We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanview Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ocean View is a good clean place to stay It is our second time we have been there but enjoyed both. This time we had a room nearer to the beautiul pool, games room, tennis courts and bike racks, The bikes were great as this was our only way we travelled all over the island. The staff were very friendly and ready to answer any questions you asked them. We found Ocean View to be the best situated units on the island as it was close to Old Settlement beach where you could swim in crystal clear water with the turtles and close to Neds beach to snorkel amoung the fish and look at the coral. The general store was a quick ride or a walk through the cow paddock. with no big hills to cover. If you wanted to go out for dinner you were taken to the location and driven home again

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 were up high near to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Kevin and his family were very welcoming. They provided the perfect amount of hospitality, including delivering forgotten luggage to the airport before we took off! Comfortable, clean apartments with BBQ, pool and their own boat. Well situated near the jetty, lagoon, great cafe and a short cycle to Ned's beach. Great place for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angourie, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hey, the games room was great for the kids to entertain themselves while the adults rested after mountain walks and other island adventures.. Also Ocean View is close to the wharf, Old Settlement and Ned's Beaches and only a short walk to the islands "CBD" so kids could roam free and be found quite easily. Apartments were clean and modestly appointed (no oven or stove ) so creative use was made of the electric fry pan, microwave and BBQ. Food is expensive with some items being 3x mainland price so we brought 26kg food over which unfortunately put us $130 over as excess baggage. On the down side...There is no ocean view and the apartments don't get much morning sun. They face a pleasant shared central court but unfortunately, turn their backs on views of island character such as Malabar Hill, the adjoining palm forest and cows grazing in paddocks. (If there were decks provided here these views would be accessible and provide a retreat from the "shared" space.)
Kevin was a great host and Sue most helpful with occasional needs.
A very affordable package. We'll be back !!

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with Rm 15...restricted hours on laundry use did not effect arvo napping. Not much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed at Oceanview for 3 nights 16th april till 19th april and found it a great place. the owner keven was very informative and pick us up at the airport and took us on a tour of the island and to the shop to buy some grocerys before taking us to the accomadation. Our room was clean and oceanview is the only accomadation on the island with a pool witch we used every day. Keven does a restaurant drop of for guest at 630pm every night and the restaurants bring you back after you have finished which is a great services. keven also has bikes for hire for the duration of your stay. There is also wifi recption in the lounge area which was very good.Our stay was cut short and my wife had to be taken off the island buy air ambulance as a precution mesure, and keven orginise an early departure for myself with qantas the next day all the people on the island could not have been more helpfull and oblighing and we will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the office for wifi reception. take a tourch because no street lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stunning location and friendly management. Great facilities for self catering. Bicycles a challenge to begin with but inspired us to continue when we got home. Beautiful beaches and wonderful rides all over the island. The fish both beautiful and delicious!

Kevin our host was very supportive when we became stranded as ex tropical cyclone Oswald passed by leaving our home town inundated and our own home cut off.

Would love to go back one day!





Kevin

Room Tip: Wifi access from rooms closer to office/ resident lounge but only a short walk for the rest of us if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneMark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here after spur of the moment decision to go to Lord Howe Island. Many places were booked out so the choice was not really ours . Good value for money - Everything is expensive on LHI. . Villa 3 was comfortable and clean(looked as if it had recently been refurbished) This villa got a bit of morning sun unlike some of the others with more vegetation around them. Staff very helpful although sometimes it was difficult to find the office attended (message board seemed to work,) Bike hire $9 for good quality bikes, The complimentary fish pack was just yummy. A hint to remember is take your own shampoo etc as there are no toiletries supplied. One more hint ditch your good clothes (as no one seems to get dressed up even in the really expensive restaurants) and bring over provisions as the food especially fruit and vegs is crazy expensive ($15 for tomatoes)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rodtrishmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We travelled with another couple, had a fantastic time. We rode our bikes everywhere, bike hire was very reasonable $8 per day which included helmet which is compulsory, good quality and well maintained. Self contained units with everything you would need. Very clean, great hot showers.
We felt it was in a good location handy to cafe's, grocery store, beaches. Great atmosphere you wave to everyone. On arrival Kevin takes you on a quick tour of the island and they offer a free fish pack of freshly caught travallie.

Room Tip: We were in room 4, corner unit easy to get to bike area. Shaded a fair bit of the day which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Apartments

Property: Oceanview Apartments
Address: Ocean View Drive, Lord Howe Island, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing