We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, overall very good....but....”
Review of Earl's Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Earl's Anchorage
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I generally agree with the positive reviews already posted. But there are a few items to be aware of:

1) When it says "Internet", it only means wired Ethernet access available. So your smartphone and tablets will not work as there is no wireless. They will provide ethernet cable, but if, like me, you have a MacAir then you need a Firewire-Ethernet dongle. Only other option on the island is to go to the museum cafe (limited opening hours) and pay $.

2) Has heating, but double glass patio doors don't have curtains and the floors are wooden, so in colder months it is not so cosy - make sure you take some slippers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Earls is a fantastic option for LHI. The standard is excellent and the facilities are great in each apartment. It's in a great location about 15 mins walk to town and also the closest beach.
The apartments are spotlessly clean and all the staff are incredibly helpful.
All rooms are very private
You wont regret it

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Without doubt, Earls Anchorage is the best self-catering accommodation on Lord Howe Island: Howeana is also high quality but being down the hill on the flat, is not as private or light and airy as EA. (Capella and Arajilla are excellent but they are not self-catering). Private, spacious, stand-alone vllia-apartments, light and airy (Maris and Tarpon), well-appointed. We stayed at both Maris and Tarpon: Maris was lighter and the layout more spacious, but Tarpon has a bath in which to soak one's weary limbs after walking and cycling around the island!

Chiller bags, backpacks, torches are all thoughtfully provided, as are a generous selection of books for holiday reading. Hint: take the backpack with you when you shop for supplies!

Earls Anchorage is quite a way up the hill from "town", but not only did we get super fit from all the cycling/walking up the hill, we found that it was very peaceful - no unnecessary traffic and people passing by, as happens further down.

No on-site restaurant, but Earls Anchorage is linked to The Anchorage (cafe) down the hill on the main street where all meals can be charged back to the room. The freshly baked muffins and rolls in the morning are a must-eat! And if you're too full after your meal to cycle/walk home, there is a shuttle which will happily take you back.

A wonderful stay for eleven days - could have easily stayed longer. We will definitely return to Earls Anchorage!

Room Tip: Ask for Tarpon if you want a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AmandaSydney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great spot on the Island... couldn't find fault with anything can't wait to go back. Being yachties all the timber & joinery was appreciated. We had breakfast and dinner package which was great and staff were helpful putting together a breakfast pack when we couldn't make breakfast due to early morning starts.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiaki64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013


We recently enjoyed our second stay at Earl's Anchorage, and enjoyed it even more (we loved it the first time)!

All the apartments are terrific, no single one stands out: the two bedrooms are big and spacious with two big bathrooms, the one bedrooms very roomy, all the lounges and kitchens are big, bright and filled with everything you need.

A spare bungalow called the transit lounge for communal use is filled with games, books and spare kitchen utensils, as well as snorkeling gear for you to borrow. If I could suggest anything to improve the experience (and I've had to struggle to come up with it) I would recommend a small selection of DVDs for guests to borrow for their bungalow DVD players. But each bungalow has Austar, with movie channels, so it's hard to know whether you would actually use the DVDs.

The grounds are beautiful and there is a wonderful although little used track shaded by Kentia Palms from the bottom of the property down to the main road. It's a fair cycle up a hill to get there, but well placed for a cyclone, as it turns out.

John and Kathy are wonderful hosts. Lesley and her team make you feel like you belong.

It's pricey, but most things on Lord Howe are.

What you really want to know is, how does it compare with other places?

So this time, we went exploring... First, the top shelf: The fancy places, Arajilla and Capella are lovely, but don't really get into the community spirit of Lord Howe Island. Both can be visited for their day spas and, in the case of Arajilla, for meals or afternoon tea. Capella is beautiful. From the plungepool over the valley, to the cushion cover colours in dining area, it's a delight for the eyes. But it's 'half board', meaning dinner and breakfast is included. And it looks like a lot of food/wine. Missing dinners in different restaurants around the island is like missing the island's spirit. Howeanna is another high end option: self-contained apartment option, like Earl's. And it's lovely, small, and well placed.

The next shelf down would probably include Leanda Lei, Lorhiti, Ocean View, Somerset, Milky Way, Blue Lagoon. Simple, adequate, lovely grounds and good hosts. Rooms look small (compared to a 3 room self contained unit) and a little tired, but definitely adequate. Leanda Lei seems to be popular with the octogenarian set.

Eating

I can't face writing separate reviews for the restaurants we've tried: Anchorage, Greenback, Museum Cafe, Golf Club, Bowls Club, Beachcomber and Pandanus, so highlights are noted below. We went to Arajilla for dinner last time, lovely setting and high quality food, just seemed outside the mojo of the rest of the island. We missed Pinetrees thanks to the cyclone, but it's meant to be good.

Note, all restaurants drive you home and many are BYO! If you forgot to bring good wines with you on the plane, there's always the LHI Board's liquor shop which has a great selection. But best to pack a trusty small torch in case you want to walk around at night after dinner - there are no street lights on LHI.

All restaurants are expensive (Sydney prices), although some more than others. Suck it up - that food has generally travelled a long way to get to you. Cheaper options are marked.

Anchorage

Formerly Humpty Micks (and often still referred to as such by the locals) doubles as the town meeting place and definitely the best place for coffee, milkshakes and freshly baked muffins. Lunches and the occasional low key dinner are also a treat there. We were in Lord Howe for the Rockfest in 2013 (a music festival over a week in March) and the Anchorage went off with Lord Howe Idol, the street party and band performances most nights. It was really fun. Service can be a bit patchy. They look after you well if you are staying at Earl's. Highly recommended.

Greenback Eatery

Last time we were here it was curry night in the hosts' front lounge which was good fun. But now it's a higher brow affair with kingfish sashimi and quinoa salads, with tables set up on a big elegant front balcony. Small wine list, it's also BYO. It's 'healthy night' on Tuesday nights, and more 'fresh and fried' later in the week. I did get an upset tummy from 'healthy night', but I am sure that was me (and husband was fine) - the quality of the food was great.

Museum cafe

An often overlooked gem: great toasted sandwiches, delicious wraps, scrumptious milkshakes, good cakes, and sometimes reliable wifi (a new invention, and possibly a sad one since we were last there). Run by the folks who run Pandanus's restaurant. Very dependable, you won't regret it. Lunch only. Cheaper-ish.

Golf Club

Pizzas on Sunday and a cracker BBQ (steak, kingfish or schnitzel!) on Wednesday and Fridays. A really fabulous night that will probably see you sharing a table with a bunch of locals, and hearing the tales of the island. Drinks start at 4:30. May be worth getting there by 5:30 to grab a seat and watch the sun set. Don't worry about booking, doesn't really count for much unless you are a big group. Fun night.

Bowls Club

Pie night at the bowls club ($18), don't miss it! A delightful unpretentious feast of chunky beef, beef and mushroom or some chicken thing pie, with peas and mash swimming in gravy. Book! I booked from the mainland before we flew! Must never be missed!

Beachcomber

We couldn't resist burger night on Saturday night ($15). Simple no frills, solid Aussie burger, deprived of egg thanks to lazy chooks. Lovely staff. Yum.

Pandanus

Simple and elegant dining room up Anderson Road, well prepared meals and friendly staff. Always very popular which makes it feel fun, and reasonably well frequented by the locals (good sign in terms of price:quality). Asian meals on the weekend, and modern Australian during the week.

Eating at home

There are four provisions stores - Top Shop is best for meat and fresh foods, Joys Shop is best for groceries, Thompson's for bits and pieces, treats and soft drinks. The Co-op is delicious and gets home-grown and home-made treats in every day. It's all much more expensive than home (so try to bring in any favourites in your 14kg flight quota).

Doing

Diving is a treat with the unique mixture of tropical and cold water fishes. Howea and Pro Dive go out daily in season. We've tried both and liked Howea better, but customers of both seem very happy. Ball's Pyramid requires particularly calm conditions, apparently they only get there 10 times a year.

Next best thing is snorkeling and I recommend Ned's beach, Symph's hole at Old Settlement Beach and Middle Beach in calm conditions. It is worth doing the snorkeling tours as that is how you access the best spots in the lagoon. The North Bay wreck is particularly stunning. We went on the Islander Cruises boats with Pete and enjoyed his wife's famous chocolate cake - some of the best snorkeling I've ever done.

Walks are worth the effort, although I'd admit we have not attempted Mount Gower. Bring decent walking shoes / hiking boots, you'll be grateful for them, especially if there is any rain. Gower is an 8 hour investment and everyone says its knackering.

Then there's sleep. Lots of it. Once you have detoxed from all the toys (yeah sure, ok I am doing this on my gloriously disconnected iPad) you will sleep better than you have in years.

Again, if you are there for Rockfest, there's fun music-related stuff to do every night. A hoot of a time for all!

Going home

After 2 perfect weeks on LHI at different times we finally got to see the famous turn in the weather, courtesy of a cyclone. But we understand it can get pretty hairy pretty fast, and people are regularly locked in, or locked out with the airport closed for days. I recommend getting locked in. There's no trouble extending your stay (after all if you can't get out, new people can't get in) but it may add unexpected costs to your trip. Its also the only time you see Islanders get stressed. Bad weather means no provisions planes or freighter, and stressed tourists needing to get off the island to get back to reality. Take a poncho.

Mostly, enjoy! It is a remarkable place with lovely people. Let's hope it long remains that way!



Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
30  Thank TravelChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Steve & I stayed at Earls Anchorage on Lord Howe Island in September last year. After reading these great reviews I can only say "ditto". It reminded me once again of a special place, an easy going, relaxing week with great food, friendly staff & excellent accommodation. Thankyou so much for living up to our high expectations. Love Alana

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We loved the spaciousness, privacy of a stand alone unit (as are all the units), modernity and cleanliness. As other reviewers have stated: handy bits and pieces provided such as tea and plunger coffee and toiletries. Reverse cycle heating/air con welcome on the cooler evenings and no doubt would be invaluable for the summer months.
Earls is located on the ridgeline at 30m above sea level and is therefore central to Neds Beach, Middle Beach and The Settlement and Lagoon.
We felt we had great value with a package deal which included accommodation and brekky and dinner at The Anchorage. Food and service excellent. Kingfish sashimi and ceviche sooo good. Dinner menu changed each day which is a credit to the chef and kitchen staff. Also, the bakery has the best muffins in the world (fruitiest, flavoursome and choc chippiest ever)!!
Staff at the restaurant are happy, helpful and attentive. We were also able to arrange drop off and pick up at a couple of trailheads: we did not want to have the extra walk and we are not keen cyclists. A big thank you to those obliging staff members as they perhaps went over and above their call of duty (that said, any meal or transport request was always happily undertaken).
An excellent stay. Lots to see and do (or not do if you choose to laze the day away).

Room Tip: "Tarpon" has a bath and "Kathleen" faces away from the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cmsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl's Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Anchorage

Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: £172 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earl's Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earl’s Anchorage on World Heritage Listed Lord Howe Island boasts a tranquil, private and central location with convenient and easy access to the main beaches and walks on both sides of spectacular Lord Howe Island. Earls Anchorage is surrounded by the endemic Lord Howe Island Kentia Palms, each bungalow on the six acre property offers absolute privacy to ensure your stay is completely undisturbed. The self-contained bungalow’s are each named after one of Jack Earl’s famous Australian yachts and have been uniquely designed by Arcoessence Architects to take advantage of the sunny (northern) aspect of the property. All six bungalow’s link via boardwalk surrounded by the sub-tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Earl's Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing