We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wallangulla Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good choice for families.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We came to LR during the summer, it was their quiet time. We stayed here in the upstairs unit 47. The unit was clean, except for the sofa coverings, but they weren't so grubby that we couldn't use it.

In the main area, it has a comfy queen and single (which we didn't use) with the kitchen that had a return bench on it around which for bar-style stools were, sofa and TV.

A large 2nd bedroom had yet another two single beds, and cupboard and shelving. Kids tell me they were comfy.

The bathroom while having a look of the eighties is quite new and all of it was clean. If you're not used to showering in bore water (and I'm not) it seems to feel a bit slimey, but it does the job.

The bowling club is across the road, and does stock standard club meals.

The town is very dusty at this time of year, and can get extremely hot, so our rooms air conditioning was a God Send.

The wifi in the room is quite a distance from the router, and my kids were not thrilled with its reception. I told the kids to get over it, although Carol is really lovely I didn't bother raising it with her because I thought it would do my kids some good to not be online quite so much :).

The decor is unusual and a little dated in style, but when you consider where you are and how far stuff has to travel to get to the ridge, I think they've done a great job.

If you want somewhere clean and comfy with friendly managers this is your place.

We did an Outback Opal 3 hour tour and had a lot of fun chatting with the locals and one miner. As one of the locals said "the Ridge is the largest unfenced lunatic asylum"... I would say its filled with eccentric people who made me feel completely welcome and at home :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank happyjulieishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    58
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
36
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed one night and found it very nice. Just across the road is the bowling club. They have very nice meals over there. The staff are very friendly. Would stay there again. The people in town are friendly.:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loubre63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great service from Carol who really is passionate about the town and looking after her guests. No time is a bad time for Carol. She is very accommodating. The accommodation was as expected for a town. Could be cleaner. Cleaners missed a beer bottle in the room when cleaning and bed covers could do with a wash. Bathrooms were clean. Suitable for a stop over and becuase it is across from the bowls club it's a walk to a meal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent two nights at The Wallangulla .... our room was compact - double bed and two singles plus a small 'kitchenette' with microwave and sink. Bathroom provides hand wash, body wash and shampoo in dispensers, there is also a hairdryer. The staff were the excellent - great tourist information and free booking service for tours. Evening meals can be had at the Club across the road and charged back to your room. Would we stay here again ... yes.

Room Tip: If you want something more up market stay in the newer section
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valsie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at The Wallangulla. While walking across the road to the Bowling Club for dinner the sky lite up with "Lightning" First rain they have had in nine months followed.
Did an early walk around town and met a local who explained some of the history.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussie85_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Wallangulla is certainly the pick in the Ridge. There are two sections, the "original" section and the new section. Obviously the new section is better but the "original" section has been brought up to scratch and is quite acceptable. I am refering to the new section here.

The rooms are large, a bit on the spartan side but all the necessities are present and in good order. A microwave, good quality TV with Austar and Fox 1-2-3, GOOD LIGHTING!!, OK beds, good heating and cooling. Bathroom similarly spacious, getting a little dated by now. Has one of those one switch-light/ceiling fan arrangements which is annoying at times, and "water-saving" shower heads, but in fairness it is a dry part of the country that relies on artesion bore water (which I will never come to love).

The motel is owned by the famous LR Bowling Club across the road and meals can be booked back to your room. Don't expect too much, the tucker is pretty stock-standard club fare, not exciting but reliable. A warning- if there is a bus tour group staying at the motel, get in early at the club or you'll find a solid queue. The beer is good which is more important.

I highly recommend the bacon and eggs for breakfast, 12 bucks and cooked to order by an old-fashioned bush cook who understands the importance of starting the day with plenty of petrol in the tank. Puts fancy city hotel breakfasts to shame.

All that and a "nothing is a problem" attitude on the front desk make it my first choice whenever I'm at the Ridge.

Room Tip: New section on two levels. Ask for ground floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllvisPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Innes NSW
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Probably the most appealing motel (externally) in a tourism-oriented town. This motel offers a range of room styles (and prices) that should suit anyone but the dedicated 5 star traveller. I stayed in one of the dearer rooms, and found it to be fairly standard for the industry in terms of furniture, bathroom and other appointments. Everything was clean and functional, if starting to become a bit dated or tired.
Eating is very convenient, with chargeback for meals from the club across the street and a breakfast room for the mornings. Motel is a short walk from the CBD for basic supplies, and can assist with bookings for tours etc. Even though it is located on the main road into town, noise through the night is not an issue and there is no feeling of insecurity that you might experience in some nearby towns

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheepCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lightning Ridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park
0.7 mi away
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Lightning Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluey Motel
Bluey Motel
#2 of 3 in Lightning Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallangulla Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallangulla Motel

Property: The Wallangulla Motel
Address: 22 Morilla St, Lightning Ridge, New South Wales 2834, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Lightning Ridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wallangulla Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing