We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Pandanus”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lord Howe Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pandanus Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sensational Pandanus”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Pandanus early January 2014 and absolutely loved our time at Pandanus. We stayed in a gorgeous cottage / unit that was fully self contained. The unit had all the facilities required for a relaxing break including full compliment of cooking facilities, picnic basket/ bag (to use at one of the many bbq facilities you find on the Island), foxtel TV , torches and more.
We loved sitting on the front porch at the end of a long day of bike riding, swimming, snorkelling , hiking and just taking in the lush tropical garden setting and enjoying a wine .

We found the host Liz very engaging and thoughtful, ensuring we had access to transport and any other requirements. Liz was very caring in regards to our young son who has a peanut allergy making sure that there was no risk whatsoever. We very much enjoyed getting to know Liz and understanding life on LHI from the perspective of a true local Islander.
We loved the fact that our mobiles didn't work on the Island and we had no internet connectivity. ALthough we could access the internet at the hotel we chose not to connect online and really take advantage of being remote.
Great holiday with so much to do on the Island. OUr stay of 5 days was way too short and we can't wait to make a trip back to LHI in the not too distant future - definitely stating and Pandanus once more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 63Bondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We rented the two one-bedroom apartments at Pandanus over Christmas 2013. My husband and I were in one apartment and our Sydney transplant daughter was in the other. Great location - apartments were roomy with well-stocked kitchen. The bbq grill was great - we grilled out several nights. Liz was a great help - met us at the airport and was willing to drive us as needed around the island. Also most helpful describing various beach/ hiking/dining options available.
Lord Howe has certain 'quirks' that should be considered before going there. First of all the island is very quiet, no cell phone service and night life ends with dinner service that ends about 9:00 pm. The island is also very hilly- if you don't like walking or riding bikes, transportation is difficult. Apartments will drive you to dinner and the restaurant will return you, but outside of that, you are on you own 2 feet.
Secondly, make dinner arrangements as soon as possible. Restaurants are open only certain nights, and they fill up quickly.
Third, bring some of your own food. We brought 2 dinners - steak and chicken. Also brought several bottles of wine. Food is available and varied on the island (bakery goods especially great) but it can be expensive.
Finally, expect a great time. The water is spectacular. The folks are super nice and Pandanus was a super place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked at Pandanus for 6 nights under the impression that the apartments were stand-alone
cottages. Their website does not mention that the apartments are duplexes, so you have a common wall with your neighbours. If you wish to read a book or have a drink during the afternoon on the front verandah there is no privacy as the other guests are right next door (abou 10 feet away). At night we could hear them walk around, due to the timber floors, doing their washing etc, the pump must have been right under our bedroom and we could hear every tap being turned on and off. Very disappointing to pay that amount of money and have basic facilities like that. The bathroom and the kitchen are average as well, with a very small shower ; there is nothing luxurious about Pandanus. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Kenya Apt, which is a replica of the one next door. They do not provide bicycles but saying that Liz was a very good host and drove us to anywhere we wanted. I think for the price they charge it was disappointing.
Everything on Lord Howe Island is expensive ie. the restaurants, the supermarkets, the gift shops. It is a pity because it is such a beautiful island and so close to the mainland!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie_Pierre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were looking for 2 bedroom accommodation on Lord Howe as we were spending 5 days with friends from Norway. We could not have been happier with our choice. The email correspondence prior to our visit was friendly and helpful and all our questions were answered promptly. Liz was there to meet us when we landed, and the bare-footed welcome was a good introduction to the casual feel of the island. We were taken on an informative tour of the island and then made to feel very welcome at Pandanus. Our villa was spotlessly clean and well equipped. It was also incredibly quiet and private (only 4 villas). The outdoor bbq area was huge and we made use of the bbq for breakfast and dinner. When we decided to eat out, Pandanus Restaurant on the property was outstanding and well deserved of its No. 1 rating on TripAdvisor. Liz was always available to advise and also popped in with some bananas straight from the tree. When our flight was delayed on the homeward journey due to bad weather, Liz again kept us informed and made sure we had a bed for the night should our flight have been cancelled (which fortunately it wasn't). Lord Howe Island is a magical place. We hired bikes for the week and enjoyed the many hiking trails. All in all, the perfect place to take visitors from the other side of the world and the perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa No. 1 which was at the end of the garden and very quiet although all 4 looked lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a terrific time we had during our week in Lord Howe. We arrived to a warm welcome by Liz our host at Pandanus Apartments - we had booked very late and had luckily secured a spot at Pandanus quite late in the day. The place was terrific - Liz welcomed us at the airport and took us on a tour of the island before taking us to our great 2-bed apartment set in a most beautiful tropical garden setting. She couldn't do enough for us, offering to take us to one of the local stores to do an initial shop, dropped us down to the bottle shop to get some supplies and was always on hand to drop us to get our bikes, down to a barbecue spot or out to dinner at one of the restaurants. The location of Pandanus was perfect, close to Neds Beach and lots of great spots to eat - Beachcomber, Greenback's Eatery (up the hill) and the restaurant at Pandanus itself, which was terrific - lovely food. As a family of 4 we had a terrific time and would strongly recommend Pandanus to anyone heading to the island.
Thanks Liz for your great hospitality - we will definitely be back again soon.

Sherie C

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheridan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were 3 Norwegian couples who decided on a short break on Lord Howe Island in July. We had some trouble to find a place to stay but were saved by the manager Liz of Pandanus. She accepted our short stay and finally our order for air tickets were accepted. Liz met us at the airport and took us on a sightseeing so we were informed about where we could find shops, restaurants, post office, local museum, nice beaches and walking tracks - all that was good to know about. We were installed in what I would call small bungalows rather than apartments, and they were well equipped even with picnic baskets. We enjoyed our stay here very much, with a lush garden, big Bayan trees and Kentia Palms. We would have loved to be guests at Pandanus Restaurant as well, but we had not booked tables separately ( the restaurant is a separate business) and in the Australian winter time the restaurant is not open every day. But Liz booked tables for us at other restaurants for our dinners and she drove us there with a smile. The restaurants drove us back after dinner. Breakfast and lunch we organised ourselves and for a very nice picnic at Ned's Beach we simply ordered a fried chicken for pick up the next day, together with salad and some french fries, from a restaurant. We loaded all into the picnic baskets, added some wine and went to the beach where we had a splendid time. We did not swim in the sea but we waded and had a fun time feeding fish there. The island is small and apart for the dining we always walked. We found Pandanus being very well situated wherever we wanted to walk. We were very content that it was Pandanus that saved our short break at Lord Howe Island, a very good choise on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjorn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We would highly recommend against staying at the accommodation at Pandanas. We were very disappointed with our stay at Pandanas, especially considering the costs of this accommodation at over $350 per night.

To note the quality of the Pandanas restaurant and service was very good, however this is run by different people (apparently an independent lease) and although we had looked at some of the reviews for Pandanas before staying there, I think the good reviews were in relation to the restaurant and not the accommodation.

Whilst we don’t normally stay in accommodation this expensive, I had been very sick in the earlier stages of my pregnancy so thought we’d stay somewhere nice for our baby moon (last holiday before our baby is due to arrive in 2-3 months), and most accommodation on Lord Howe appears relatively expensive. However, I would far prefer to have stayed in a big impersonal hotel than be treated so rudely and end up feeling so ripped off by the service of the manager of Pandanas. I normally prefer staying at small places as they have always been more friendly and had a more homely feel, but have felt far more comfortable staying at big impersonal hotels than at Pandanas.

The facilities provided at Pandanas were very basic (far more basic than most other places I have stayed in that are less than half the cost), for which we weren’t surprised (considering the island), but it was really the services and communication that was very poor.

Initially we thought it was nice that the manager (query owner) offered us transport to different restaurants (the restaurant usually provide transport home at night as there are minimal other transport options available especially when raining), however any service at Pandanas was certainly not friendly. Examples include: after 1st night (we needed to change rooms, as a single bedroom unit was not available for the first night, so we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit the first night and then a single bedroom unit the other 6 nights) we were told in the morning “ we need you out in 15 mins”. We were already nearly ready for the move, however there was no simple friendliness – “like how are you?”, “how was your stay last night?” Etc, or polite request like “do you think you could be ready in 15 mins?”. When i worked in the hospitality industry, we never spoke to guests like this.

Following this, of the 7 nights we stayed there, the only additional service we requested were a change of beach towels and other towels once during the 7 night stay (as they were wet and did not dry well overnight), and transport to two restaurants. On any attempt to book transport (as offered on the first day), we were greeted with a blunt “whats up”. The first one, on my birthday, of which she was about 20 mins late to the time we had agreed (missing the sunset as planned).

Otherwise, we loved the island. All but one of the restaurants we attended had great food and excellent service, although some a bit expensive, no more expensive than what we’d expect to pay for good quality food at any normal Aus city. In general, the other services offered on the island were great, although we were surprised that some of the “tours” that we advertised were not offered at all during the whole week we were there.

Room Tip: Overall, I would suggest booking very early for any trips to Lord Howe Island. If there is no accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Apartments

Property: Pandanus Apartments
Address: Lord Howe Island, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing