We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room stay”
Review of Mandarin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Macksville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had excellent service from the friendly staff at Mandarin Motel. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this to all families. We had very comfortable beds for everyone in the family, central location, yet not on the main street. Within walking distance of Graffity Cafe with great food. A variety of meal options in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Relief Manager at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our motel. We do try to make everyone who stays here feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a studio room which was extremely spacious, and included a separate bedroom. A balcony opened on to the street, noticed some other rooms had small balconies which opened onto car park. No traffic noise from highway, very peaceful second night, Good Friday night had a few noisy locals about but not terribly late. This was the most comfortable and clean motel we have ever stayed in. A defrosted frig caused us to spill quite a bit of water on to the floor when we slid out a tray, but one call to reception and the problem was instantly remedied. Great service! Definitely we'd stay again. Did not have breakfast there so can't comment on that. Good kitchen facilities in room, including electric frypan.

Room Tip: It seemed all rooms, apart from accessible ones, were upstairs, so be prepared for that. Most rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvieG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Relief Manager at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. I am sorry about the fridge being defrosted, but it was funny don't you think? Thank you again for being such lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Another pleasant stay at the Mandarin on our way to Sunshine Coast. Once again we found our room to be clean and quiet. We were warmly welcomed even though we arrived at dinner time will definitely stay again .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Relief Management at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so very much for that lovely review. I'm sorry it took some time to reply, we really do appreciate our guests taking the time to tell us how their stay was. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A hidden gem, set back a block from the highway, avoiding the noisy night traffic. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. It was good to find a place to rest after a long days work. Only negative is that breakfast is in a communal dining room, not via room service, when on business and time is the essence this can slow down your morning. Will be back though, when next doing a North Coast run.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famlyof5hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Ongoing relief manager at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review familyof5hols. I'm sorry that you felt coming to the breakfast room would slow you down. We are flexible with our opening times, I apologise if we didn't make you aware of our policy. We look forward to seeing you next time you are traveling this part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Clean, comfortable, welcoming, quiet. Everything you want for a good nights stay is here at the Mandarin. Driving between Brisbane and Sydney (and back) it is the place of choice. I could not recommend the Mandarin to highly.

Room Tip: I have stayed here on several occasions and everywhere I have stayed (singly or with family) have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanLHarris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Relief Management at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel, even though you have been here many times. We always look forward to seeing you. If you have any suggestions as to how we can improve our service please let us know next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great stop half way between Sydney and Brisbane in a very quiet street. This motel was VERY clean. We stayed in the 2 bedroom family suite and it was spacious and beds were very comfortable. Would stay again no worries.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_family_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Relief Management at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed overnight in 2 rooms on our way down to the Hunter Valley. Location is excellent and within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Easy to find. No road noise. Airconditioned. Nice sized rooms and very comfy beds. Had free wifi but unfortunately it was very intermittent and the door to the room had to be opened at times for the signal to work. But all in all, a nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, might be a good idea to ask for a room where the signal is stronger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack81066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin2447, Owner at Mandarin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Staff and management look forward to your stay in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macksville
7.8 mi away
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mid Coast Motor Inn
Mid Coast Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Macksville
26 reviews
6.7 mi away
Motel Miramar
Motel Miramar
#1 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Destiny Motor Inn
Destiny Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
111 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
#1 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
667 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nambucca Motel
The Nambucca Motel
#4 of 5 in Nambucca Heads
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Motel

Address: 24 Princess St, Macksville, New South Wales 2447, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Macksville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Macksville
Price Range: £81 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandarin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing