We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”
Review of Earl's Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Earl's Anchorage
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just spent a long weekend at Earl's Anchorage. The room ("Kathleen") was excellent - well equipped, large, and comfortable. The whole place extremely clean and well cared for. We went to the associated Anchorage restaurant "down town" the first night and it was so good we went back for the next two nights. Difficult to fault - and we are hard markers.
The accommodation is at the top of the hill which might but some off but we were happy for the walking exercise. Anyway the Lord Howe restaurants will all pick you up and drop you off as part of the service if you choose.
Our only negative is that internet access is by cable and slow. Certainly no big deal but don't expect a high speed VPN connection.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Earls Anchorage has a great location, and very private, you can walk through Stephens Reserve, a wonderful temperate forest to the main beach. In the other direction is Ned's beach and close to the walking tracks to Transit Hill and Malabar. Units are very nice, cleaned and aired each day so it has the feeling of new each time you return from the outdoors. At night you can hear the sea, which is always a lovely extra for a holiday. We rented the two bedroom unit with great mates and there is plenty of room for two couples to spread, cameras, cards, scrabble in inclement weather. The Anchorage resturant, down the hill from the units, was also very good and we enjoyed lunch there every day and some evenings. A wonderful week.

Room Tip: we stayed in No 6 Euca, at the bottom next to the reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anguscows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had 4 nights on lord Howe and the accommodation at earls was by far the best self contained accommodation we saw. The bungalows are cleaned every day and they are spacious and private,giving you plenty of space to stretch out and relax. The location is great , in the middle of the island far enough away from everything to be secluded but close enough so you're not spending heaps of time traveling from one placeto another.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MegSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had 7 days on LHI staying at Earls Anchorage in August 2011. The unit was fantastic. Large, airy, clean, very well equipped and set in lovely gardens – see the photos. We stayed in Kathleen. Support and service from Kathy was outstanding.

The package included breakfast at Humpty Micks (also run by the same people) so it was a great bike ride down the hill for a lazy start to the morning.

Evening meals are no problem. Humpty Micks can do something prepared (including fish of the day!) that you pick up during the day and cook that evening, buy something at the shop or go to one of the in-house restaurants around the island (there are a couple in easy walking distance from Earls Anchorage (but take your torch).

All in all a fantastic relaxing week away.

Room Tip: All units will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank habdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I know it sounds like a sailor's retreat or dive hotel, but Earl's is a superior set of modern bungalows set in a leafy and private garden environment. I was in Tarpon which is a spacious, spotless 1 bedroom and living room layout with kitchen and dining area. It was perfect down to the long hot tub, fast internet (for LHI!) and satellite TV--more so because my two days there out of ten on the island as a travel writer were soaking outside but soothing indoors.

The bed is enormous and perfectly firm to my liking and body type with the joy of lots of pillows. It was peaceful, quiet and comforting the whole time and though there were others in the place, I didn't see them due to the layout of the property. There is a 'transit lounge' for those who have early or late flights and the cleanliness of everything is immaculate due to their devoted and diligent cleaner.

It is the only air-conditioned property on the island and has the added benefit of in-room phones as well as an Ethernet link to the net rather than dicey wireless. The only downside was having to leave. Couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I had been wanting to visit Lord Howe Island for years and finally the opportunity arose. We stayed there from 22nd-29th January 2012. I initially did the web search and wanted to stay somewhere that included breakfast and dinner, but also provided self catering facilities, with above average accommodation, and close to all the attractions. Earls anchorage was all this and more. From the moment I arrived with my two teenage children I was completely besotted with the beauty of the island. This was equalled by the hospitality and friendly service provided by John Green, and his daughter Alanna, who was having a break from University at the time. Alanna picked us up from the airport and also worked in the restaurant with many other friendly young staff.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom self contained Villa which was more than big enough for the three of us with a lovely self-catering kitchen, TV, and internet access. This was serviced daily. We had fortunately included breakfasts and dinner in our package at the restaurant "The Anchorage" (just changed names from Humpty Mick's), and the chef David is fantastic. The meals were incredibly good and would be on par or better with some of the best restaurants in Sydney. Most of the locals eat there and the coffee and home-baked bread and cakes are the best on the island. John is a baker and butcher among many other talents and the bread is superb, whilst his wife Kath bakes the cakes which are fantastic.
Earls Anchorage also provides snorkelling equipment, and bikes were pre-arranged.
Whilst staying there we checked out the competition- Capella Lodge, which is way too far away from the main area and the must-do snorkelling at Neds beach (and looked like a fish bowl full of stunned well-dressed tourists), and Arajilla (nice for a massage but small rooms from the outside, and quite expensive).
We could not have had a better time and we will be hopefully going back next year.
Our favourite activities were snorkelling at Neds, diving (for the first time) which can be booked when you get there, kayaking out to Blackburn Island, eating at The Anchorage, listening to live music at The Anchorage (Gemma Glendenning was fantastic), walking up to Malabar Ridge, cycling everywhere, getting a glass bottom boat trip to North Bay, visiting the Museum (incredibly interesting history and ecology of the island), and (for me) visiting the cemetery (fascinating lesson in history!), watching the mutton birds return to their nests at sundown, swimming with turtles.........the list goes on.

Room Tip: If you want a spa bath book Villa 3, the Tarpon. Include a meal package if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank doc_Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We just returned from a week’s stay at Earls for our first wedding anniversary/babymoon, and had a fantastic time. The apartments are very spacious, bigger than most 1 bedroom flats in Sydney, with a huge open plan living, dining, kitchen area, separate bathroom with washing machine (most have shower, only Tarpon has a bath I think), and a huge bedroom with queen bed (there is plenty of space for a cot(s) if needed). The apartments are very light, there are 2 sets of sliding doors from patio into the living room and there are windows everywhere. Although the bedroom and hall way have blinds over the windows, there are no blinds or curtains on the windows/doors in the living room. The apartments are all free standing, well spaced out, and roughly in a long line of 6, there is a wooden path running along the front of each villa to get to and from the road. The path is a reasonable distance from the living room of each apartment, but if its dark people can see you in the living rooms, but really people were only passing going to/from dinner so the lack of blinds was fine, just took a bit of getting used to.

The living rooms are really well equipped with books, DVD player, Austar TV (though no channel 7, 9 or 10), so if the weather is not great you can certainly keep yourselves entertained. Also the transit room has copies of scrabble, monopoly, pictionary etc if really struggling for entertainment on a rainy day. We took some DVDs with us but never watched them as the weather was extremely kind to us. The kitchen is also well equipped, full size fridge, gas burner hob and microwave. We actually never cooked a meal, as we got a breakfast and dinner package with the accommodation, which made it really good value, but the option is there. If dining at Humpty Micks, it's in the 'CBD' about 15 minutes walk (max) from Earls, at night they come and pick you up and bring you home.

All in all, a lovely place to stay on a fabulous island.

Room Tip: Rooms are very similar, the earls website has floor plans if you want to specify a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank womanintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl's Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Anchorage

Property: Earl's Anchorage
Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Earl's Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Earl's Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing