We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded, neat and tidy with lovely customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Secluded, neat and tidy with lovely customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here in August 2013 and where so impressed that we returned in April 2014. Gary is great and really ensures you have a great stay, if the weather is good, ask him for a ride out to Ball's Pyramid in his boat, the boat may look small but it is stable, very dry and fast! I love the polished floor boards as being on an island you do bring a bit of sand back with you at times so it is easy to keep clean, which by the way, is not the guest's problem as during our 9 night stay we were impressed by the daily sweep and clean of our apartment and even a mid stay linen change. There is also a guest lounge with heaps of DVD's to choose from to play on the provided DVD player in your own little lounge. Our room included a kitchen but with the great dining on the island it was only used for breakfast and a couple of times when we cooked some freshly caught Kingfish on the lovely BBQ facilities provided. What I like about Beachcomber lodge is how small it is, you really feel like you are just staying in a big house rather than motel style accommodation. Only downside if you like to sleep in is that the wood floors tend to echo a bit, I am an early riser so just ensured I walked out with my socks on and then put my shoes on outside at the steps to the garden

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 1 and 3 and enjoyed both
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallett505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Hallett505,

Thank you so much (again!) for taking the time out to write such an amazing review for Beachcomber Lodge! I am really glad that you chose Beachcomber for a second time, and enjoyed it just as much as the first time you visited!
I always look forward to taking our guests out to Ball's Pyramid when the weather is good - and I totally agree with you, it is a small boat, but is completely safe, stable and comfortable, with it only being a few years old.
The polished timber floors in our apartments are relatively new, and it is so much easier to keep clean! Thank you for being so considerate towards our other guests in terms of noise. I am aware that a downside of timber floors is noise echo, and it is definitely something we are looking into.
I'm glad that you found our daily room service impressive, and I think it is important, particularly for the added luxury of a holiday!
Again, I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed all our facilities and accommodation at Beachcomber, and I also love the fact that we can really get to know our guests because it is only a small, family-run business. We hope to look after you again on your next visit to our beautiful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just let our travel agent choose our accommodation on Lord Howe, the only pre requisite we had was that we wanted breakfast each morning at the hotel. The lodgeing was very clean, comfortable and roomy. Plenty of room to cook etc in the little kitchen, which looked like it had barely been used! Our room was with the dining room part in which there were 3 rooms. We all shared a lovely balcony looking over the garden, which was very nice. Dinner was available in the dining room 3 or 4 nights a week, and was also open to the public as well and was well attended each time. Food there was very nice and not expensive as you might think. I was a little bemused one night though when we went down the road for dinner, and came back home with a bottle of wine we were going to share on our lovely verandah that evening, only to find people sitting at our table and chairs out the front of our room eating dinner!! The other two rooms had the same problem! I found this very disappointing........ but we didn't spoil it for the diners, and just joked around with them so they didn't feel too uncomfortable about it. The owners should think about that little problem.

But aside from that, things were pretty good and I was happy. Breakfast could do with a little more variation though.

One important thing to consider with this accommodation is its location. There is a little bit of a hill that you have to negotiate if you walk or ride into town or the beaches. If you have some issues with health or fitness, you will have to take it easy. You could always get Gary to drop you off where you want to go.


Something to bear in mind too is that they will take you to any of the restaurants that you want to go to, but they like to take you at a set time, so just ask them before you book. It seems that all the restaurants will take you back home, but make sure you take a torch!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Dennis S,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review! I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about Beachcomber and it's facilities. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable, clean and relaxing!
I do sincerely apologies for restaurant guests making use of your private balcony facilities. We do ask our staff to inform guests not to use them when the rooms are occupied, however sometimes this is not communicated and they do get used. I really hope it did not spoil your stay at Beachcomber, and I will continue to ensure restaurant guests do not use the balcony settings.

As you mentioned, there is a moderate incline up to Beachcomber Lodge (and other lodges, restaurants and shops), so it is important when choosing your accommodation as to it's location. However, we feel it is definitely not strenuous, and can be taken at any pace! I am also happy to drive guests around should they need to go anywhere, and there are hire cars available at a few places around the island if guests are not comfortable riding or walking, have health issues, etc. At Beachcomber, we provide a courtesy bus for our guests to any restaurant of any evening, and all restaurants provide a courtesy bus home, which makes it easy for everyone!

We feel there is sufficient variation with our breakfast menu, with a set continental breakfast, daily variations with our hot breakfasts (but always including eggs any style and bacon), tea and coffee. Additionally, if guests have any dietary requirements we do ask for the details in advance so that we can be prepared for them.

Again thank you for your honest feedback, and do hope we can look after you on your next visit to our beautiful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lord Howe Island is an essential destination for any age. We as a family enjoyed 7 nights staying at the Beachcomber Lodge. The accommodation was very good, nice & clean & well maintained. We had our first meal at the bowling club, the food was excellent and very well priced. We also dined at the Beachcomber Lodge Restaurant & experienced a similar standard. If you want to see both ends of the island I suggest you hire a bike & be prepared to push it up a few hills depending upon your level of fitness. We chose to send 3 weeks prior to our stay some basic food stuffs via Australia Post. This was to save us some money as it enabled us to prepare some basic family meals without having to go out to eat. During our stay we enjoyed going to several beautiful beaches, had some great walks, great snorkelling with beautiful coral, enjoyed swimming with fish & turtles & thoroughly enjoy the tamed bird life. Our family found Lord Howe Island to be a brilliant holiday destination, only 2 hours flight from Sydney, so much to discover & do, great places to eat either for breakfast, lunch or dinner, (beware the food is a little pricey but the quality was excellent including fresh meat, fish & produce from the Top Shop which is located just behind Beachcomber Lodge. Our first impression when you arrive by plane is you are landing in the Cook Islands or Tahiti. The landscape is absolutely breathtaking! Would we return to Lord Howe Island .... ABSOLUTELY YES .... & we can not wait to do so. What a relaxing, peaceful & fun holiday on Lord Howe Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Michele D,

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review! I really appreciate the time you have taken to paint a beautiful image of Lord Howe Island, and of Beachcomber Lodge and Restaurant. I'm so glad your family had a dream holiday on Lord Howe - it truly is the perfect family holiday destination.

A lot of people choose to post basic food supplies and extra items through Australia Post as our grocery shops are a bit more expensive then Woolworths of Coles, as we have to add on freight (which is expensive!), and Qantas have a very strict limit on luggage. Eating out at restaurants, the quality of food served is excellent and fairly priced. Beachcomber is located close to restaurants and grocery stores, including the Top Shop, if you want to buy fresh fish, meat, fruit or vegetables for dinner which you can cook in your room or at our BBQ facilities.

I really hope your family can enjoy another holiday back on beautiful Lord Howe, and I hope we can look after you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a lovely short break at Lord Howe Island and our choice of accommodation certainly helped. We were picked up from the airport by the proprietor, Gary and given an island fact-finding tour on the way to the lodge. Our rooms were spacious and well equipped, tidy and well maintained. We really enjoyed being able to sit on the verandah of the main block overlooking lush gardens and enjoy the various bird life that exists on the island - our one small criticism would be that it is next to the restaurant and on the nights the restaurant is open we would more than likely find people helping themselves to the table and chairs outside our room. Fine if you are not there but a bit annoying otherwise. A recommendation might be to put a sign up saying for residents use only, or something like that. However that never detracted from a very relaxing stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - Gary was always on hand to take us to wherever we needed to get to but, of course, the best mode of transport is to hire a bike and cycle wherever you want to go. Island life is so relaxed that you can just leave your bikes wherever, go off and do your thing and come back and find your bikes still there where you left them. I would thoroughly recommend staying here (and of course visiting this beautiful little slice of heaven where life is lived the way we should all live it - relaxed, friendly and uncomplicated).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiwat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear fiwat123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for Beachcomber! We are very lucky to live on such a beautiful, relaxed island, and I'm glad you got to get a feel for the island lifestyle!
It's great to hear you found your room comfortable and well equipped.
I do apologise for restaurant guests using your private facilities. We definitely do try to avoid having dinner customers using the room's private outdoor settings, and usually do let them know they are not for use. However, from time to time, it does happen, and I sincerely apologise. I hope it was not too much of an inconvenience for you.
Again, I greatly appreciate your review and feedback, and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stopped our first 2 out of our 7 nights at Beachcombers on this absolutely magical island. Gary picked us up at the airport and provided us with an informative and friendly introduction to the island and it's facilities. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Experienced two breakfasts that were included in the price and went to the Saturday's gourmet hamburger night. Breakfast was excellent although the second day there were much fewer extra side options available. Fresh oranges for juicing was a nice touch and the breakfasts were well cooked. Our waitress for breakfast and tea was very pleasant and the restaurant atmosphere was homely and very nice. Endangered wood hens frequented the grounds. Luggage was seamlessly transferred to our second accommodation location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stmlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi stmlne,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for highlighting some wonderful features that Beachcomber Lodge has to offer. I am very happy that you found your room comfortable and spotless (I'm sure our house-keeping staff will be pleased!) and that you enjoyed breakfasts each day, particularly the fresh orange juice, which we also think is a nice option!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday on beautiful Lord Howe Island, and hope that we can accommodate you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recommend Gary Payten's Beachcomber Lodge for almost everyone. If you are not very physically mobile, you might be better off closer to the small main street of town and the beach. Otherwise, what a great place to say. The family has been on the island for generations and Gary is a wonderful host. Rare bird species stroll the grounds. Free washer and dryer. Good hot breakfast. Spacious rooms. Nice walk down the hill to town or to the closest beaches. The staff were universally friendly. It isn't luxury but if that's what you're after Lord Howe might not be the top choice anyway. The hotel and the island are comfortable, low-key, friendly and beautiful. We went scuba diving, hiked, hung out at the beach. Loved the place and glad we chose Beachcomber.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear dendan11,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am so glad that you had such a wonderful stay here at Beachcomber Lodge and got to enjoy all that Lord Howe has to offer.

Yes, we have many of the local bird species living on the Beachcomber grounds, so it is not unusual to meet a woodhen on your verandah or hear the muttonbirds as you go to sleep at night! We are very lucky to call this beautiful island home and do wish to take care of you on your next visit to Lord Howe.

Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 7 nights and loved it. There is quite a walk/ cycle up the hill to get there , but we wanted to get fit so didn't mind too much. Our unit was immaculately clean, quiet and comfortable, lovely bed, and big undercover area with a daybed to relax after a day of walking/ snorkelling and cycling.good laundry area too.
Home made biscuits every day were an added nice touch. Owners and staff were friendly, helpful but at the same time not intrusive. A cook top would be useful, as others have mentioned.
There is Wifi, enough to check emails and stay in contact. We tried unsuccessfully to log on for 2 days, (assuming it was the slow island connection causing us problems ) before being told that the password had changed..it would have been helpful if the new one had been given to us when we arrived or put in the information brochure.
The lodge is only 5 mins from Neds Beach which is a protected little spot and has lovely snorkelling in waist deep water . We hope to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room right next to the dining room, in the main part of the lodge, and there was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Payten, Owner at Beachcomber Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for a great review, and recommending Beachcomber as a place to unwind - we think it is a great spot to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity that Lord Howe offers!

I am very glad that you found your One-bedroom Apartment comfortable, clean and quiet. Our apologies for not providing the correct Wi-Fi password at the beginning of your stay. I hope this did not cause to much inconvenience, however there is staff around most of the day which you could always ask for help! We also have a guest computer which is available for use at all times, particularly if any one has problems connecting on their personal computers/tablets.

Once again, thank you for writing us a wonderful review and we hope to look after you on your next visit to our beautiful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.8 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#2 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
561.9 mi away
Shearwater Scenic Villas
Shearwater Scenic Villas
#12 of 47 in Norfolk Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Lodge

Property: Beachcomber Lodge
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachcomber Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge located on beautiful Lord Howe Island - a world heritage listed island in the South Pacific, approximately 700km from Sydney. Beachcomber is surrounded by Lord Howe's natural beauty, set amongst native Lord Howe Island Kentia Palms with splashes of colour from an array of tropical flowers. Beachcomber is only a few minutes walk to Ned's Beach, famous for its snorkeling & fish feeding, and an easy walk or bike ride to convenient stores & visitors centre. Beachcomber is perfectly located for those wanting to explore those natural attractions that have made Lord Howe famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing