We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huddleson Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jennerstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huddleson Court
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Hubby & I stayed in Beaverdam Creek Cabin and found it just delightful. It's artistically rustic, clean, well equipped. Just enough space, not excessive. I half expected the 3 bears to drop by & reclaim it. Lovely views from each window -- a pond complete with swans, a small waterfall, trees. We're big city dwellers so we really appreciated the away-from-it-all ambience. So much nicer and more welcoming than any chain motel could be. We needed the heating system to take the chill out of the air, and it worked just fine. I didn't see any air conditioning so I'd recommend a visit during cooler months if you need AC. Bed & bedding were very comfortable. We look forward to returning to this snug & charming cabin.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trumpetvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

I agree that this old building was an unusual place to stay, however, I will not be going back. We stayed in Huddleson court "Hideaway". And yes the furnishings were all new, same with the kitchen, well stocked, new appliances all stainless and a HGTV flat screen in the living room. Exposed wood and beams, quite charming in a cave like way. Very clean and new. The property was unique and quite fun to explore. And we enjoyed a glass of wine in the court yard and enjoyed the grounds with a walk around the lake and playhouse. Also the flight 93 911 memorial is near by and worth a trip to see it.

HOWEVER...check in is at 4:00, very late for my taste. Huddleson court is an old building that almost looks like it is falling appart. As we pulled-up and walked to find our room, we could see into other private appartments in the same building. These rooms were not re-done and made the place look a little unkept on the outside. Also, our room was VERY hot, no AC and only one verry small side window in the bedroom that opened no other windows in Hideaway open, making it very uncomfortable to sit and watch TV in the living room or any room in the appartment. Also, there were no deadbolts, just the lock in the door handle. I did not sleep all night. We could hear the race track too, but not when we were inside our room. There were also ant traps all over the living room and daddy long leg spiders all over the room.

In the end, it looks like they have spent a significant amount of money trying to make this an upscale unique place to stay, but need to spend another lump sum to complete the job (and complete it right) . We had a great time and it was quite a unique stay, just be warned that they need to do a significant amount of work (and re-work) and it's a very old building, with no AC and lots of quirks. We only stayed the one night as we were heading to Fallingwater in the morning (the purpose of out trip). There is NOTHING to do in the area, so if you stay there eat there and enjoy a play too. Next time we will spring for Nemocolin Woodlands...

  • Liked — Unique, nice grounds
  • Disliked — No AC and no opperating windows, not completely remodeled
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

I agree with the other two reviewers that this place is a hidden gem. The space was gorgeous, spotless and included a well-stocked kitchen and even a nice TV with cable. The design is old farmhouse meets modern world. The play we saw was wonderful and the dinner at Green Gables restaurant was very good. We enjoyed our little breakfast basket in the morning and found the staff to be mostly very helpful.

If you want a place that is off the beaten-path, this is for you! The only downside is that there is a racetrack nearby, and it can be very loud. We heard it during the play at the Mountain Playhouse! The noise was even audible while there was a wedding going on - not too great! Otherwise, during the rest of our stay it was an extremely quiet and relaxing getaway.

  • Liked — The rooms, playhouse, lake
  • Disliked — The racetrack noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

I visited huddleson court on a beautiful fall weekend. We were a bit skeptical when we pulled up to our cabin but as soon as we walked inside we were blown away. Everything was clean and beautiful. Modern furniture and exquisitly decorated. I didnt want to leave! We stayed in hide away. It was cozy yet modern and just all around great. Everything was provided- glasses pots pans, towels. It was great to be able to cook one nights and eat at green gables the next. Green Gable food was amazing! pork tenderloin was the best I've ever eaten. Everyone was so nice and accomodating. It was an all around great experience and I am sure to go back.

  • Liked — Great food and a wonderful relaxing and beautiful atmosphere
  • Disliked — Local attractions- not much to do in the area
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dawnm3513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

I found The Huddleson Court while trawling the web for a romantic one-night after vising Fallingwater before we drove back home. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. Combined with the Green Gables Restaurant and the Mountain Playhouse, this family-owned and run establishment is set around a beautiful lake and river. Teresa, the owner, is just lovely and welcoming and very immersed in every aspect. She's also the producer of the plays that are staged and involved with the arts. Her mother was the architect for and designed some parts of the main building, which is how she met her father. We only stayed one night on our drive back to Toronto, but it would be ideal for a short stay as well combined with some of their other activities or nearby attractions.
Itw asn't that close to Fallingwater, but it was well, well worth the drive and far better than the ordinary, crowded hotels that seem to be typical of the Laurel Highlands.
We stayed in the Beaverdam Creek Cabin. It was small, but snug and had everything, and I mean everything. the most beautiful aspect of it was the little creek behind it and one could fall asleep to the sound of a bubbling spring. The bed was perced upstairs in a small loft. It offered privacy and convenience and was perfect for us.
The only downside was that the Green Gables was closed for that evening and we ended up having to buy frozen junk from the nearby gas station for dinner. Check before you go.
Still, it was beautiful and renewing experience and I'd recommend it. Also gay friendly.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ezelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jennerstown
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
7.9 mi away
Ligonier Country Inn
Ligonier Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Laughlintown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddleson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddleson Court

Property: Huddleson Court
Address: 7712 SOMERSET PIKE, Jennerstown, PA 15547
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Jennerstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Jennerstown
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huddleson Court's rooms, suites, and cottages are situated in a pastoral setting adjacent to the Wine Spectator award-winning Green Gables Restaurant and the Mountain Playhouse, Pennsylvania's oldest professional resident summer theater. The uniquely decorated units range from rooms with private bath in Huddleson Court's central building to free-standing cottages around Stoughton Lake. All accommodations feature pillow-top queen sized beds, luxury linens and cozy quilt bedspreads. Most include cooking facilities and a wood-burning fireplace. Whether staying one night or more, Huddleson Court provides a relaxing space in the country to escape from the craze of the modern day world. Packages with Green Gables Restaurant are available throughout the year for dining, wine or beer tastings, and wine dinners. Huddleson court also packages with the Mountain Playhouse during its season which runs June through October. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing