We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinetrees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinetrees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WOW! We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Lord Howe Island has been on my must list for a long time and did not disappoint. This is largely due to Pinetrees Lodge. We were welcomed by Dani at the airport who is one of the owners of the lodge and is a 6th generation islander. She took us on a mini tour of the island prior to arriving to the lodge.

Upon arrival we were all welcomed with a drink and were pleasantly surprised by our room. It was very comfortable, electric blankets were put to good use on the chilly nights and plenty of hot water for the showers.

I can only rave about the food; great choice of cooked breakfasts and buffet, lunch you can either take with you, or eat at the lodge or the staff can drop it at one of the many BBQs on the island. Although we trekked every day and did a fair amount of climbing, we still managed to gain weight...

Pinetrees was also running one of its amazing wilderness weeks while we were there and we joined in a couple of day activities. Luke (Dani's husband) was extremely helpful in tips and how's on the island. He even cooked one of our BBQs, thanks Luke! Thank you for introducing us to Dean who was a fantastic guide and we learnt a lot about both the board and environmental management of the island.

Before dinner it is worth gathering in the library where a beautiful open fire is lit every night and it is nice to just read a book (or the paper, although might be a day or two out of date as the plane doesn't come every day) or have a chat with the other guests. The lodge operates on an open door policy so don't expect to receive a key upon arrival:)

The lodge also has a beautiful boat house with a fridge stocked with drinks, also operating on an honesty based payment scheme. From there you can watch the amazing sunsets or just take a stroll on the beach.

The staff are very friendly and genuine, obviously happy at their work place and are treated well.
We would have loved to stay longer...

Travel tip: worth getting travel insurance as flights often get delayed or diverted and you might miss your connecting flight like it happened to us.
Bike rental tip: $8/day very cheap but we didn't even use it every day as the distance on the roads is very short.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Viktoria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    49
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
185
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Pinetrees is the icing on the Lord Howe Island cake - great staff; 3 meals a day all different and delicious; excellent shelter from the storm (when we were there the Island was hit by the tail end of a cyclone).
Lord Howe is a truly unique part of NSW - the people, the environment, the birds, the beaches, the palms and the Lord Howe Woodhen - rescued from extinction.
Save your cents and put Lord Howe Island on your list of MUST DO!
PMc

Room Tip: All rooms are good - some older and more quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMcAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at Pinetrees and enjoyed every moment on Lord Howe Island. The service is excellent and all the staff are friendly and considerate to the needs of travellers. It began with Luke collecting us from the airport and finished with him dropping us off for our flight home. The rooms are comfortable, the grounds are tranquil, and the food is just superb. The food was an unexpected bonus; breakfast, lunch and dinner were cooked by a chef. Go just for the food! We arranged two BBQ lunches - just say where you plan to be at lunchtime and Pinetrees will drop an esky with your food at the location. For our walk up Mt Gower we were provided with a lovely Pinetrees backpack containing morning tea, lunch and nibbles and fruit. Very thoughtful. There is a lounge where you can read the paper, if the flight arrives that day. Best of all, the atmosphere is warm and friendly, and guests exchange stories about what you can do on the island.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rossadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

After my 2nd visit in 6mths I decided that I just couldn't keep it a secret any longer, Pinetrees and it's wonderful staff deserve high praise indeed for providing a very special experience on a very special island. The beauty of the island speaks for itself the minute your flight lands as you gaze in awe at the scenery, it is truly breathtaking. The hospitality of the Pinetrees staff is so welcoming as you wander into the tiny airport, big smiles and such a relaxed attitude. 'Don't worry about your baggage, it's all taken care of' This welcome certainly sets the tone for the duration of your stay. What can I say - the food is gourmet, the rooms clean and comfortable, the proximity to the beach, only a short walk through magnificent pines, and the fantastic boathouse on the lagoon where many a 'happy hour' is enjoyed by guests, who actually talk to each other given the lack of mobile phone coverage and no TVs. I travelled alone and met lovely people during the Wilderness Week in June and I will be back in December. Visiting 3 times in 12 mths must say something for the excellent hospitality at Pinetrees.

Room Tip: I have stayed in Transit Hill rooms and Palm Rooms, both nice and comfortable. I think the Transit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YarraVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just returned today from a wonderful stay at Pine Trees. The week of Jazz was entertaining. The food was 5 star the service was impeccable. The bush walking, deep sea fishing with the crew of "The Carina" was the best we have ever done. Thank you all for helping us celebrate birthdays. A holiday without tv, mobiles and computers...should be more of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at Pinetrees for a week fantastic great meals and staff are very obliging but take out travell insurance if you go in the colder months we were delayed a night because of bad weather and it cost $535 for the extra night also if you want to climb mount Gower its not a climb for a begginer its definately for very fit people and dont go up with Jack he's very fast he actualy lost us on the mountain because he took off and just left us and had a very bad attitude

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We are in our 70s and have travelled and stayed in many exotic locations thruout the World
Tahiti Moraya to name just two that many people rave about, they are Exotic places,But Lord Howe Island in our opinion is far above for peace and Beauty,IF you want a hectic nite life do not go to Lord Howe Go somewhere else (Bali) and leave this island to people who appreciate Quality,Again we loved the simple and unpretentious accomodation No Radio-Clock or TV and no Mobile phone coverage but have a refridgerator.the staff left the rooms spotless each day,and the food and service could not be faulted.It is a credit to all the Staff And Management at Pine Trees,We will be there again Next Year. Regards Warren & Barbara.

Room Tip: We only stayed in a under pines room mostly all single rooms are similar all are close to the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
1.1 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinetrees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetrees Lodge

Property: Pinetrees Lodge
Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinetrees Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetrees Lodge is the perfect place to relax and escape the stress of everyday life. We provide exceptional meals, personalised service, elegant accommodation and a beautiful waterfront location on Lagoon Beach. Our boatshed is a great place for a shower after your swim in the lagoon, or for a cold beer or champagne while watching the sunset. Enjoy world-class snorkelling, diving, surfing, walking, kayaking and gold, or just relax on Australia's most beautiful island. Stay with us once and you'll understand why so many guests come back to visit every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pinetrees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinetrees Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing