We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service disappointing units basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The one bedroom older Moorei units are quite basic and though the info said they'd been renovated the only sign of this I could see was in the bathroom. The layout was fine and kitchen was reasonably equipped. The curtains and blankets are old and somewhat worse for wear. Although the rooms were supposed to be serviced daily this consisted of nothing more than availability on request of clean towels or tea towels. No sweeping,emptying bins,changing sheets or cleaning in our week stay. The units are also quite dark. Some of the staff weren't very friendly or overly helpful. Their recommendations of restaurants wasn't helpful and the in house restaurant was very slow-over an hour to get fish and chips. Prices of groceries and drinks for sale was reasonable by expensive island standards. I'd recommend staying in Ned's Beach Road accomodation, Somerset or Blue Lagoon, have the best location near shops, cafes and Ned's beach which is the best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davoCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at the Milky Way apartments for 10 nights in mid-August 2011. We were picked up from the airport and taken to the apartments which are hidden from view of the road and pathways by the native trees and fauna. There are 5 one bedroom apartments in an off-set row which have there own ramp access upto a big sliding door with a sliding screen door so you can have the doors open with out and flies etc.
The apartment has a good sized kitchen with gas cooker and grill with 4 gas hobs, a fridge with ice box, microwave, toaster and kettle. Enough plates etc for 4 people. There is a decent sized dining table with a small sofa with table. There is also a decent sized TV with a DVD player.
There are another 2 sliding doors separating the living and sleeping quarters. The bed is king-sized with a bed side table on each side. There is also plenty of space for clothes with shelves and hanging space for clothes.
The bathroom is a good size as well, with a big walk in shower.
Each apartment has its own balcony with table and chairs.
Each morning the owners will come round and check everything is fine and will ask where you want to eat that night and then make a reservation for you and set a time to give you a lift to you restaurant, they will also pick you up after your meal although most restaurants will give you a lift home anyway, this is all done for free.
The Milky Way has its own restaurant but is only open on Mondays and Fridays. If you want to eat in then there is a nice selection of home-cooked meals that are frozen and stored in the restaurants self-service part.
The Milky Way runs an honesty policy, so if you take some frozen meals, drinks or other bits and pieces then you just record it on a card and pay at the end of your trip.
The location of the Milky Way is also very good, it is located at the end of the road set amongst palm trees and other fauna and just a minutes walk to Old Settlement beach which looks out across to the mountains. The post office, Humpty Micks Cafe, and some shops and only a 5 minute walk away or a couple of minutes bike ride away.
All the accomodation on the island is on the pricey side but this is due to the location of the island and cost of importing goods etc. Milky Way is one of the better priced while being one of the best lodges on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was my first visit to Lord Howe Island. I chose Milky Way as it is the northernmost lodge on the Island, and only a minute's walk from Old Settlement Beach. It was definitely the right choice.

Lord Howe Island is not cheap, but it was worth every dollar. Milky Way was moderately priced relative to other lodges, and had the perfect ambience: daily service if required, a good supply of snacks, frozen meals, and drinks available all day and all night through the honesty system in the restaurant, and a private, idyllic location with no through-traffic. I couldn't see the point of staying at an Arajilla or Capella as the rooms had all that was required, were clean and comfortable, and the point of Lord Howe Island is the outdoors all around you. Milky Way also had a couple of bookshelves full of second hand books and games free to borrow, and a range of DVDs for hire so if there's a rainy day, no worries!

The room was clean and practical, and thoughtful inclusions were not only beach towels, but an old towel to wipe sand or soil from your feet, and provision of a torch for the walk home at night. Make sure you check to see if it's a clear night before you go to bed, and go for a walk to the beach to look up at the Milky Way - I can see why this lodge got its name!

Lord Howe Island is a very social place. I was a solo traveller but thoroughly enjoyed meeting the 'neighbours' in the villas on either side at Milky Way, and dining with some of them. I felt very comfortable to be left alone when I wanted to be alone, and to find company when I needed it.

The staff at Milky Way were very helpful, and although I didn't make much use of their services, I was confident they would have offered every assistance I needed including drives to the shops to stock up if I asked nicely. Milky Way also has a guest laundry, so if you're struggling to get your luggage down to 14kgs, I suggest taking no more than four changes of clothes as you can do your washing there quite happily. Take fresh green vegetables instead!

The local beach, Old Settlement Beach, was paradise found. Few seem to go there other than the visitors at Milky Way and Arajilla, and Billy the turtle was out swimming every single day looking for company. A great place to unwind.

Surprisingly sleeping at Milky Way was a little difficult - I discovered the island was actually noisier than my innercity Melbourne home, owing to the gentle sound of the surf in the background, and the amazing birdlife!

The main shops are a short bike ride or a 15 minute walk away (Joy's Store and the liquor store more like 20 - 25 minutes) and I enjoyed walking around the island. Ned's Beach is about 20 minutes by foot. The main tour boat sheds are all only 15 minutes away too.

Thank you Lord Howe and Milky Way for a wonderful holiday. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank theproseclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

What we learnt on Lord Howe was - you don't need to pay a fortune for accommodation at the exotic resorts. Milky Way was simple, straightforward, but was absolutely ideal for the conditions. On arrival we had a day's worth of food already provided for in our room, Jim and Janet looked after us and checked in on us daily to see if we needed anything, including booking us for restaurants and/or driving us there! Milky Way is the northern-most accommodation and therefore one of the more isolated ones, right on Old Settlement Beach. We literally walked 100 metres out the front door and swam with turtles on the beach. We found that the 1 bedroom apartments were much much better value than the studio (we switched rooms halfway through so definitely pay a bit extra to get one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank priceyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We have been looking at Lord Howe Island for a holiday destination and our recent winter trip over from Adelaide was excellent. Staying at the Milky Way was a great choice and our hosts Janet and Jim were welcoming, helpful as well as very knowledgeable about the island. The Milky Way room upgrade to one of the four larger villas due to the low accomodation rate at this time, was a pleasant surprise on our arrival.
After picking us up at the airport, Jim had taken us on a half hour tour of the island as well as getting us up to Joy's shop for food and later dropping us off at Wilson hire to get the essential bikes.
Our Milky Way villa was north facing and the large windows gave delightful views up to the Malabar Hill, Kim's lookout area and also the Catalina crash site. There were little touches which we appeciated such as beach towels, umbrellas, torches supplied as well as hibiscus flowers placed in a welcoming fashion throughout the villa.
The kitchen was fine to organise meals at home on a couple of nights. We were supplied with a few eggs, bacon, bread, milk etc - just enough to get us going for a day or so. Food was expensive as expected so we ate out on 4 of the seven nights. Twice at Pinetress where the jazz band over from Sydney did great entertainment, once at Humpty Micks and at Pandanus where they had excellent pizzas on the evening we dined there.
The owners of the Milky Way apparently started the practice of dropping house guests at their evening meal destination who then return you back to your accomodation when you are ready. This was really handy and a sensible option to walking or riding your bike home after a glass or two of wine. (No lights on hire bikes!)
The glass bottom boat/snorkelling with Dean on the lagoon was excellent, with stunning clear water at Erscotts hole. Dean (ex LHI ranger) has amazing knowledge of the Island in all its facets. I saw my first Lion fish while snorkelling at Sylphs hole in Settlement beach but the visibility was not as good as further out in the lagoon. We also hired a couple of kayaks from Dean and had a paddle over the North part of the lagoon on a beautiful still winter's day - a bit rare so we were told. Yes you needed a wet suit for the snorkelling.
The walks and views around the island are amazing and the Milky Way is an excellent base to do the Northern ones while hopping on your bike is all you need for the southern end.
All in all, an excellent time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJMandKDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We booked a winter special and selected the Milky Way Villas as our choice of accommodation. Upon arrival at the airport we wre greeted by our host (standard for LHI) and immediately taken on a half hour orientation of the island. This gave us our bearings,distances and most importantly the hilly parts as commuting is by foot or cycling. We chose the latter as its some 10kms of road with some hills that required low gears on the bike.
We were kindly upgraded from our Mooreii villa to the newer and larger Belmoreana villa due to inactivity with only 3 villas being occupied. This seemed indicative of the island with only about 20% of maximum tourist visitors during winter season. In fact a few accommodation places were closed completely either due to the owners having their annual holiday or due to renovations.
The villa was spacious with a king bedroom that could have taken two, plenty of wardrobe space, a large bathroom, an adequate kitchen with full appliances and a very large living area. One of the real bonuses was the extra large windows in the bedroom and living areas that showed the grazing land and views of Malabar Hill. There is front and rear access with a verandah for leaving bikes, boots etc and seating with tables. We were given some initial supplies which was enough for 3 days breakfasts and they even changed our milk to skim which we appreciated.
Privacy and quietness were features.
The accommodation seemed to be above average for the island.
The owners were away but we were looked after by the husband/wife managers. Each day at 8.30am they would check on our requirements (need anything extra. need transport to restaurants, weather forecast, likelihood of plane arriving etc). They were friendly and helpful.
The onsite restaurant was closed due the owners being away.
Sum: Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Don’t know why I picked Milky Way but I am sure glad I did. We were over there for 4 nights to celebrate daughter number 2's 13th birthday. We booked into the 2 bedroom configured Belmoreana apartments which for kids our age (16 & 13) was fantastic. I would check with the owners if you have younger children and you want the 2 bedroom set up as the second room is a separate room to the main one. It shares the same balcony but access is only via the balcony – might put a few parents off that your kids are not within earshot (or maybe not!) On the plus side the kid’s room was fully self-contained with small kitchenette, TV and bathroom as well as two single beds.

The main area has a king bed in a huge bedroom, nice enough bathroom, comfortable lounge room, awkward shaped kitchen (but it did the job) but the view up the hill into bush was brilliant – our room overlooked the Catalina wreckage site which made me get lost in thoughts.

The location I believe is what makes it. Milky Way is right up the northern end of the road (there are no further buildings) so through traffic is non-existent. Settlement Beach is 2 minutes walk and is a great place to start the day as the view will knock you over.

The staff and owners were great; Andrea was fantastic, friendly but left us to our own providing advice when needed. We hired 4 bikes from Wilson’s and I would make this a must. 90% of the island is easily accessible by bike and by the end of your time getting up to the Top Shop is a breeze (you will see what I mean when you meet the hill for the first time!)

There is ample places to eat – it’s a bit expensive (20% + on mainland) but if you accept that you will enjoy all eating places on the island. There are 2 shops to get bits a pieces and Milky Way kick you off with supplies for a nice hot breakfast.

Lord Howe is truly a magnificent place. If you love bushwalking (I do) or you are a bird nut (I am not) LHI is the place for you. Mobile phones do not work, the Blackberry does not function but you can watch the news or the odd show as TV is available.

There are many ‘must do’ at LHI – mine are:

1. Ned’s Beach – incredible, watching the kids feed the fish was a memory
2. Walk to Mt Eliza – there are many others with great views but this is a good one
3. Hire a bike and do the entire island
4. Go snorkelling – In September it was cold but worth it
5. Go to both cemetery’s – the history is awesome back it up with a museum visit

I will be back and I will stay at Milky Way again. There are some amazing accommodation options but they will cost you a fortune and lock you into breakfast, lunch and dinner – not my idea but it may be yours – Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Darren68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Way Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Way Holiday Villas

Address: Lagoon Road, NSW 2898 | Hunter Bay, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: £167 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milky Way Holiday Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Old Settlement Beach at the extreme northern end of the residential area. Set in a lush, peaceful palm & banyan grove with the beach just through the palms.Comfortable, modern one & two bedroom self catering villas with fully equipped kitchen & ensuite bathroom in all villas.Features include: Generous Breakfast/Fruit Hamper on Arrival King bed, Ceiling Fans,LED TV/DVD player,iPod Dock.Beach Towels, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, Coffee Plunger, Backpack, Picnic Basket/Utensils, BBQ Facilities.Airport & Restaurant Transfers,Convenience Shop, Blue Phone.Daily HousekeepingAustralian Champagne for Birthday or Anniversary. Internet available at reasonable rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Milky Way Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing