We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place for Lord Howe Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinetrees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinetrees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect place for Lord Howe Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pinetrees on wonderful Lord Howe Island for four nights, Feb 27-March 3rd. We chose Pinetrees because it is all inclusive and because it was the original guest house on the island (there have been two resorts built recently that are more expensive and look, to me, a little out of place).

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite which gave us a living room---not grand, but very comfortable and clean accommodation. The food was great and there was just a very nice atmosphere created by staff---all cheerful, helpful and efficient. Pinetrees is easy walking to shops, museum etc. A very well run and straightforward low-key and unpretentious resort---we hope to return some time to LHI and would not consider staying anywhere else. We wished that we had stayed longer! Didn't have as much beaching/swimming as we hoped because of weather but did lots of biking and bird-watching and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grammatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    48
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
179
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

stayed at pinetrees in a transit hill room.simple,with ensuite ,tea,coffee making ,own little patio overlooking lawn area with morning sun.a quiet venue with free tennis,bike hire (cheap).all meals included.buffet breakfast ,aussie style food in outdoor patio area overlooking tennis court.lunch can be off simple menu (changes daily)or a sandwich pack to take away or a bbq pack which is delivered to any bbq on the island.sweet!dinner -soup choice of 2 mains and 2desserts.all very nice tasting and well presented in the dining room.after cheese ,biscuits tea and coffee avail.in lounge with open fire.a great value venue particularly before end of sept.staff are very good.a lot of older people stay here during winter for the peace but there is also a mix of all ages too.mobile phone doesnt work on island and no tv at pinetrees .all in all ideal if you really need to get away from everything.plenty of bushwalks to do on island ,ride bikes,go fishing ,snorkling ,play golf,nature walks,bird spotting.all this can be done with a guide if you like.a couple of cafes and restaurants, bowls club,very little in shopping .you will save by going here as there really isnt much to spend it on except drinks and any activities you do.a great place to r and r.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondiesorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We have just returned from a five day break at Pinetrees on Lord Howe Island and loved every minute of it.

We particularly loved the no television/mobile/internet (Pinetrees) and as the mother of two small children, I really enjoyed not having to think about food at all for the whole time we were there. The food was great - ample servings - and we particuarly enjoyed our barbecue at Ned's Beach. The staff delivered everything we needed straight to Ned's so we could just cycle there, light the barbie and enjoy. The staff also provided an early dinner (6.30pm) for the kids so we could enjoy our meal (7.30pm) in peace while they played with the other kids there.

We booked one of the garden cottages which suited us perfectly - the kids'beds were in the main living area (divided off with a sliding door) while our bedroom was a good size.

The island itself is just beautiful - we walked, snorkelled and generally relaxed.

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ExpatPomAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

We have just returned from spending 7 wonderful nights at Pinetrees ..... We loved every minute of it. The Lodge itself was clean and tidy and the staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. We loved the 'no mobiles, no TV (at Pinetrees), no clocks etc ..... We thoroughly relaxed and didn't have to worry about anything (except what we were doing for the day). All meals were just excellent, and very ample servings. Lord Howe is not the sort of place if you want nightclubs and parties etc., but if you just want to unwind, relax and recharge your batteries, then it is most definitely the place to go. You can do lots during the day if you want, or you can do nothing. The scenery and wildlife is beautiful, and all the locals (and the holiday makers), are very friendly. Next to no vehicles, but lots of pushbikes (and even 3 wheelers for the not so steady on two), and lots of pedestrians. We WILL be going back again in the very near future and taking family/friends with us to enjoy the wonderful experience of Lord Howe and of course ..... Pinetrees.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Arwon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

Lord Howe Island is paradise, all within a 2 hr flight of Sydney. Pinetrees is in keeping with the friendliness, warmth and relaxed atmosphere of Lord Howe Island. The accomodation was neat and well kept, and the food was marvellous. Pinetrees offer the fully catered experience and I was all for it, with baby and husband in-tow.

Pinetrees lent us a stroller, baby cot, baby cath and provided a high chair at all meals. They also provided our baby with mashed food at every meal. In addition to the cooked breakfast and dinner, we had the option of a BBQ lunch (which was delivered to our destination), or a picnic lunch (which we carried with us on hikes). Dinner always consisted of a soup, choice of 2 mains (in which one was always Kingfish) and choice of 3 desserts. We enjoyed every meal and am in awe of the freshness and the quality of the food provided.

We hired bikes and cycled around the island for the majority of the trip. We succumbed to hiring a car for the last few days of the trip because our muscles were aching from cycling and hiking! Every day, Pinetrees updated their noticeboard with daily tours, and we were able to use their phone to ring the tour companies for bookings. We did 3 tours - the Glass Bottom Boat and snorkelling tour, the specialitiy snorkelling tour and the South End tour. We had a great time on all the tours. We also visited Neds Beach on quite a number of occasions to snorkel and feed the fish. The size of the Kingfishes were unbelievable! We also hiked up My Lidgbird to the Goathouse Cave. In retrospect, I would not reccomend doing the hike like we did with a 11kg baby in a backpack, tripod and camera equipment, but we made it and were proud of our efforts. Next time, we will be investing in a babysitter at Pinetrees!

Pinetrees captures the spirit and the unique atmosphere of Lord Howe Island. We look forward to visiting PInetrees again when our baby is a little older and can pedal herself around the island.

  • Liked — food, hospitality
  • Disliked — 2 spiders that had crept into our room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2006

Lord Howe Island is a unique and special place, but it's not for everyone. If you want the buzz of nightlife, plus a coral reef experience then go to Cairns or Cooktown or one of the Whitsundays. LHI is a throwback to the 50's, undeveloped (save for one new resort); there are no cellphones, no TV, no Internet and no cars.

If you want total relaxation with the family or a stack of books, without the crowds, but with plenty of outdoor activity in a perfect natural setting, then LHI is your destination. LHI is an island of contrasts, surf beach on one side and lagoon on the other. Mountains and rainforest on one end of the island and low hills easily ridden on a bike at the other. The fishing is phenomenal, in fact you could pick them up in your hands at Ned's beach every day at 4PM if you are quick enough.
We stayed at Pinetrees resort which is across the road from the lagoon. We loved Pinetrees...it's not your 5* resort...it's a throwback, but we were perfectly comfortable, the food was great and the hospitality genuine and personable.

Everything is fully catered and kids loved it. We would often set out on our bikes with a barbeque lunch in a knapsack provided by Pinetrees - perfect for one of the dozens of bbq sites around the Island. The Island is fuly licensed and Pinetrees has a good wine list and plenty of beer, so don't worry about bringing any alcohol. It's perfectly safe for your kids and it's not too hot or humid as it is constantly cooled by sea breezes.

It's relatively hard to get to and in peak season often fully booked; compared to the mainland it's expensive, but its more than worth it. A LHI experience will never be forgotten...can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
34 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
1.1 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#2 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
562.1 mi away
Shearwater Scenic Villas
Shearwater Scenic Villas
#13 of 47 in Norfolk Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinetrees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetrees Lodge

Property: Pinetrees Lodge
Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinetrees Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetrees Lodge is the perfect place to relax and escape the stress of everyday life. We provide exceptional meals, personalised service, elegant accommodation and a beautiful waterfront location on Lagoon Beach. Our boatshed is a great place for a shower after your swim in the lagoon, or for a cold beer or champagne while watching the sunset. Enjoy world-class snorkelling, diving, surfing, walking, kayaking and gold, or just relax on Australia's most beautiful island. Stay with us once and you'll understand why so many guests come back to visit every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pinetrees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinetrees Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing