We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the best without doubt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Best of the best without doubt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

To celebrate retirement I took my two directors and their partners to Arajilla fro the week end and now regret not staying the week. I last visited Lord Howe island around 1962 arriving in Sunderland flying boat and had distant memories of a beautiful place and to be honest it is even better now.

The resort is beautiful with rooms having a lounge area upstairs and a bedroom and bathroom downstairs containing every amenity you would wish for.

The food is delightful, the wine list has a great selection and of course the pre dinner drinks are a great way to start the night. You could not ask for better staff and the host Bill is a pleasure to talk to.

We will all return without doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Arajilla. What a fabulous way to celebrate and start your retirement, we’re thrilled you had such a wonderful time!
Thank you for your feedback regarding our Banyan Suites. We have recently completed a major refurbishment on the Banyans, which we’re absolutely delighted with – so it’s great to hear your positive comments.
Arajilla Lodge is extremely proud to offer guests such an extensive & delicious menu of both food and wine – we’re pleased you enjoyed it so much!
Thanks again, & we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    22
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
145
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We recently returned to Arajilla, our fourth time, and it was perfect again. We met one couple who were there on their tenth stay. Previously we stayed in the excellent Kentia suites but this time we were in the Banyans which have just been meticulously renovated and our room was beautiful with an upstairs sitting room. Arajilla is set in gorgeous gardens with kentia palms and banyan trees beside Old Settlement Beach where turtles swim and it is perfectly situated close to everything. The food was 5 star, the staff helpful and lovely and Lord Howe Island is a paradise with many things to do. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34Sue987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is always lovely to have guests return again and again. We’re delighted you enjoyed staying in one of our Banyans, we’re very excited to have completed renovations and share these beautiful suites with you. The upstairs sitting room is a special feature of the Banyan, the look and feel of the suites inspired by the natural beauty of Lord Howe Island, and looking out to the trees is very peaceful.
We’re pleased you mentioned our central location, it is a highlight for many of our guests – and to be able to wander down where the turtles swim, truly is extraordinary.
We will pass on to our staff your comments regarding our food and service, it is great to receive such positive feedback, thank you.
We hope to see you again in 2014!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Your attention to detail was outstanding We felt very well looked after by your lovely staff and felt it was a very personal experience The setting was very special and the food delicious and beautifully presented We would love to return but this was a special occasion for all our family and partners so difficult to repeat.Lord Howe island is a well kept secret and we hope this will never change as it is so special .Thankyou for making this holiday unique

Room Tip: Our only extra that would make it perfect would be a swimming pool for exercise .Also I think the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
It is wonderful to hear you refer to your stay at Arajilla with such comments as ‘very personal experience’ and ‘unique holiday’. This is exactly what we wish for our guests, thank you Pam! I am delighted our staff looked after you so well, and they will be delighted to learn you had such a fabulous holiday. We’re very proud of our delicious menu, and I will be sure to pass your comments on to Dennis and the team. Thanks again for your lovely review Pam – we really hope you and your family are able to visit us again sometime.
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a quality place to stay, as you would expect for the price tag. The lovers package has all meals included and the food is top notch. The kind of stuff I'd expect to pay over $150 for a meal for. Service, likewise, is top notch. All staff at Arajilla are incredibly pleasant, but not in a fake, trying too hard way. They are genuinely lovely people who memorize the names of their guests on first meeting. Their knowledge of the island is excellent too - useful when you want to plan your day.

The suite we stayed in was spacious and very nicely decorated (having just been redone). The bathroom is large and modern. There is adequate space for clothes storage unless, like me, you have a wife who brings everything she owns... A very minor issue in my eyes. There is a TV and DVD and the lodge keeps a good range of movies to borrow.

The lodge is located in what feels like the middle of the jungle which gives it an air of seclusion. I love it. There are, however, quite a few little huntsman spiders about the place but they are harmless and keep mostly to the leaf litter (My wife hates spiders and it definitely didn't spoil her stay). There are also a few mozzies in the evening so make good use of the coils the lodge provides.

Arajilla is located right near Old Settlement Beach providing the perfect location for mourning and evening strolls. There's a few turtles and a stingray that hang about the beach. The turtles especially are keen to check you out - an amazing experience.

Arajilla is not cheap. But you get what you pay for and I feel it was well worth the price. Our package included all meals, a massage and facial for myself, a body polish for my wife, bike, snorkeling gear and kyak hire as well as transfers to the air strip.

This is an excellent place to stay when you want to spoil yourself. Perfect for our five year anniversary.

Room Tip: We did the Lovers Package and stayed in a Banyan Suite. I don't know what the others are like bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We chose to stay at Arajilla on the basis of other trip advisor reviews and we were glad we did. This beautifully designed complex offers privacy and comfort in a glorious garden setting amid kentia palms and banyans, located conveniently near most of the major attractions of the island. We were in the most basic level of room and it was spacious, well-appointed, immaculate and comfortable. A network of boardwalks through the gardens connects the rooms to the restaurant and the spa-massage building.
Everything has been carefully considered to give guests a pleasurable stay. The staff are all warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Staff advise on the walks and trips available and will book them for you. All equipment you might need, bicycles, snorkels, masks and fins, beach towels etc is included in your tariff as well as all meals. Indeed, the food in the restaurant is so good that people staying at other resorts book in there for dinner when there's room. If you're going out for a full day's walking or swimming, you will be provided with a packed lunch to take along.
The rooms are serviced daily, with clean towels and replenishment of catering supplies and in the evening, the beds are turned down while guests are at dinner so you come back to a softly-lit room with a herbal fragrance to invite you to bed.
During evening drinks or while sitting enjoying a cuppa in the lounge, it is interesting to talk to the owners, Bill and Jan, about the history of the place. They'll show you the photos of what it was like when they bought it. It's amazing to see what they started with and what they've achieved.
We loved our stay at Arajilla and would certainly choose it again if we are able to return to Lord Howe.

Room Tip: Kentia rooms are closer to the restaurant and lounge in the event of bad weather but all rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjerkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I just got home yesterday after two weeks staying at arajilla, there is no other place to stay on Lord Howe. Wonderous service superb A1, food the best,The best massages EVER..A peaceful Tranquil feeling comes over you when you stay among the forest on Lord Howe Island.The wonderous songs of the beautiful birds are continuously heard throughout the day.The flow of the breeze goes through the Kentia palms and the Banyan trees.A short distance away the waves can be heard washing ashore on the beach.This is a heavenly place to come to rest and forget the noise of the cities far away.....J.M.F.

Room Tip: They all looked to be good but i stayed in a two bedroom suite and i also had two bathrooms one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juleenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lord Howe Island, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have traveled the world my entire life and I have never stayed at a more wonderful resort ever. The food was without a doubt the best food I have ever eaten period and the staff was so friendly it boarded on to friendly :) If you visit Lord Howe Island you must stay at Arajilla Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JebCorliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Jeb. We acknowledge how well travelled you are, so we’re absolutely thrilled to hear you refer to Arajilla as the best place you have ever stayed! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and our friendly staff so much! It was fabulous to have you and your team of adrenalin junkies stay with us – and a great experience to see you in action on Ball’s Pyramid! Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island

Property: Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Address: Lagoon Road | Old Settlement Beach, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm and friendly service and laid back ambience, Arajilla Retreat encapsulates the very essence of Lord Howe Island, offering guests a haven of tranquillity and peace. Arajilla is perfectly positioned on the northern sheltered end of the Island’s lagoon just behind Old Settlement Beach, where meandering pathways lead through native gardens to the beach, to its serene Ayurvedic Spa luxurious suites and renowned restaurant. Explore the extraordinary scenery and wildlife of World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. Walk bush trails, climb mountains, swim, surf, snorkel, fish, cycle around the Island, play golf beneath the mountains, take it easy on a deserted beach, enjoy a massage or treatment, savour fine food and wine. And it’s all less than a two hour flight from Sydney or Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arajilla Retreat Hotel Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing