We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dream family holiday!”
Review of Beachcomber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a dream family holiday!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lord Howe Island is an essential destination for any age. We as a family enjoyed 7 nights staying at the Beachcomber Lodge. The accommodation was very good, nice & clean & well maintained. We had our first meal at the bowling club, the food was excellent and very well priced. We also dined at the Beachcomber Lodge Restaurant & experienced a similar standard. If you want to see both ends of the island I suggest you hire a bike & be prepared to push it up a few hills depending upon your level of fitness. We chose to send 3 weeks prior to our stay some basic food stuffs via Australia Post. This was to save us some money as it enabled us to prepare some basic family meals without having to go out to eat. During our stay we enjoyed going to several beautiful beaches, had some great walks, great snorkelling with beautiful coral, enjoyed swimming with fish & turtles & thoroughly enjoy the tamed bird life. Our family found Lord Howe Island to be a brilliant holiday destination, only 2 hours flight from Sydney, so much to discover & do, great places to eat either for breakfast, lunch or dinner, (beware the food is a little pricey but the quality was excellent including fresh meat, fish & produce from the Top Shop which is located just behind Beachcomber Lodge. Our first impression when you arrive by plane is you are landing in the Cook Islands or Tahiti. The landscape is absolutely breathtaking! Would we return to Lord Howe Island .... ABSOLUTELY YES .... & we can not wait to do so. What a relaxing, peaceful & fun holiday on Lord Howe Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Michele D,

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review! I really appreciate the time you have taken to paint a beautiful image of Lord Howe Island, and of Beachcomber Lodge and Restaurant. I'm so glad your family had a dream holiday on Lord Howe - it truly is the perfect family holiday destination.

A lot of people choose to post basic food supplies and extra items through Australia Post as our grocery shops are a bit more expensive then Woolworths of Coles, as we have to add on freight (which is expensive!), and Qantas have a very strict limit on luggage. Eating out at restaurants, the quality of food served is excellent and fairly priced. Beachcomber is located close to restaurants and grocery stores, including the Top Shop, if you want to buy fresh fish, meat, fruit or vegetables for dinner which you can cook in your room or at our BBQ facilities.

I really hope your family can enjoy another holiday back on beautiful Lord Howe, and I hope we can look after you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a lovely short break at Lord Howe Island and our choice of accommodation certainly helped. We were picked up from the airport by the proprietor, Gary and given an island fact-finding tour on the way to the lodge. Our rooms were spacious and well equipped, tidy and well maintained. We really enjoyed being able to sit on the verandah of the main block overlooking lush gardens and enjoy the various bird life that exists on the island - our one small criticism would be that it is next to the restaurant and on the nights the restaurant is open we would more than likely find people helping themselves to the table and chairs outside our room. Fine if you are not there but a bit annoying otherwise. A recommendation might be to put a sign up saying for residents use only, or something like that. However that never detracted from a very relaxing stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - Gary was always on hand to take us to wherever we needed to get to but, of course, the best mode of transport is to hire a bike and cycle wherever you want to go. Island life is so relaxed that you can just leave your bikes wherever, go off and do your thing and come back and find your bikes still there where you left them. I would thoroughly recommend staying here (and of course visiting this beautiful little slice of heaven where life is lived the way we should all live it - relaxed, friendly and uncomplicated).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiwat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear fiwat123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for Beachcomber! We are very lucky to live on such a beautiful, relaxed island, and I'm glad you got to get a feel for the island lifestyle!
It's great to hear you found your room comfortable and well equipped.
I do apologise for restaurant guests using your private facilities. We definitely do try to avoid having dinner customers using the room's private outdoor settings, and usually do let them know they are not for use. However, from time to time, it does happen, and I sincerely apologise. I hope it was not too much of an inconvenience for you.
Again, I greatly appreciate your review and feedback, and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stopped our first 2 out of our 7 nights at Beachcombers on this absolutely magical island. Gary picked us up at the airport and provided us with an informative and friendly introduction to the island and it's facilities. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Experienced two breakfasts that were included in the price and went to the Saturday's gourmet hamburger night. Breakfast was excellent although the second day there were much fewer extra side options available. Fresh oranges for juicing was a nice touch and the breakfasts were well cooked. Our waitress for breakfast and tea was very pleasant and the restaurant atmosphere was homely and very nice. Endangered wood hens frequented the grounds. Luggage was seamlessly transferred to our second accommodation location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi stmlne,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for highlighting some wonderful features that Beachcomber Lodge has to offer. I am very happy that you found your room comfortable and spotless (I'm sure our house-keeping staff will be pleased!) and that you enjoyed breakfasts each day, particularly the fresh orange juice, which we also think is a nice option!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday on beautiful Lord Howe Island, and hope that we can accommodate you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recommend Gary Payten's Beachcomber Lodge for almost everyone. If you are not very physically mobile, you might be better off closer to the small main street of town and the beach. Otherwise, what a great place to say. The family has been on the island for generations and Gary is a wonderful host. Rare bird species stroll the grounds. Free washer and dryer. Good hot breakfast. Spacious rooms. Nice walk down the hill to town or to the closest beaches. The staff were universally friendly. It isn't luxury but if that's what you're after Lord Howe might not be the top choice anyway. The hotel and the island are comfortable, low-key, friendly and beautiful. We went scuba diving, hiked, hung out at the beach. Loved the place and glad we chose Beachcomber.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear dendan11,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am so glad that you had such a wonderful stay here at Beachcomber Lodge and got to enjoy all that Lord Howe has to offer.

Yes, we have many of the local bird species living on the Beachcomber grounds, so it is not unusual to meet a woodhen on your verandah or hear the muttonbirds as you go to sleep at night! We are very lucky to call this beautiful island home and do wish to take care of you on your next visit to Lord Howe.

Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 7 nights and loved it. There is quite a walk/ cycle up the hill to get there , but we wanted to get fit so didn't mind too much. Our unit was immaculately clean, quiet and comfortable, lovely bed, and big undercover area with a daybed to relax after a day of walking/ snorkelling and cycling.good laundry area too.
Home made biscuits every day were an added nice touch. Owners and staff were friendly, helpful but at the same time not intrusive. A cook top would be useful, as others have mentioned.
There is Wifi, enough to check emails and stay in contact. We tried unsuccessfully to log on for 2 days, (assuming it was the slow island connection causing us problems ) before being told that the password had changed..it would have been helpful if the new one had been given to us when we arrived or put in the information brochure.
The lodge is only 5 mins from Neds Beach which is a protected little spot and has lovely snorkelling in waist deep water . We hope to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room right next to the dining room, in the main part of the lodge, and there was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for a great review, and recommending Beachcomber as a place to unwind - we think it is a great spot to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity that Lord Howe offers!

I am very glad that you found your One-bedroom Apartment comfortable, clean and quiet. Our apologies for not providing the correct Wi-Fi password at the beginning of your stay. I hope this did not cause to much inconvenience, however there is staff around most of the day which you could always ask for help! We also have a guest computer which is available for use at all times, particularly if any one has problems connecting on their personal computers/tablets.

Once again, thank you for writing us a wonderful review and we hope to look after you on your next visit to our beautiful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Gary and everyone at the Beachcomber Lodge gave us the rest and relaxation we needed. We all were extremely comfortable, everyone was very friendly and the service was great. We were picked up at the airport, given a good orientation tour by Gary, and had two one-bedroom apartments which were very nice/clean/comfortable. Eating at other places for dinner was not a problem as someone was always available to give you a lift your dinner location. We had breakfast in the Beachomber restaurant each morning and it was very pleasant. We had a lovely time, thanks to everyone at the Beachcomber!

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments have a single bed so can easily sleep three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for such a fantastic review! I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Beachcomber and that it was comfortable and relaxing for your family.
We hope that this isn't the last time you visit our beautiful island and hope to take care of you on your next visit!

Thanks again,

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our family felt right at home at the beautiful Beachcomber lodge, with Gary and his family providing excellent and friendly service around the clock. The 'one bedroom apartment' fitted our family of 4 well, with the facilities adding extra comfort and enjoyment to the stay. It would be great to have a fan in the lounge room, but it is still comfortable without.

The location of the lodge is perfect. A short ride down the road brings you to the stunning lagoon and a number of local businesses. Even closer in proximity is the fantastic Beachcomber Restaurant where you can be treated to a delicious breakfast to get you started on your adventure, or an equally delicious dinner (burger night was our family favourite). The cosy guest house allowed and encouraged guests to strike up conversation, and in our case make friends with a fellow traveller.

We had an unforgettably great time at the Beachcomber Lodge, and hope to visit again sometime soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for such an awesome review! We greatly appreciate you feedback and are so glad you and your family had a wonderful stay here at Beachcomber and enjoyed our beautiful island.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.4 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Lodge

Property: Beachcomber Lodge
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachcomber Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge located on beautiful Lord Howe Island - a world heritage listed island in the South Pacific, approximately 700km from Sydney. Beachcomber is surrounded by Lord Howe's natural beauty, set amongst native Lord Howe Island Kentia Palms with splashes of colour from an array of tropical flowers. Beachcomber is only a few minutes walk to Ned's Beach, famous for its snorkeling & fish feeding, and an easy walk or bike ride to convenient stores & visitors centre. Beachcomber is perfectly located for those wanting to explore those natural attractions that have made Lord Howe famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beachcomber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing