We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and really good price”
Review of Karuah Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karuah Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and really good price”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great for a few days stopover. Friendly staff, clean rooms. I've stayed in hotels which couldn't live up to this standard. A little noisy but everyone soon settled down for the night. Very friendly place both visitors and staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    50
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
91
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year. Loved this motel - well equipped and reasonably priced. Staff were most welcoming and we certainly felt at home. Breakfast was great value and topped off a comfortable night. It is so good to feel that the first meal of the day was a treat rather than an excuse to make more pfofit. We will certainly come this way again, sometime.

Only one drawback - almost everything was closed when we wanted to have dinner so we just bought something from the grocery over the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jono13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed in Karuah for the Australia Day weekend and found the motel to be a little gem. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room and the quiet setting of Karuah. This was an ideal location to explore Port Stephens. Maryanne and the staff were extremely friendly and more than helpful in assisting us in things to see and do in Port Stephens. We had a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to escape the heatwave in Sydney with a few nights away and this was the most affordable motel in the Port Stephens area at the time. So very glad we stayed here, the room was very clean and comfortable, as others have already commented, the attention to detail is beyond reproach, there was even ground coffee for the plunger. The staff were ALL very welcoming and friendly, the location is within easy access of all amenities. Will definitely return to Karuah and to this motel on our next short trip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoenixLML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for a night earlier this week on a trip back to the Gold Coast. We booked here on trip advisor recommendations. All the compliments are well deserved. Excellent hosts, spotlessly clean and well thought. Whilst we were only there for an overnight stop on a trip back to the Gold Coast, Karuah is obviously a popular spot for holiday makers. Clearly quite a few people make this motel their base for the area.

Room Tip: Town has been bypassed. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way home to Queensland. It was mainly a rest and relaxation stay after a hectic three weeks over Christmas/New Year, and we were really happy with our accommodation. We appreciated being given a room with a comfy couch to relax on after a five hour trip, and negotiating our way around the Sydney motorways. The facilities were excellent and very good value for money. The only thing I could be 'picky' about would be the shower door, as it was quite narrow and my husband, being a big man, found it a bit 'squeezy' to get into the shower. On the whole, we would certainly recommend the Karuah Motor Inn, and compliment the hosts on their extremely friendly welcome and care during our stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 12, which was tucked away in a corner and very quiet, with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed one night there and it was so calm and clean, the room was equipped with flat screen TV and Ipod player.

The staff were so friendly too and hospitable


Definitely recommend it.

I can say more and more, but gotta go

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Behzad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karuah_Motor_Inn, Owner at Karuah Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you, we are pleased that you had a comfortable and restful stay, and hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
0.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
180 reviews
10.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karuah Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karuah Motor Inn

Property: Karuah Motor Inn
Address: 422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karuah Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karuah Motor Inn is a quiet resting place to recuperate from your day's journey or the ideal place to base yourself for that relaxing holiday. Within a few minutes of the Pacific Highway, in the centre of town, the Karuah Motor Inn provides convenient motel accommodation only 200 metres from the waters of Port Stephens and a short stroll to shops, food outlets and the RSL club.Karuah Motor Inn is the only motel in town to offer HOT & COLD BREAKFAST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Karuah Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing