We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Honeymoon bliss”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

How could life get any better? Everyone who goes to Lord Howe Island must stay at Arajilla, even if it's just for a night or two. The food is amazing, the service is amazing and the island is paradise. One of the highlights is to take a BBQ lunch pack, provided by the lodge, and spend a day kayaking, snorkelling and cooking at one of several BBQs dotted around the island. I could not have hoped for a better honeymoon. We will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
It’s fantastic to know Arajilla assisted in making your honeymoon so special and perfect, thank you for your review Jess!
It was great to see you make the most out of your time, enjoying the Island and the fun outdoor experiences it has to offer! We agree with you, it truly is paradise!
Thank you for your remarks regarding our amazing staff and amazing food – we will be sure to pass this on to our team, they will be thrilled to know you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you when you return!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    22
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
146
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The island is spectacular and so is the Arajilla Retreat. We would highly recommend a visit if you are wanting excellent service, surroundings, food, accommodation and access to the islands facilities. Arajilla ticks all the boxes. Thanks everyone for taking such good care of us and we hope to see you again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I and a group of friends enjoyed a fabulous week at Arajilla Lodge. Suites were very comfortable, roomy and tastefully decorated; the food was excellent (restaurant quality); the staff very obliging and happy and all activities organised perfectly. A most wonderful week on the most glorious island. Anne

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A World Class retreat on a World Heritage listed island? Arajilla Lodge must be seen to be believed. My advice? Go as soon as you can for as long as you can. I went for ten days and could have stayed a month. Three top notch chefs, creative food, very good wines, a good variety on the menus, peace and tranquillity at the retreat, Ayuredic treatments at the health spa (thanks Scott) all made for an unforgettable experience. Special mention to Rochelle, Kate, Anna and Rebecca for their professionalism and kindness to my partner when she wasn't well. Thank you Arajilla. See you next year.
Tariq and Sue.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tariq Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have just returned from Lord Howe Island and spent a week at Arajilla Retreat. Everything about our stay was superb. This was to celebrate my 50th with friends and Arajilla made it very special and unforgettable. The service was friendly, professional and never intrusive, we couldn't ask for better. The rooms were spacious, large and tastefully furnished with everything you need and more. Arajilla organised bbq lunches on the beach, packed lunches if we wanted, nothing was too much trouble. The food was also superb, it was light, fresh and delicious. The portions were just right and the menu changed every night.

No-one in our party had one complaint and they are well travelled people.

Thank you Arajilla for making my birthday a wonderful, memorable experience.

Room Tip: The Banyan suites have just been refurbished although all the rooms are beautiful. There is no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Location & surrounds breathtaking. Hospitality and friendliness shown to us by the Aragile team made our stay that much more enjoyable. We had access to good quality bikes while at Aragila which allowed us to get around the Island. Bush walking on good well maintained walking tracks was most enjoyable. We highly recommend staying at the Aragila Resort when visiting Lord Howe Island if you want a special holiday and fantastic food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werribee, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the check in to check out we were looked after like VIP's and the location, acoomodation and food was 9.9/10 all the way.

The room was the most luxurious that we had ever stayed in our extensive 5 star experience.

i only regretted not staying longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank m_lentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island

Property: Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Address: Lagoon Road | Old Settlement Beach, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm and friendly service and laid back ambience, Arajilla Retreat encapsulates the very essence of Lord Howe Island, offering guests a haven of tranquillity and peace. Arajilla is perfectly positioned on the northern sheltered end of the Island’s lagoon just behind Old Settlement Beach, where meandering pathways lead through native gardens to the beach, to its serene Ayurvedic Spa luxurious suites and renowned restaurant. Explore the extraordinary scenery and wildlife of World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. Walk bush trails, climb mountains, swim, surf, snorkel, fish, cycle around the Island, play golf beneath the mountains, take it easy on a deserted beach, enjoy a massage or treatment, savour fine food and wine. And it’s all less than a two hour flight from Sydney or Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arajilla Retreat Hotel Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing