We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, pricey.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Good:
Comfortable Beds.
Clean Bathroom.
All utensils supplied.
Put towels out before 930am for new towels.
Airport Transfers there and back.

The Not so good
Reception: We couldn't get hold of anyone, very frustrating. Once you arrive get everything you need from reception.. There is a white board to write your requests on.
Phone: No phone in room we didn't realise there was one in lounge (Coins required). The payphone near Joys shop uses a phone card which you must pay for in cash.
We had the terrace room which meant the table and chairs area was in the shade with mosquito's and we couldn't dry anything as we were not allowed to dry things on the railings at the front. So we recommend getting the apartments on the lawn.
Bikes: $10 each per day. The brakes are really bad and I assume because of the sea air the chains rust. They need to look after the bikes. If reception is not there just take the bike and helmet. There is no locks. People don't keep to their allocated bikes because other rooms may have better bikes, We had a better bike but it was gone the next day and I was stuck with a death trap.
Room Cleaning: once a week. Not everyday and for the price we paid we at least expected to have beds made and the bins taken out.

Room Tip: Go for the lawn rooms, so you can sit outside and dry your things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dreamer101Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    27
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wauchope
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Back to reality after a wonderful holiday at Lord Howe. Stayed at Leanda Lei in a 2 bedroom apartment which we found more than adequate to meet our needs.Centrally located and easy walking distance to all points of interest.Jenny,Peter and Amy made us feel very welcome and were helpful and informative.The grounds are a tropical paradise,beautifully maintained and well appointed with handy bbq's,laundry and the best view of Mt Gower from our verandah!I would thoroughly recommend a stay at beautiful Leanda Lei and hope to return some day!

Room Tip: Room 16 (2 bed apartment) had a beautiful view from the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Thanks to Peter and Judy(and the girls), you made our first stay at Lord "Wow" Island just fantastic. We stayed in a suite for a week and one day in a two-bedroom apartment (our departing plane was delayed by a day) and both were very clean and comfortable. Joy's Shop across the road was very handy and it's only a little stroll down the road to get to the museum, cafe and Lagoon Road. Although Peter and the crew are happy to drive you to dinner at any of the island's restaurants, we opted for our own car which gave us a lot of travel freedom. We are too old and unfit (and lazy)for bicyles, there are many flat roads and down-hill roads and therefore some UPHILL roads.

Room Tip: The upper suites are nice and quiet, and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great location close to Joy's General Store, lagoon beach and museum. We ate at a different restaurant every night and as long as you book in the hosts (Amy and Judy) will drive you there and the restaurant will drive you home. i recommend this as we lost our way walking home from Greenbacks (and also heard of another doing likewise). It is so dark at night but of course, the sky is amazing, the milky way etc.
We hired bikes from LL and rode everywhere (try avoiding the steeper parts if you're not used to cycling).
Loved every minute (except maybe cycling up the steep hill).
Will be back

Room Tip: Furthest from the road maybe quieter for light sleepers, not that it is a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuttifruttimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here with my Mum and son (aged 8). We were collected from the airport on arrival and transferred back on our departure. The room we stayed in was a 2 bedroom apartment, clean and comfortable and allowed us to have our own space. We ate out every second night and made our own little dinner in the apartment on the off nights. We also made use of the BBQ provided by making pancakes for breakie and other delights. You can hire adult bikes from Leanda Lei directly which is super convenient, although we had to go to Wilson's for my son as he needed a smaller bike. It's wonderful having Joy's shop just across the road (the cheaper of the grocery shops with a larger range) Great convenient location, with friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Peter and Judy. We would definately stay here on our next visit to magnificent LHI.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 and could ride our bikes literally to the back door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeandaLei, General Manager at Leanda-Lei Apartments, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again some time!
Best wishes from us all at Leanda Lei
Judy Riddle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Third year at Lord Howe Island, first time at Leanda Lei.

Good choice as:

1. Good location - across the road from the main grocery store and just up the hill from the museum, lagoon and main road. Ned's beach is just up the road and then down and along the ridge. Really in the middle of everything.

2. Can eat in or eat out. We stayed at Pinetrees the first two times, which was wonderful but they provide all meals, which is great if you have a young family or are a bit older and want it all laid on at the same time each night. At Leanda-Lei you can use their BBQs or cook on your stove-top or go our to dinner - which we preferred, having teenage children and the need for NEW stuff.

3. Nice rooms, all clean etc. Would be good for groups - you all have your own rooms but can gather for group barbies etc.

4. Nice managers & staff. Not around much but if you ask they respond well.

Issues

1. Internet sucks big time and cost $70 for 7 days / 750MB or $10 for 4 hours, from the time you log in. The cost was not the issue, as a satellite service, with shared broadband, performance was abysmal during peak hours and barely adequate outside of them. Forget about Youtube or Skype. Still, this is an island-wide problem so deal with it or don't come.

2. No phone to make local calls to book restaurants etc. You have to use a payphone, which never took my 50c coin the five or so times I tried it. Luckily the Telstra payphone over the road worked and so did my Telstra Telecard account so no coins needed.

3. The 6.30pm pickup for restaurants is nice but all lodges do it so everyone arrives at once and if you arrive after a big group you can wait a long time for service. We ended up riding our bikes to the same restaurant at 6pm on the second night and had much better service for it. Riding home in the dark was interesting though. Would be nice it they offered 6pm and also 6.30pm lifts to restaurants. We did ask for a special 5pm to the Golf Club for Sunday Sunset drinks and Pizza (really cool - meet the locals) and they obliged so I guess you can only ask, nicely!

Otherwise all great, would definitely book here again, but would get a two bedroom with the lawn below and away from the road.

Would be nice if they put a pool table or foos ball table or ping pong table back into the second common room.

Peter & Judy & Amy who run the place are very nice people. A bit quiet & stoic but helpful & solid gold underneath if you ask & look for it.

Room Tip: Look at the map and avoid a room on the road side, although we had such a room and not too bad, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SydneySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeandaLei, Owner at Leanda-Lei Apartments, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Unfortunately the internet is a problem for us all!

We look forward to having you stay with again some time.
Judy Riddle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in March. Leanda Lei has 19 apartments of different sizes & is approved for up to 40 guests.
We had booked a 1bedroom apartment through Oxley Travel of Port Macquarie (along with flights), but got allocated a 2 BR apartment, #11. There had been a flight cancelled the day prior to us arriving and many of those passengers were still waiting to get back to the mainland so we think they were still in the apartment we had been scheduled to occupy. Whatever the reason, it gave us some additional space to store the cases.
Leanda Lei is probably 700 metres from the post office and less than 200 metres from the museum. Joy's shop, one of the 3 general stores on the island (and the biggest of the 3) is right across the road. Leanda Lei doesn't pretend to be anything but comfortable mid-range self-catering beach accommodation. Low set among well maintained gardens, the apartments seem to have been refurbished sometime in the past few years and are in pretty good condition.
The apartment was basic but comfortable. The main bedroom was a reasonable size with a queen size bed & built in wardrobe & two bedside tables. The bed was firm and extra pillows were provided. The kitchen had a gas cooktop (all stove on the island are gas, I was told), fridge/freezer and microwave as well as toaster and electric jug. Plenty of benchtop space. Cooking utensils are adequate if a bit basic. There is a 32" LCD/DVD TV, a dining table & 4 chairs and a cane frame lounge suite of 2 single & a double seat lounge in the good sized kitchen/lounge/dining area. A good sized covered deck at the back of the apartment has a wooden table and bench seats. 2nd bedroom (not used by us except for storage) has 3 single beds, built in robe & 2 drawer units.
The odd mosquito gets in, but insect spray is supplied.
The bathroom was the only downside to the apartment. It is compact (no bath and a tight fit to get the toilet in) with a shower curtain in the shower recess. The drain was due for some cleaner, but not too bad.
Administration is very casual and low profile - we were met at the airport by a young woman with the Leanda Lei mini-bus and she pointed to our room when she dropped us off. The next time we saw someone from Leada Lei was on our 3rd attempt at visiting the office to ask some question. When you can find them, the staff/owners are very helpful. They do a free shuttle run to restaurants at 6.30 each night - just write your name & destination on a whiteboard outside the office. (Getting back is your own problem, but some restaurants seem to do that if you ask). There is a large recreation area (2 large rooms) where you can get WiFi access (at dial-up speeds, for about $10 for 4 hours, less for more time). There is also a 50c payphone there. We hardly ever saw anyone else in there. There are also several BBQ areas . Guest laundry with coin operated machines (3X$1 for washing machine, 4X$1 for dryer). Bikes available for hire.
On the night before departure, we were left a note detailing check-out arrangements, advised to hang on to our towels if we wished to shower before departure & after checking out (a shower & toilet available in the recreation room), and given a time for our lift out to the airport.
All in all, a good honest 3.5 star place with good, low key service. We loved Lord Howe Island, loved Leanda Lei and will probably be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leanda-Lei Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leanda-Lei Apartments

Property: Leanda-Lei Apartments
Address: Middle Beach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leanda-Lei Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Studio, One and Two Bedroom Apartments ideally located on Middle Beach Road, 300m to Lagoon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Leanda-Lei Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing