We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible actually no service”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Kiama B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Went to kiama for a day thought we would have lunch at the pub even thou there was less than 5 people in the pub we could still not get a beer . The staff member just ignored us, tried to order lunch a pizza ,only to be told there was no pizza bases available.finished our beer and walked to other pub in town where we had a beautiful lunch with great service . We were happy to leave our well earned money there and not at your grand hotel .wont be back. Still waiting at the bar the second time and was the only person to be served at the time and then another person turned up at the bar and they got served straight away before me even though I had been the only person waiting before hand being a resident for a very long time and this place use to be staffed well until recently I would not recommend going anywhere near this place.we have heard that other people have had the same experience but thought we would give it a chance but where disappointed.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank rainbowkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went for dinner, such a mistake. Went for the steak, this was the worst ever. Tasted like it went from the freezer directly on the grill, dry cold and tasted like rubber. Even the cook told me I made the wrong choice! Then they asked what else I would like, went for the chicken schnitzel as a replacement (which was over 10 dollars cheaper) and had to bargain at the bar to return my money! Very poor quality and lousy service. This place is better to be avoided.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Checked in late Saturday. Party was on in the pub below but we decided to ignore the noise and get the room regardless. Mistake.

The room was tiny, with a big dent next to the entrance as if someone punched it and it gave in (check picture). Two squeaky, wobbly beds, with uneven mattresses and a dirty old nightstand was the full furniture. Not a single powerpoint in the room to charge phones. Hot and humid. Old stains on bedding and towels. We had no choice but to stay as it was past midnight. After we settled in and tried to fall asleep somehow, an army of bed bugs crawled out. We weren't sure what sorta bugs they were so we looked them up. I ended up spending most of the night watching for bed bugs and squashing them while listening to the party downstairs and the occasional chatter next door. As soon as it dawned we got outta there, shaking all our stuff out hoping no bed bug caught a ride.

Oh, male communal shower was out of order as well with no indication about alternatives.

We'we been to about 30 mid-range and budget hotels and a couple hostels in AU and Europe. This, by far the worst. At 69$ a clear rip-off.

Do yourself a favour, sleep in your car instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The smallest room I have EVER seen! With 2 x single beds & that was literally it. Not even a PowerPoint 2 charge my phone! I lasted 5 minutes & I was out of there! Even had a coke can holding up the window!! & steep as steps that u couldn't drag ur suitcase up!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were lucky enough to eat okay, unlike some other reviewers, however agree the place is in need of some better management. The toilets were dirty during the daytime and the place was a bit dingy overall. The beer was cheap enough at least. Our full review (if you're up for a bit of a laugh) here > http://sydneypublist.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/foreign-correspondent-grand-hotel-kiama.html

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyPubList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just had dinner at the hotel, looks nice from the outside. Inside looks seedy and grubby.

Had dinner at the bistro, worst food ever, ran out of bread, all types, ran out of all deserts. Main meal very very average. .

Food below average, price above average!!!

Couldn't hear yourself think over the stupid trivia night they had going. Do not bother going!!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

When we walked into the hotel it looked ok, until we tried to find someone to help us get the room which proved difficult (the bar staff gave us a key). The room was barely big enough for the squeaky old bed and a single lamp, with a dirty sink on the back wall. We had a dingy communal bathroom with a broken toilet. It was advertised as a hotel but definitely more like a backpackers! This place is disgusting and I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Check reviews- don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kailah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
4.6 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
759 reviews
18.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#3 of 3 in Kiama
142 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel
0.3 mi away
Kiama Shores Motel
Kiama Shores Motel
#3 of 12 in Kiama
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 49 Manning St, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kiama
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing