We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Kiama Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiama Cove Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Reviewed 13 May 2013

If you want a No FRills place this is it.We got stuck in Kiama and looked at a few places.The manager was pleasant and helpful.The family room was a good size and the five of us fitted in well.It is off the main road so it it quiet but is a 2 minute walk to Shops and eateries.I wouldn't want to spend more than a weekend here but it is close to the Ocean just a little dated.WE liked the walks ,paths and beautiful Rugby field,what a find.Site of the famous. Kiama Sevens comp.I should have tried the large place out on the Highway.

Room Tip: The family room above reception is a good size.All are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yurugaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We left after checking into the receptionist bad mouthing a customer.
Just didn't feel safe. Right near the station. Not very professional staff and the room smelt of strong overpowering bleach, there was only a tiny window to open (which is a shame right near the ocean air). There are much nicer places to stay in Kiama.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydney_AustraliaChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wish we had read the comments prior to making the booking, we would not have bothered.
Did not like the male owner?, he was extremely rude and arrogant.
View was the only positive. There was a half eaten cracker on the carpet next to the couch when we moved into the room, a bottle of water under the bed and a hand written note from someone's diary at the back of the couch, so if you were the owner, hope your day improved. We always check thoroughly before leaving our accommodation so that we don't leave our mess for someone else. The toilet did not flush which should have been noted by the cleaner as there was still toilet paper in the bowl when we moved in. The compendium was a joke, where is all the guest information. We really feel sorry for overseas guests.

Room Tip: Lovely views across the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah852_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Paying $210 a night I would expect a clean room or even a microwave would of been nice as was stated! The website is very deceiving the room soo didn't look like the pictures shower curtain was mouldy I had to get the owner to come clean the room when we got there as was dusty bathroom was dirty could of done with a vacuum the paint work is horrible and receptionist and owner were quite rude and judgemental as I asked them for a refund so we could leave instead he came and wiped over the place with a duster oh and 1 of the bedroom windows wouldn't even close so my kids froze! DO NOT PAY FOR THIS MOTEL.. U will be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siennamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Friendly staff. Good quick email communication. Stayed 3 nights. Sheets clean and bed comfortable but the room needed a good dust. And a good clean. Daily general cleaning seems to be below par. For example: there was a soap wrapper on bathroom floor on arrival. I left it there asca little test. It remained there 3 days later!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Paid top $ due to views and location but attention to presentation and maintenance is rather deficient (plumbing and painting ?!) this is disappointing and leaves a sour taste. Comfy beds and clean sheets but you would expect more at this price.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank esmerelda62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

1. The bathroom. Shower curtain was MOULDY. You had to turn sideways to get into and out of the shower over mouldy dirty tiles. There was old soap dispensers just seemingly ripped off the wall and the remains left there. Once you opened a soap there was no where to put it except on a mouldy ledge. The toilet seat was cracked
2. The carpets were so dirty that my husband sneezed and coughed for the 2 days thinking he was coming down with the flu. It took us until we drove home on Sun morning to realise that his symptoms only occurred in the room. He has a history of allergy to dust mite but it hasn’t surfaced for many years and never in a motel.
3. There was no phone in the room.
4. The Compendium was so out of date it had phone instructions in it as well as crossed out TV stations that didn’t match and I won’t go on with anything further. NO AUSTAR MOVIES AS ADVERTISED
5. The overhead light above the bed didn’t work , so I had to go to reception (remember there is no phone). Yes it was fixed quickly but it should have been checked prior.
6. Almost impossible to open the sliding door to access the balcony. Bolted to floor and filthy, I couldn’d move it , my husband had to.
7. Paint peeling off the ceiling
8. Holes in the curtains (visible at night as though something was eating them)
9. Fridge that wouldn’t freeze ice , even when turned to max for 24 hours – had to buy some.

I have to stop now because I am getting worked up and angry.

To be fair , the king bed was very comfortable , but only 2 pillows , 2 towels and a blanket that didn’t fit the bed. (Remember the weather last weekend)


We paid extra for the deluxe balcony room . What a joke.


I have never complained before and couldn’t do it before we left because it would have been too upsetting . OH ! and the OFFICE wasn’t open when we left.

Room Tip: don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
4.5 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
746 reviews
18.2 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.5 mi away
Motel 617
Motel 617
#2 of 3 in Kiama
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiama Shores Motel
Kiama Shores Motel
#3 of 11 in Kiama
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiama Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiama Cove Motel

Address: 10 Bong Bong St, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia (Formerly The Pines Motel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kiama Cove Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 room motel with magnificent ocean views across Surf Beach, Kiama. Friendly Managers Paul & Phyl Willetts will make you feel welcome in a relaxing atmosphere. Great for romantic weekends or family getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kiama Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiama Cove Hotel Kiama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing