    • Spa
    Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens(Tea Gardens)(Great Value!)
    US$163
    US$137
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Central Motel(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
    US$95
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Nelson Resort(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
    US$122
    US$112
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (191)
    Filter reviews
    191 results
    Traveller rating
    124
    58
    7
    2
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    124
    58
    7
    2
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsplunger coffeeshort walkthe gold coastlocal rslquiet locationgreat valueoystersacross the roadchinese mealfresh milkthe riverrsl clubcold beerbed was very comfortablepacific highwayexcellent motellarge fluffy towels
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    169 - 174 of 191 reviews
    Reviewed 6 January 2012

    I was looking for somewhere to stay close to Port Stephens that was also cheap. This was the cheapest place I could find that looked pleasant and wasn't a hostel.

    This place is fantastic. The service was great and they seemed to be waiting for us :)

    When we opened the door to the room we were pleasantly surprised at how quaint and clean the room was.

    The bathroom seemed fairly new. There was a great tv and and the packet of Shapes as referred to in other reviews was there.

    Nano bay is just a 35min drive away, and away from all the holiday noise. Tea Gardens and Hawkes Nest is just 10 minutes away and just a beautiful little town, and Hunter valley is also not far away.

    A great, cheap little motel not in the best location, but close enough to everything.

    I will definitely remember this place next time in in the area.

    • Stayed: December 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank illucid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2012

    We based ourselves at the Karuah Motor Inn for a Port Stephens holiday during the new year holiday period. Didn't want the hustle and bustle of Nelson Bay during that time of year. It was also quite hard to find accommodation offering two rooms for a reasonable price, to allow us to enjoy our evening after our daughter went to bed. The Karuah Motor Inn fit the bill in all respects. We got an interconnecting family room for less than the cost of a basic hotel room in Nelson Bay. Admittedly we had to drive more, but attractions around Port Stephens are pretty spread out anyway. Parking was a little cozy but the motel was fully booked, so no big issue. We were quite astounded that a location as pretty as Karuah was so quiet at this time of year. Got a perfect night's sleep on New Year's Eve (we're obviously not party animals!) Plenty of facilities nearby, with a supermarket across the road open for quite reasonable hours and awesome seafood a couple of doors up the road. The in-room breakfast service was very well priced with good quality food. We'd certainly recommend the Karuah Motor Inn for the value conscious traveller who is after reasonable quality, clean and affordable accomation. Will certainly be back again!

    Room Tip: If you need space, go the "adjoined family room".
    • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MustangMatty
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2012

    The room was clean and modern, the owners/managers were very friendly and helpful, and there were no issues with traffic noise (it's on the main road through town but is fairly quiet as Karuah is off the main highway) - our only real issue was that it was a very small room for a family room. It had only a double (rather than a queen) bed as well as bunk beds, and was fairly tightly packed in. To be fair, it was somewhat cheaper than the other places we have stayed on our road trip, so i guess value for money was fair. So, apart from the "cosy" room size (for a family), it is a nice little motel and fine for an overnight stop.

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank WallanWanderer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 December 2011

    We stayed here for one night. We did not know that the booking was at 2pm when we had arrived at 11am. No-one had informed us about that over the phone. Nevertheless, there was plenty to do at Nelsons Bay in the meantime. We stayed in a family room which was moderately spacious and cozy. The bathrooms were nice and clean, beds were great. Good choice of channels on the TV, but the TV is ridiculously small. Great working air conditioning unit. Would definitely stay here again given the chance. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

    • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Eight_Thousander
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 November 2011

    I was heading back to Sydney and was late evening and i really didn't want to stay on the main highway listening to trucks rattle by all night, took the chance for the turn into Karuah; not know what I will find, but I am bloody glad I did. I found a 5star 3 star hotel!
    Room was clean, new flat screen tv, microwave, toaster, kettle, but the things I liked was the little touches of a packet of biscuits and packet of pizza shapes for free there.
    Rooms are clean, bright new crisp linen, great shower, its quite, clean carpet. Just really great.
    And the owners seem to go out of there way to make sure everything is done for you.
    I hope to return to Karuah just to stay here for a few nights.
    A wonderful find...

    Will be back.

    • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank monoz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews