We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluey Motel(Lightning Ridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wallangulla Motel(Lightning Ridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast(Lightning Ridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crocodile Caravan Park(Lightning Ridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
29
77
38
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
77
38
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcaravan parkon sitebeer gardenbistro foodgroup of friendsled lightssunday nightbar fridgefantastic resorteat elsewherepleasant stayair conin townovernight stayno worriesexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Large and well set out sites are adjacent to the resort facilities which is close to the center of the town.
It has good drive –through sites so necessary for early departures and are welcome after the long drive up.
Travellers were all friendly and willing to exchange tips on places to visit etc and there was a distinctive outback feel to our stay here……most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Drive through sites are easy and well located. Central to town and the club.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear you were able to relax and recoup before heading on your Opal Tour. Lightning Ridge have a great range tours available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Re posting this on my 'other account', damn computer thingies !!
After spending a night out at the Grawin a nice comfy bed in a beautiful clean room , mind you whilst the Glengarry Hilton was ok , the accommodation was great here. Fantastic shower. Only prob being the fridge was off for some reason so I was a bit worried about the milk. Monday night you need to go to the Bowlo for a feed, only a short walk though. Thanks to the nice lady in reception who got the room organised early so I could be somewhat human on the afternoon Black Opal Tour

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks again. Your first post uploaded. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After spending a night out at the Grawin a nice comfy bed in a beautiful clean room , mind you whilst the Glengarry Hilton was ok , the accommodation was great here. Fantastic shower. Only prob being the fridge was off for some reason so I was a bit worried about the milk. Monday night you need to go to the Bowlo for a feed, only a short walk though. Thanks to the nice lady in reception who got the room organised early so I could be somewhat human on the afternoon Black Opal Tour

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for your great feedback. The showers are fantastic.... the changing colour makes them fun!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. The rooms are ok and generally clean, however the beds were not made up at least once, bins weren't emptied and the rooms were not cleaned at least one day. Food in the restaurant is average to say the least.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Fayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt the restaurant was average as the menu has lots of yummy dishes to choose from. I will pass on your feedback to our Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed in a Motel Room, which was large enough for a double bed and two singles and there was plenty of room to move around. There was a small kitchen area with a bar fridge and toaster. The bathroom looked like it had been renovated and was very nice. The fun shower head with the blue and red lights was a hit with my nephew who showered in the dark. The resort is great as it had a pub on the grounds which was easy to walk to and have a few drinks, the free drink voucher given to us at check in was a nice touch. The pool was very refreshing and had chairs with umbrellas for us to sit under in the hot sun. Location was within walking distance to the bowling club and most cafes. The information centre is directly across the road to get all information on all the things to do in Lightning Ridge. I enjoyed my stay here very much and would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietwins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for your excellent comments. Yes, the bathrooms have been renovated and the shower fixed with a shower head that changes colour with the water. Our property has lots of nice new finishing touches eg: umbrellas in the pool yard, grass BBQ area, sunset watching chair spot
We look forward having you stay again. Lightning Ridge is a great place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews