We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lord Howe Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Lagoon Lodge
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Just spend 7 nights here in February. What a great spot. I chose this place on reviews and on price, as we really only wanted a bed and shower. The rooms are surrounded by lush tropical gardens. we had a studio unit which was fine. Queen + single bed. Microwave, sink, fridge, jug. no stove top. there are bbq in the grounds to use. The lodge is close to everything. The lagoon down the end of the road, thompson general store next door, the free phone for restaurant bookings, down the road, as are some shops and the anchorage restaurant open for breaky, lunch and dinner and coffee and muffins in between. greeted upon arrival at the airport and whisked away to our lodge. places of interest were pointed out along the way and we stopped in the middle to town to be explained about the free phone for calling places etc. then on to show us ned's beach before being dropped off at the lodge. as we were on the early flight our room wasn't ready but we could use the transit lounge. we decided to hire bikes from the lodge straight away ($6 per day) and went exploring. by the time we came back for lunch our room was ready. each room had a small verandah with table and chairs. lovely to sit at for breakfast, the afternoon pre dinner drink and to chat with the neighbours when they were coming and going. rooms were clean and practical. tv in room. i ended up moving the single bed as it was right under a sky light and i was woken early each morning by the light. so i moved into the corner so it was a bit darker. i like it dark when i sleep. so no drama there really. the single was probably more for an child than adult though but it did me fine. lots of birds to wake you early anyway. there were some tables, chairs and reclining chairs in the garden. we finally got to use them on our second last day as we had been so busy during the week. staff are really friendly. near the laundry there is the daily weather report up on the wall. staff will tell you where the best snorkel sites are etc;. there is a small office hidden in the bushes with internet. a clothes line in the garden for hanging the wet cozzies and a washing machine $4 per load which came in handy. bring as much food as you can with you. things are expensive on the inland and you don't really need many clothes anyway. we were in our cozzies most of the time. just a change for dinner and a set for the boat tours. we only managed a kilo of museli for breaky, 1 kilo jar of sliced peaches, some museli bars and we were right on our bag weight limits with clothes and snorkel gear. plenty of towels are supplied both beach and bathroom so don't bring any beach towels. tennis court across the road to use also. on our last day we put our bags in the transit lounge and went for a last snorkel in the lagoon. then went back for a shower, finished packing the bags and went over the the anchorage for lunch then unfortunately back to the lodge for transfer to the airport. p.s. if you have time go to the monday night slide show night with peter in the blue lagoon transit lounge. very interesting and also on wednesday nights go down to the hall at the end of the street wednesday night the school puts on old films of flying boats etc;. money for entry goes to the school. we stayed for 7 nights. i wish i would have booked for 10. i will have to come back to do everything we missed. for such a small island there is a heap of things to do especially if you like water sports and bush walking. this really is paradise. i hope it stays this way. Top Tip. I figured it is cheaper to do a $4 load of washing than to buy food at the local shop. If you can go to the liquor store near the commonwealth bank, they have quite good pricing and quite a good range also. a lot cheaper than thompsons next door, but again paying for convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our studio unit had everything we needed for the week and was spotlessly clean. Great location, close to the Lagoon and an easy walk to Ned's Beach. Also close to Thomson's store and to the free phone for restaurant bookings, etc. You can also hire bikes at the Blue Lagoon. The 'transit lounge' very handy when waiting to go to the airport for your flight, as you can have a shower, cup of tea etc. Friendly and helpful owners. Would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Blue Lagoon is the most central yet quiet location on the island.
Screened by ferns with plenty of birds around we found everything we wanted available and close by.
Could not do better than to book a week here. Five days is not enough to create the value after the cost of the air fare.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at Blue Lagoon Lodge for 5 nights in February 2013, the location is perfect, very close to the Lagoon and only a short walk to Neds beach which is on the other side of the island, this is important as no matter which way the wind was blowing you could get to a beach out of the wind. All the staff were friendly and willing to help in any way. Check out time is 9.30 am but there are towels and showers in another area where you can also leave your bags, this means you can make the most of your morning carrying on snorkeling, bush walking or whatever, return to the resort have a shower and be ready to be driven to the airport in the early afternoon. This was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Well situated just along the general store and 150m from the lagoon beach. Well-equipped and comfortable with our own little deck. It was clean and had tropical flower arrangements on our arrival. We were met at the airport and given an orientation of the various services available. Had a day use area to use on day of departure. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in Blue Lagoon Lodge for 7 nights in October 2012. For a family birthday there were 13 of us in total!
The lovely friendly staff, Olivia, Rose, Janine, Craig and family were amazing and willing to help us with any request.
It is situated on beautiful immaculately kept grounds and very central to everything! We really enjoyed our first stay in Lord Howe Island and will no doubt be going back in the future.
Great BBQ areas and games room for the kids and even better they pick you up every night at 6.30pm to go to one of the lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We visited Lord Howe Island in October 2012 to celebrate two special birthdays. We stayed at Blue Lagoon Lodge for 1 week 4 families 13 people. The ages ranged from 2 years to 63 years.
Blue Lagoon Lodge were able to provide accommodation to suit our individual needs.

Our hosts were helpful and welcoming from the moment that they greeted us at the airport until they said farewell on our last day!
Blue Lagoon Lodge is centrally located with level walking to the shops and restaurant, lagoon and Neds' Beach. The lodge provided a shuttle bus to restaurants and any other activities that we attended.
We enjoyed the museum and education area, Pandanus Restaurant, Anchorage Restaurant (great staff, good coffee and all day bakery).
Activities that we enjoyed were bike riding, bush walks, day spa, fishing charter, fish feeding, golf, kyaking, paddle boarding, snorkelling and "Islander Cruises" turtle cruise and of course eating, drinking and having lots of fun with our whole family
We can't wait to do this all again and add to the list!

Nothing like cooking kingfish steaks that you have caught that morning on the bbq in the lovingly maintained gardens of Blue Lagoon Lodge.

Thanks again to all the Staff, room attendants, gardeners, drivers and Thompson Family for making our stay soooooo special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Lodge

Address: 10 Neds Beach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is located moments away from shops, restaurants and pristine beaches; and because of our prime position, we are the ideal venue for you to stay whilst you enjoy all that this idyllic part of the South Pacific has to offer. Blue Lagoon Lodge welcomes singles, couples, families or group bookings. We offer studio, one and two bedroom apartments, with great value accommodation and rates to satisfy any budget. We are proud of our friendly holiday lodge and want you to feel welcome and enjoy your stay with us on World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing