We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer interaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerset Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had to find our own way about there was a lot of information but nobody interacted with us to find out if we were availing ourselves of any of the facilities. The snorkelling was fantastic but we had no idea who our hosts were. When I asked if they knew who we were they looked in amazement and said ' should we'? It is a great facility but totally lacking any personal contact.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Owner at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear to hear that you felt the customer interaction was lacking.
Airport transfers are included in the tariff and we personally pick up all guests and deliver them to Somerset and guide them to their room. Information sheets on Lord Howe services and the property are in each room.
We have an office on the premises that is open each day to assist with any questions or help guests may need. We also have a staff member at the property each night at 6.30 to offer a free courtesy lift to any of the restaurants on the island.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the snorkeling- Lord Howe Island has great sea life and so many natural wonders to experience.
All feedback is much appreciated and taken on board, thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Booking was simple and email questions were answered promptly. We were greeted at the airport on time and driven back to the apartments. All our interaction with the Somerset was done through Rebecca who was looking after the premises during our stay. She did a wonderful job.
The rooms were ready early so we were able to move in straight away. The first surprise is that there is no key for the door - nothing gets locked on the island. This included our hire car which you would just leave parked with the keys in it without worry.
We were not sure what to expect from the accommodation and if you are looking for something that the same dollars would get you on the mainland you will be disappointed. If however, you remember that you are hours from the mainland on a beautiful, pristine island the value becomes more apparent. You could liken the bungalows to a very decent caravan park, they were spacious, clean and quiet. The location was brilliant, probably the best on the island.
There was a small kitchenette with a good size fridge and microwave. We borrowed a fry pan but did most of our cooking on the spotlessly clean BBQ's. The bedroom was very large and had a double and a single bed. The bed was very comfortable. The toilet/bathroom was off the bedroom and there was a small separate lounge room. The TV was a very small 17" unit but there was so much to do we never even turned it on.
There was a laundry where you could do a load for $3, same for the dryer although there were clothes lines you could use. Beach towels were provided and you could change them whenever you liked.
Internet was available in the office and I used it a couple of times during my stay to catch up on work emails. It was free.
All in all, we thoroughly our stay at Somerset and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank OzBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Owner at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to hear you had a great time on Lord Howe Island and at Somerset. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

great location with everything you could need. beds are hard but i like a hard bed, rooms are clean and they provide a beach towel that they let you take to the beach which saves on luggage so quiet and peaceful, we did not hear the people next door through the wall
I found the staff friendly with out being in your face and when we were going places in there buss they were on time every time

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetlhi, Owner at Somerset Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review of Somerset Apartments. We take great care to make sure our apartments are clean and well presented. We are pleased that you felt well catered for- the addition of backpacks, drink bottles and umbrellas in every room make holidaying a little easier.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Somerset is perfectly located on the perfect Lord Howe Island - approx halfway between Ned's Beach and the lagoon, a short stroll from the post office and best coffee on the island at the Anchorage (Humpty Mick's), and within walking distance of most of the restaurants. We stayed in a 1-bedroom superior (Hibiscus) apartment, which was clean, comfortable and had everything we required for a very enjoyable stay. I notice someone in a previous review complained about the beds, but we found ours to be extremely comfortable and we slept like babies. This was also helped by the fact that the place was so quiet - the only sound to be heard after about 8:30 pm was the occasional rustling of birds through the undergrowth, or the breeze in the palm trees. We were pleased to have the ceiling fans that come with the superior apartments, as we were blessed with very warm weather. We also enjoyed sitting on the verandah reading our books, and noticed a lot of other guests did too. Perhaps the only negative note was the extremely small bathroom, but everything was there that we needed. We would definitely recommend Somerset for a stress-free, good-value holiday in paradise.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus apartments at the back of the property are very quiet - but then again, the whole islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank magicpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is our 8th trip to the wonderful Lord Howe Island.
This was our first time to stay at Somerset and now we would not stay anywhere else.
We had a one bedroom apartment, the bedroom was large and the lounge dining area was very comfortable and spacious.
We had a lovely private balcony with a table and chairs and a lovely leafy outlook.
The kitchenette with a cook top, a microwave and a large fridge and all the utensils needed to eat in. There are many gas BBQs close and handy to all the apartments which makes eating in very easy.
Somerset is centrally located between the Lagoon and Neds beach and also the shops and many restaurants. So you can walk or ride for a coffee or a meal.
There is a great relaxed atmosphere at Somerset largely created by Gai the manager.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Somerset you need only ask and they will go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paddletragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Somerset Apartments are very well located half way between the lagoon and Ned's Beach and set in a beautiful garden with excellent barbecues and picnic facilities. The rooms are a reasonable size, though the bathrooms are tiny, and spotlessly clean. The units are quite well equipped, with some nice touches like water bottles, day packs & umbrellas. Units are serviced only at change over of guests, but extra towels can be requested at any time. The managers are very pleasant. Unfortunately the beds are extremely uncomfortable & for this alone we are unlikely to stay there again.

Room Tip: Anyone not travelling in a group might think about paying a bit more for the superior units to get h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helencm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Somerset offers budget accommodation, and that's all you get. The walls separating the units are so thin, you can hear next doors conversation, and during the night, you can hear people coughing, talking etc. I would not recommend this place. The only good thing going for it is that it is close to the lagoon and Ned's beach. The Staff were friendly and very courteous, which brightened the whole experience of Somerset for us

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Marie_Pierre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#6 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Apartments

Address: Neds Beach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: £94 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset is perfectly situated between Neds Beach and the Lagoon, on a level area of the Island, allowing easy walking and biking to nearby shops, restaurants and the Visitor Centre. The units are nestled in subtropical palm groves alive with splashes of colour from Hawaiian hibiscus and fragrant frangipani flowers. Somerset is the ideal location for visitors wanting to explore and discover the natural attractions that have made Lord Howe Island famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerset Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing