We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay on a wonderful island”
Review of Capella Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capella Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay on a wonderful island”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had never heard of Lord Howe Island before we started to plan our trip to Australia, and it turned out to be a great find. The island is a fantastic place to visit, there are lots of good walks of various grades, quiet beaches and sailing trips to keep you busy. Life seems to flow at a slower and more relaxing pace.

We stayed for 4 nights in a Lagoon Loft which is a split level suite with the bedroom upstairs. This has great views from the balcony and the bed (when looking past the trees), so it was worth the extra price.

Cocktails and canapes are served every night before dinner, and this was a good way to meet the other guests - some of whom we kept bumping into on our walks. The food (and drink) was always of a high standard, if a bit limited in the fish/vegetarian selection.

The staff worked really hard to keep everyone happy and were very friendly and helpful. We really didn't have to worry about anything, and had a great relaxing time.

A stay at Capella Lodge isn't cheap, but we're glad that we decided to come here, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haveboots_willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
214
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Chosen as a destination to celebrate a significant birthday for my wife, Capella Lodge and Lord Howe Island turned out to be a fantastic choice.
The island itself is a combination of south sea island, mountainous naturalist paradise, and friendly country town all rolled into one.
Capella was easily a 4 to 4.5 star destination in our eyes, yes it comes at a premium, but it was well worth it. Food and wine were excellent; service was very much of the “understated, nothing could be too much trouble” school. The room was superbly appointed (Best bath robes in my personal experience) any every one with window filling view of Mt Gower and Mt Lidgbird.
Capella is perfect for couples or families with mature kids. We even heard of some families where the Parents stayed at Capella and the kids were billeted at Pine-trees down the road.

The island itself has heaps to do for adults and kids, so don’t stay less than 3 days or make it a week and have every second day off.

Definitely a return is required.

Room Tip: There's only nine or ten rooms and the all face the mountain. So seems unlikely you'd get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for my husband's birthday. Lord Howe itself is a wonderful location and we just loved the resort. It is not in town but you have the use of pushbikes which makes it easy to get around the island. The service was very friendly and attentive and you were made to feel that any request would be actioned immediately, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great and even though I am vegetarian I had a choice every night. Lunch is not included but there is so much food at breakfast & dinner we never felt like any.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJohan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was our first trip to Lord Howe Island and we were blown away. Only 2 hours from Sydney by plane and no transfer time on arrival (tiny island) so perfect for a weekend away. Unspoilt, no cars etc (no mobile phones either!)

Capella Lodge is gorgeous. Amazing views. We were there in winter but weather was gorgeous so lots to do. I imagine if the weather was bad it would be quite limited. We hiked around the unspoilt island, had picnics, bbq's (all organised impeccably by Capella). Never saw one piece of rubbish or many other people. Idyllic.

Its pricey so we stayed in the standard suite which was good. Not much space but beautifully done and lovely view. Very private. But since staying seems we are in the Capella club and keep being offered good deals/upgrades on subsequent stays.

Communal areas gorgeous, stunning views from dining room etc. Food good, good choice as well for size of place. Breakfast and dinner in price.

Staff good and very helpful. Although head honchos not very evident.

Would definitely return - Lord Howe Island real treasure in today's trashed world and Capella makes it a very comfy stay. Not sure I would take kids but people do. It was just perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We had our 10th Wedding anniversary at capell Lodge and have been back a couple of weeks now. We are still raving about how wonderful the Capella Lodge wasas well as the whole Lord Howe experience was. From t he time we arrived, we were given the 5 star treatment. Nothing was too much effort. Every staff member was highly professional and friendly. The food was sublime and for the first time both my husband and myself said it was the best holiday we had ever had. I have recommended Capella to all of my clients since arriving back!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get the 2 for 1 deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RHONDA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed at Capella for 1 week. Great location, beautiful island and amazing views. Wonderful staff and service. Look forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikegonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona Vale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

If you are after great service, great food, great wine with stunning views of the Lord Howe landscape and your budget can afford the privilege then Capella does it all. Well done Capella.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen_tmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
2.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Lodge

Property: Capella Lodge
Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as the pinnacle of luxury on World Heritage-listed Lord Howe Island, Capella Lodge rests atop romantic Lovers Bay. An inspired architectural design welcomes spectacular views of the ocean, reef and mountains into the Lodge.A short flight from Australia’s east coast transports visitors to a real ‘treasure island’. Capella’s nine contemporary island-style suites are designed to complement Lord Howe’s pristine natural environment. Luxurious surrounds, exceptional island-inspired dining and unforgettable ‘first-name’ service combine to create an outstanding Lord Howe Island lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capella Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Resort All Inclusive
Capella Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing