We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover”
Review of Karuah Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karuah Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We used this place on a stopver on our way to queensland. It was very clean and comfortable. The hostess was verywelcoming and helpful. We tried to get fish and chips but the fisho closes at 7pm on Friday nights. So we went to the RSL. Don't worry about the dress standard but a avoid the chinese meal at the RSL.

Room Tip: No 5 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJW50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    50
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
91
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at this motel enroute for Sydney from the Gold Coast. Although located on the Old Pacific Highway there is very litlle traffic and the motel is set back from the road. Hosts are very helpful and friendly.
We found it very quiet and spotlessly clean . Rooms are well fitted out with comfy beds although bathroom is very small. There was quite a bit of noise transfer from the adjacent room although fortunately the neighbours were very quiet on the first night and nobody on the second.
There is a convenient supermarket opposite and the RSL club is walking distance and did an excellent Chinese meal. We also found we could buy fresh Oysters in the sheds by the river - an unexpected bonus!
Highly recommend for overnight stop

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with no neighbours if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We arrived at Karuah Motor Inn on the day that temperatures hit 47C in Sydney....it was still 44 in Karuah.

The owners had the thoughtfulness to turn the air conditioning on 2 hours prior to our arrival. This small act had a big impact on our comfort....thank you!!

The rooms are small but for an overnight stay large enough to sleep a family of 4. They were clean, well laid out and modern, having a bunk bed and a double bed.

The facade of the motel is dated and does not do justice to how modern the rooms were inside...a pleasant surprise.

Motor inn was very convenient to the bottle shop and supermarket across the road and an RSL club with Chinese restaurant also 60 metres away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripFamilyMelbOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A great place to stop on a big trip is Karuah Motor Inn. The rooms are clean, fresh and have nice touches like the coffee pot and fresh coffee and a couple of little chocolates in the fridge. The decor and accessories are modern too! It's walking distance to the RSL for a nice dinner or to the river nearby for a nice relax! The hosts are extremely welcoming and friendly and rates very reasonable. We've put it on our favourites list.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldi4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

As has been said before, this place is just lovely. Comfortable beds, plenty of space, yes the bathroom is a bit small, but how much room do you need? The service is superb, the breakfasts are great, the fresh milk is a lovely touch, as are the few nibblies they provide. There is nothing more you could require for a pacific hwy stopover.

Don't stay elsewhere, stay here, we'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crstdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

In my life I have driven through Karuah on the way north more times than I know. Until the bypass went in a few years back, it was more a chore than a joy. A good friends party gave me reason to actually stay in Karuah for the first time and I am so glad I chose this hotel. Maryanne is the host and she was welcoming and very friendly. Karuah is a very small town and she pointed out the local facilities as well as how to get to the party venue.

The room itself was very clean and modern. The alarm clock had an integrated dock tor the iPhone that let you play and charge it. A large flat screen TV in the room with perfect digital reception and pay channels to choose from. Ground coffee and a plunger was on offer. The bed was firm and sheets all really clean. I have stayed in international chains where the rooms have not been as well appointed.

The bathroom in my suite (6) was very small. But being by myself for 1 night wasn't a drama. I would even be happy to stay a few nights if I was exploring the area. It had all the personal cleaning amenities you need if you have forgotten to bring some and the water pressure and shower head where great for a morning after soak.

If you are staying in Karuah and you like them, fresh oysters from the shed of the local oyster farmers is a must have. They are the best oysters (in my opinion). Have a beer at the Karuah Motor Yacht Club on the northern side of the river it is right on the water and very peacful.

I did not try the meals, so can't comment on them. But other little things that I liked where the free WiFi to the room, parking close to the room and the neat gardens. The highway is no longer busy so no traffic noise.

This hotel was great value and I am happy to recommend it to you if you are wanting to stay in the area.

Room Tip: A room nearer the office will improve WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Karuah was once a place for us to have breakfast on a drive to QLD. I cannot recall how many times we have driven through the town and won't even try. This was the first time that we had left home in the afternoon and decided that Karuah was a good stop for the evening, given that it is now bypassed and should be quiet. We were correct, and the Karuah Motor Inn is an excellent place to stay. Despite being an old style Motel, the rooms are very nicely renovated, very clean and yes, quiet! The owners are friendly and it has a good feel. The plunger coffee was a nice touch and greatly appreciated by my wife.
Just a short walk away is the RSL Club and a variety of food in the restaurant as well as a nice cold beer, or great fish and chips and oysters a short walk the other way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
0.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
254 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
180 reviews
10.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karuah Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karuah Motor Inn

Property: Karuah Motor Inn
Address: 422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karuah Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karuah Motor Inn is a quiet resting place to recuperate from your day's journey or the ideal place to base yourself for that relaxing holiday. Within a few minutes of the Pacific Highway, in the centre of town, the Karuah Motor Inn provides convenient motel accommodation only 200 metres from the waters of Port Stephens and a short stroll to shops, food outlets and the RSL club.Karuah Motor Inn is the only motel in town to offer HOT & COLD BREAKFAST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Karuah Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing