We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay on a Great Island”
Review of Blue Lagoon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lord Howe Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Lagoon Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay on a Great Island”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at Blue Lagoon Lodge for 5 nights in February 2013, the location is perfect, very close to the Lagoon and only a short walk to Neds beach which is on the other side of the island, this is important as no matter which way the wind was blowing you could get to a beach out of the wind. All the staff were friendly and willing to help in any way. Check out time is 9.30 am but there are towels and showers in another area where you can also leave your bags, this means you can make the most of your morning carrying on snorkeling, bush walking or whatever, return to the resort have a shower and be ready to be driven to the airport in the early afternoon. This was a great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Well situated just along the general store and 150m from the lagoon beach. Well-equipped and comfortable with our own little deck. It was clean and had tropical flower arrangements on our arrival. We were met at the airport and given an orientation of the various services available. Had a day use area to use on day of departure. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in Blue Lagoon Lodge for 7 nights in October 2012. For a family birthday there were 13 of us in total!
The lovely friendly staff, Olivia, Rose, Janine, Craig and family were amazing and willing to help us with any request.
It is situated on beautiful immaculately kept grounds and very central to everything! We really enjoyed our first stay in Lord Howe Island and will no doubt be going back in the future.
Great BBQ areas and games room for the kids and even better they pick you up every night at 6.30pm to go to one of the lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taree australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We visited Lord Howe Island in October 2012 to celebrate two special birthdays. We stayed at Blue Lagoon Lodge for 1 week 4 families 13 people. The ages ranged from 2 years to 63 years.
Blue Lagoon Lodge were able to provide accommodation to suit our individual needs.

Our hosts were helpful and welcoming from the moment that they greeted us at the airport until they said farewell on our last day!
Blue Lagoon Lodge is centrally located with level walking to the shops and restaurant, lagoon and Neds' Beach. The lodge provided a shuttle bus to restaurants and any other activities that we attended.
We enjoyed the museum and education area, Pandanus Restaurant, Anchorage Restaurant (great staff, good coffee and all day bakery).
Activities that we enjoyed were bike riding, bush walks, day spa, fishing charter, fish feeding, golf, kyaking, paddle boarding, snorkelling and "Islander Cruises" turtle cruise and of course eating, drinking and having lots of fun with our whole family
We can't wait to do this all again and add to the list!

Nothing like cooking kingfish steaks that you have caught that morning on the bbq in the lovingly maintained gardens of Blue Lagoon Lodge.

Thanks again to all the Staff, room attendants, gardeners, drivers and Thompson Family for making our stay soooooo special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Lord Howe Island is a world heritage paradise surprisingly close to Sydney but a million miles from care. There are around 19 accommodation options on the island. Apart from the two five star offerings at Capella Lodge and Arajilla which cater for the high end market with meals included its hard to choose where to stay as the standard is pretty similar at all the lodges. What Blue Lagoon has going for it is its central location just a short stroll to the main lagoon, village shops and the fabulous Ned's Beach (where you can swim with hundreds of tame fish), and its beautiful and natural surroundings. Its quite a small and intimate establishment with groups of six single bedroom bungalows which come well equipped, and one or two larger rooms. They have bikes to hire on site and the staff are very relaxed and friendly. The room prices are quite reasonable for this small island with only 400 beds total for the whole island and the owner is a descendant of the original island settlers. This is the place to kick back, settle in and enjoy what Lord Howe Island is really all about.

Room Tip: The rooms are all much the same, so trust the management to allocate you one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank driverrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Blue lagoon Lodge for 6 nights in late February. Very convenient location set in lovely gardens. Our unit was spacious, very clean, well equiped and had a lovely deck. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. The shuttle bus service to the many island restaurants each night was great and it was pleasant to walk back later although all the restaurants provide transport home if required. We can recommend Pandanus, Greenback, Pinetress and Anchorage for great food and service. Beach house on the Moon however was very ordinary and the service was poor. Give this one that is only open on Monday and Friday nights a miss. The many walks throughout the island are well signposted and provide wonderful views especially from Mt Malabar and Kim's lookout. Lord Howe Island is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have stayed at the Blue Lagoon 3 times. The most recent was Feb 2012. The staff are friendly and the recently refurbished rooms are clean and well appointed including TV. The rooms are self contained including microwave and electric frypan which makes self-catering easy. There are also gas bbq's located in the tropical grounds. The lodge is centrally located within a short walk from Ned's beach, the lagoon and shops. There is a free evening bus service provided to and from any restaurant on the island. I will stay at Blue Lagoon next time I visit Lord Howe Island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Lodge

Property: Blue Lagoon Lodge
Address: 10 Neds Beach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is located moments away from shops, restaurants and pristine beaches; and because of our prime position, we are the ideal venue for you to stay whilst you enjoy all that this idyllic part of the South Pacific has to offer. Blue Lagoon Lodge welcomes singles, couples, families or group bookings. We offer studio, one and two bedroom apartments, with great value accommodation and rates to satisfy any budget. We are proud of our friendly holiday lodge and want you to feel welcome and enjoy your stay with us on World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing