We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving, lovely staff”

Pro Dive Lord Howe Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lord Howe Island is less than 2 hours flight from Sydney or Brisbane and surrounded by a Marine Park. Over 500 species of fish and 90 species of hard and soft corals, Lord Howe provides and underwater experience for divers of all experience levels. Pro Dive operate dives everyday (weather permitting) and have the only dive boat on the island that is surveyed to dive Balls Pyramid. Dive sites around the island vary from 5 – 30 meters with an array of both tropical and temperate water species. Most dives are suitable for openwater certified divers. Balls Pyramid is very weather dependent and an advanced openwater certification is required for this dive. Pro Dive operate from September to May and bookings are essential. Great diving packages can be booked online.
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a lovely few dives with pro dive. All of the staff were friendly and very accommodating. Aaron took us to some amazing sites with an abundance of fish. We especially enjoyed the cave dives with the huge black sting ray and massive lobsters. The wind stopped us from getting to balls pyramid (we will be back soon) but we went to different sites everyday with sheltered spots and good visibility. The team were all very accommodating and flexible, we were able to change a two dive day into two one dive days and add extra dives onto our package with no fuss. The kit was new and well looked after. Both my husband (less than 15 dives) and myself (nearing 100 dives) were well catered for and we highly recommend pro dive to all visitors to lord Howe Island.

Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Pro Dive Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much, we appreciate your feedback.
Best regards, Az and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Pro Dive Lord Howe Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Strange things happen to a man when he turns 50, one of those may be to prove he is still as good as he ever was, this of course, is even when he was probably not that good when he was young. Ergo the expression the older I get the better I was.

How comforting then it is, when you've just tried to drown yourself in less than a metre of water, your thinking that this is the worse decission you have ever made and your instructor looks you fair in the eyes and tells you to relax and promises that you will get through this.
Whats even more comforting is that he makes you believe it.

But thats these guys, in an era where most are just glad to take your money and its neither here or there if you achieve your goal, to Aaron and Lisa your failure is their failure and their failure is not an option.
Surrounded by the pristine waters of Lord Howe Island and encouraged by a band of wonderful young poeple, theres a chance you might just prove to be better than you ever were.

Thanks again guys.

2  Thank Messi764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Owner at Pro Dive Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely words and we are so happy that you will now get to enjoy the underwater world :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've never been scuba diving before and was very nervous and sceptical that I would like it. It was incredible, the two dives we did were absolutely fantastic. Az and Lisa were incredible welcoming and friendly, and the dive sites were fantastic. We had horrible weather but Az and Lisa were really flexible and made sure that we saw new things. Az was great at guiding and finding all sorts of things, and answered all our questions. Tea and biscuits on the beach afterwards were great, all the equipment was in great nick and we were really well looked after. 10/10!

1  Thank sjc1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Owner at Pro Dive Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Many thanks for your kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I booked a 10 dive package with Pro Dive in April, 2013. I actually got 17 dives in... and lost two days because I caught a cold on the trip over, and another day due to the plane being cancelled, but I was there two weeks.

As others have stated, weather can be a major issue here.. both in getting to and from the island, as well as going diving.

Even the lagoon can be messed up if the waves get big enough, or it is around high tide.

Vis can also be an issue after a big storm.

It should be noted that I have lost dive days all over the world, and had bad vis in places that are known for great vis.

So, the bad:

1. This is a very basic dive operation. If you expect someone to pamper you..you will not like it here (either dive shop).

2. Yup, the restroom is fairly far away (again, either shop).

3. They only have air available.

4. The dive boats are not that big.. good for 6 or so.

5. The water is cool, so if you bring your own gear, getting it there with the odd rules the airline has is difficult (but not impossible)

The Good:

1. Wow, I go to places for the diving.. and this is one amazing place.

2. Tas has amazing knowledge and eyes....one of the best I have ever dove with.

3. Unique life in a stunning location...does not get much better than this place.

After a few days of diving, I got into a very comfortable routine..hike down the Anchorage for breakfast...then down to the boat... go diving...hike back to the Anchorage for Lunch...Cannot think of a better way to spend a day.

Regarding Balls.. there are several things that can keep you from diving there...obviously big sea, but wind (which is normally blowing sideways to the direction to and from. Swells..sometimes the surface is calm and there are huge swells under water. And lastly current...which can make the place undiveable. I did not get to go...but not because of the boat size...they had a huge current this week and lots of swell.

Will be back.

5  Thank KnoxvillePufferfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Pro Dive Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive response, we appreciate your feedback. Please be advised that myself and Aaron (previous Instructor working for Tas) have taken over the business. We have made many improvements including purchasing new dive gear including wetsuits and we are very focused on providing wonderful experiences for our guests.

Kind regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

It is not advisable to book a diving package for more days. 1. Most of the time the weather is too bad to go out. Therefore one cannot do all dives as booked in the package. In general that can happen everywhere but in this case you don't get your money back. In other countries you do. If you get money back they will charge a fee even when it is to blame on the weather and the customer doesn't make a mistake. It is a hard bargain to get some money back. This is shown under terms and conditions on the web page but it wasn't a problem in the past in the whole world to get money back when the weather doesn't cooperate or a customer is ill.

2. We booked dive packages for 4 days (2 dives per day). This doesn't make sense because it is not cheaper. You have the same effect when you book single dives at the shop when there is good weather. A 10-dives-package cannot be accommodated in one week because of the often lousy weather. In this case the money is gone because they don't give money back.

3. The best spot on the island is Ball's Pyramid. The boat is too small so the trip can't be done very often. We couldn't do it.

There are no toilets in the dive shop. You have to go 500 meters to find one. It would be good to have one in the shop.

The guiding of Tass however is good and the spots are very nice.

Conclusion: If there was a better boat with which you could go to all places in all weather and there wouldn't be such a hard bargain to get money back you could give "excellent" to Pro Dive.

5  Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Pro Dive Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please be advised that Aaron Ralph (previous instructor for Tas) and myself have taken over the business and we are pleased to advise that we have made many improvements. To respond to some of your concerns:
1. We do offer refunds / fee adjustments if weather stops us from diving. We have had favourable weather this season allowing for good diving. This includes 8 trips to Balls Pyramid. Even on the days with less favourable conditions on the lagoon, we have still found suitable dive sites and divers have been given access via Neds Beach.
2. We have restructured the fees so that it is more affordable (cheaper) the more dives you do.
3.The larger fishing boats also need calm conditions for getting out to Balls Pyramid. The biggest factor in stopping trips to Balls Pyramid is the unforgiving open ocean.
4. As a World Heritage listed island and business location there are regulations stopping us from having a toilet in the dive shop. The closest toilet is just up the hill next to the community hall and is approximately 100m walk.
Many thanks,
Aaron and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pro Dive Lord Howe Island also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Pro Dive Lord Howe Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing