We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bargain price and friendly manager”
Review of Black Opal Motel

Black Opal Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lightning Ridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Opal Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Black Opal Motel is definitely not posh by any means, but it was a bargain. The manager was lovely and even offered to lend me her car to see the Bore, really really kind of her. I saw no cobwebs in my room and it was more than clean enough for me,

My room did have a chipped table but otherwise fine, the aircon worked as did all of the lights and fridge so I was more than happy.

For me it was bliss to have my own room having shared in a hostel. .

The motel is handy for all of the jewellers, which was ideal for me.

I wil definitely return when I've saved up again.

all in all brill

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jack198612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Black Opal Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We come every year for the Easter Festival - and we usually stay at blueys, but was booked out. I rang here and had 1 room left. Carroll .. Couldn't do enough for us. We travel for the first time with our 8mth old little girl, and she made it so homey for us.
Nothing was a problem !!! Best service you'll get in lightning Ridge.
I must say, rooms are a little old BUT .. Everything was clean, washed, folded, fluffed and spot on.
Great motel, great service, and fantastic spot right in town.
We didn't here much noise, even being right in the middle of town.
We have booked for the next year .. And will keep coming from here on !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were part of a group of 4 who visited Lightning Ridge in April 2013. It was a good time to visit as the days had started to cool- only 30degrees C- and the nights were pleasantly cool. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by the manager- a very helpful and pleasant lady- who couldnt do enough for us. The room was basic but clean and liveable. There was ice cold water in the fridge and she provided us milk for tea and coffee. She also rang to see if we could visit before closing time the Chambers of the Black Hand.
We stayed until midday the next day and did a quick tour of the town. The Chambers of the Black Hand was very good- with some very interesting sculptures carved into the walls of the old mine. Good but quite expensive- $30 a head. The mine tour at the same venue was interesting and very good value at $5 each.
It is also good to visit the Artesian Baths, these are open 24/7 and are free. The temperature of the water is 40 degrees and is replaced daily. Nice to sit under the stars and relax.
Enjoyed a meal at the bistro at the Bowling Club- this was both tasty and inexpensive.
We also visited the Fossil Place and this was interesting and very informative. It is set up in an old Bondi tram and was free to visit.
The John Murray Art Gallery is a must. A very talented and extremely clever and witty. Outstanding and most enjoyable.
Also drove out to inspect the old open cut mine. We were lucky enough to have one of the owner give us the history of the mine and show us around. It is then worth continuing on to the highway and check out the many mines and houses!! that dot the opal fields.
A most enjoyable day with an enjoyable stay at the motel.

Room Tip: All rooms were close to other and were pretty quiet. The aircon was essential. Plan to visit in Spri...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The kids didn't want to go to the bathroom because there were so many cobwebs in there... The room smelt weird, the dust set my allergies off, and it was seriously overpriced. Lovely lady who owns it, but otherwise GAH.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenDJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

On a recent visit to Lightning Ridge we stayed at the Black Opal Motel not the most luxurious motel in town but the lady that managed it was wonderful, nothing was a trouble to her. we arrived late in the afternoon, the town was a buss because it was the Opal & Gem Festival & there were people everywhere, great atmosphere. Wondered around town for a couple of hours the back to the room to get ready for dinner, when I received a call with bad news, went to tell her we had to leave the next morning & she could not do enough for us, & no charge for the booking we did not use. Will stay there again, she was wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 12 last one was near the road but no noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leealan1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The first thing that we noticed were the incredibly friendly staff. A genuine welcome is always a nice introduction to any motel. the room ( twin) was pretty basic, but did have good air conditioning and a new TV, not satellite channels but good reception on all channels. Easy reach of everything in town, enough room to eat in if you have to. Pretty reasonable value, would book there again on any return trip to this fabulous little town. .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotelinspector08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lightning Ridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park
0.7 mi away
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Lightning Ridge
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wallangulla Motel
The Wallangulla Motel
#1 of 3 in Lightning Ridge
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluey Motel
Bluey Motel
#2 of 3 in Lightning Ridge
113 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Black Opal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Opal Motel

Address: Cnr Opal & Morilla St, Lightning Ridge, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Lightning Ridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing