We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway the place to stay on lord howe”
Review of Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lord Howe Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hideaway
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hideaway the place to stay on lord howe”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at hideaway and had a wonderful time. The place was spotless, everything you needed was in the villa. Tranquil setting. Not far from shops and restaurants. Val and her family made us feel very welcome, even cooked for us one night the best fish curry. Would not hesitate to recommend this place. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our enjoyment of LHI would have been greater had this accomm been within easier access to surrounds and/or a minibus service which better caters for tourist. The hosts were as friendly and helpful as possible with lifts to get around but it was still too hard for us with a child. So even though the accom was very child friendly, we would unfortunately have to recommend elsewhere nearer the lagoon side. The owners are hoping that the mini bus idea may eventuate. For us an easy swim, stroll or BBQ on the beach required too much pre-planning and prep. to get there and back, with bikes, gear etc so it took the relaxed feel away from the experience. We'd have to agree with previous comments that the accom itself,(we were in a unit) was very basic (especially bathroom) and needs some upgrading. A small fan is needed for very hot days and nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Adequate rooms but thin wall between rooms so hope to have a quiet neighbor. John very helpful and pleasant. Cannot recommend accommodation if the coffee in the room is instant international roast! This needs an upgrade! Good base for scuba although a steep hill to get back up.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Hideaway consists of a secluded cottage and five spacious two-room apartments situated in tranquil gardens amid a forest of Kentia Palms. I stayed in one of the apartments for 7 nights to do some Scuba diving and bushwalking on Lord Howe Island on my way to Vietnam in April 2012. I have to say I was a bit disappointed. The decor and furnishings were cheap and dated, internal sliding doors in need of repair, and it smelt a bit musty.

On the positive side, the apartment was fairly spacious, bed quite comfortable, bathroom clean, kitchen functional, close to Joy's Shop (a general store) and it is very good exercise walking up the hill from Lagoon Beach. My tip is: pay the extra money and stay just down the road if you can afford it - I will be doing this next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hideaway

Property: Hideaway
Address: Middlebeach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing