We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven can wait!”
Review of Capella Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capella Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We just finished our eighth stay at Capella, so you know we are spoiled rotten! We stayed for 10 nights, and had a wealth of things to do....revisit favorite hikes and beaches, climb Mt Gower with Jack Shick for the fourth time, re-learn to ride a new state-or-the-art (women’s that is) bicycle. Being early spring we had mixed weather, but plenty of warm sunny days to bike, hike, barbeque or just lie around. And then one nice rainy day to stay in and read a book snuggled up in a cosy alpaca blanket.
There is a new chef, Peter Smit, who does amazing meals. The menus are inventive, never the same. Lots of local fish but also meatier options and vegetarian dishes. New is a "classics" menu so if you just want a steak and chips or simple grilled chicken breast with a salad, feeling the effects of the lunch barbeque, it's available. The all-inclusive wines are super, as always, with a lot of choice if you want to have, say, a pinot rather that a shiraz. As always, the entire staff was super efficient, friendly and helpful in every possible way.
As noted in many previous reviews, Capella is uniquely situated on the island with commanding views of the mountains and sweeping sunset views. For those who wish to stay in a dark palm forest there is another “luxury” lodge closer to the downtown area. But for us, the 10-15 minute bike ride to the post office or store is just another enjoyable aspect of staying at Capella.
We stayed in a Lidgbird suite, which is a two level suite, with the bedroom on the upper floor. We must admit, lying in the very comfortable bed while contemplating the southern mountains in all their variety: clouds, rain-obscured, sunny was wonderful. The in-room minibar/coffee set up is great. We had ours stocked with diet Bunderberg ginger beer.
Capella is probably the most personable and efficiently run accommodation we have had the pleasure to enjoy, thanks largely to managers Libby and Mark. Fortunately we departed before the final America’s Cup race as we imagine that Mark must have fallen into a deep depression over his fellow Kiwi’s fate. Presumably he will have overcome this by the time of our next visit, which we hope will be soon.

Room Tip: Great view from our room #2, but that can be said for every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kauaimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We've not long returned from a 4 night stay (Kentia Dreaming package) at Capella Lodge. Firstly, Lord Howe Island is truly spectacular. From the first glimpse as you fly in to your arrival and subsequent explorations....... The Lodge was lovely. We stayed in the Makambo Loft which was great. Very bright and sunny!!! Bedroom, dressing area and deck upstairs with the living area bathroom, deck and external bathtub down below. All connected by a funky fire engine red spiral staircase. The Makambo Loft is the very end suite (in a row of 9) so we were not bothered by anyone walking past in the night, etc..... It is a small lodge with a central dining/lounging area for service of meals, casual drinks, reading etc..... The food was spectacular and I honestly could not find fault with a single dish. Good service - not intrusive - but certainly attentive. We hired a golf buggy one day to explore the Island - I would recommend this as a really fun way to see the Island. We also utilised the buggy to get to our chosen BBQ area for our BBQ lunch that was included in our package. The combination of the natural beauty of LHI and the laid back luxe of the Lodge ensured a lovely holiday was had. Had the opportunity to enjoy some spa treatments - they were fabulous! Teneille (apologies if this is an incorrect spelling) was amazing! A few glitches that cropped up - but they were handled in an appropriate (and timely) manner...... Overall a great stay. My only gripe was that the Makambo Loft was meant to include a 'complimentary' in room bar. I was rather surprised upon arrival to find a price list for all items bar the non-alcoholic beverages (which are included in the tariff anyway).... This had been one of my reasons for choosing the loft. I guess there are some differences in opinion of what constitutes 'complimentary'..... In all fairness though - I do have to point out that I gave feedback regarding this matter and upon check out was not charged for any items that had been consumed. Very nice service recovery. I did suggest they may wish to alter their website to make this policy a little more clear as it could lead to further upset. Mark, Libby and all the other staff were lovely. A great Lodge on a picture perfect Island. Certainly worthy of its status as one of the Luxury Lodges of Australia......

Room Tip: If you don't want folk walking past your suite the whole time - go for a suite toward the end (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussienard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your exceptional review - we are so pleased Capella fulfilled, if not exceeded, your every expectation. The Makambo Loft is a gem, with its wraparound views and bold, marine, Mambo-inspired style. Sincere apologies regarding the mini bar inclusions; this was an unfortunate oversight on one page of our website; every other reference, including the reservation confirmation, reflects non-inclusion of this feature. Fabulous to hear the Capella team resolved the matter with aplomb; we wouldn't expect any less. Life is blissfully relaxed on Lord Howe and our team will always go the extra mile to ensure your experience is memorable, for all the right reasons. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Capella. The first thing that struck us was the view of Mt Gower, amazing. The food was fabulous, well presented and good serving sizes. You know your are somewhere special when the staff know you by name after the first day. Mark & Libby were great hosts with a wealth of information on Lord Howe. Only did 2 walks - Goats House, Malabar Hill & Kims Lookout. We had a picnic lunch at Ned's Beach, very relaxing. I would though make sure you have plenty of time between flights if you are connecting in Sydney, the weather can be a little unpredictable.

Room Tip: If you can, get a "Lagoon Loft" nice views of the water & mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank liesarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Wonderful 3 night stay, we loved everything about Capella. Mark & Libby were outstanding & the perfect hosts. Enjoying canapés & cocktails around the fire with fellow guests was a most enjoyable thing to do, after an exhilarating day hiking, kayaking and chilling on the beach. The staff were extremely efficient & friendly. Special mention to stand out Kiera. The food was sensational, full compliments to the chef and his team. Loved our stay and would highly recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Triciaa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Ridiculously beautiful views from every window. Amazing service from pick up at airport to drop off three days later. All staff were genuinely down-to-earth with friendly yet still really professional attitudes. Meals were delicious and rooms were comfortable and cozy. Bikes, snorkel gear, backpacks and beach towels were all available to make our stay easier. Mark even came looking for us after a downpour to see if we needed a lift back. Couldn't wish for a nicer break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aussieshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Amazing location, excellent staff and service, great rooms. Food selection could have been better considering the price of the room. Needs some more buggies for the guests however there are bikes hire free of charge. Special thanks to Libby and Mark who were great hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MisFlashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our first visit to Capella was 18 years ago. This time it was different - even more amazing! The island hasn't changed much (that's a good thing!) but the lodge was just beautiful, having been upgraded significantly in recent years. Food is excellent, generous, delightfully fresh and cooked to perfection. The views from the public spaces are beyond comparison yet don't detract from the relaxed business of enjoying the food and wine. The all-inclusive approach of Capella works well and the place is managed by Mark and Libby with much style and a light touch. They are very well supported by well trained and experienced staff who work hard to maintain a very high level of personal service.

We chose the Catalina style of room for our accommodation and we were therefore happy not to negotiate stairs in the middle of the night, but poor lighting and two extra "daybeds" in the living room made it less enjoyable. We understand there are plans during next winter to upgrade this room specifically to resolve these issues. These are not killer problems but, without resolution, we would opt for another room style on our next visit. A minor glitch in a super visit. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views and the Lodge's team ensures they are spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Airedale-Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Lodge

Address: Lagoon Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: £770 - £1,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as the pinnacle of luxury on World Heritage-listed Lord Howe Island, Capella Lodge rests atop romantic Lovers Bay. An inspired architectural design welcomes spectacular views of the ocean, reef and mountains into the Lodge.A short flight from Australia’s east coast transports visitors to a real ‘treasure island’. Capella’s nine contemporary island-style suites are designed to complement Lord Howe’s pristine natural environment. Luxurious surrounds, exceptional island-inspired dining and unforgettable ‘first-name’ service combine to create an outstanding Lord Howe Island lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capella Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Resort All Inclusive
Capella Hotel Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing