We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wasted opportunity”

The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merimbula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wasted opportunity”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views and a warm fire are completely wasted against a backdrop of absent staff, poor wine list, no bar food (vending machine the only option) and a mausoleum like atmosphere. Sadly most of town is firmly shut on a Monday night :-(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruising59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Check in was friendly, entertaining but chaotic as we were booked in by a cook. Nevertheless, the friendliness made up for any downside! The room was sizeable, clean and had tea / coffee facilities. No wi-Fi available, no safe in the room either. Location was good and has a bar attached. As long as you are 40+ the bar will appeal, there were no younger folk in there and very few women the bar was predominantly all male but we still enjoyed it. We also ate in the restaurant upstairs and the two seafood meals we had were excellent. Overall a very good budget hotel with everything available on site should you need it and only a 100yd walk from the town centre if you want to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We recently ate a very enjoyable meal at this pub. We found that the quality of the food was better than your standard hotel meal. One of our group ordered the Beef Cheek. To find that it was outstanding. She said it was probably the best pub meal she had experienced and she's had a few.....and the best beef cheek she had eaten. We recommend The Lakeview Hotel as a pub that serves food more superior than most pubs in the area.

Room Tip: This venue is a pub. Situated at the bottom end of town on the righthand side of the street near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed there three nights, it's beds are very comfy if the pillows a bit hard. The staff are friendly and accomodating, nothing is a problem and they even rang me after I left to tell me they'd found a small watch I'd left behind and offered to send it on to me.
The only complaint I had was that they don't offer Wi-Fi internet anywhere on the premises, paid or not. I would happily have paid a fee towards having wi-fi - especially in my room, but at least they have digital TV channels now, last time I went there a few years ago they had very limited TV.. Also, the day I left I had to get up early, before 6am and they couldn't offer me a wake-up call either, but when I did get up (thankfully a friend woke me) the view of the lake from my room was just spectacular!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view, room 1 or 2 are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassysophiaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

So eaten here a few times both as dinner and lunch and it is always busy and never fails to disappoint. It is nothing flash but the servings are generous, there is an a lot of choice and those views are just to die for. I love having a long leisurely lunch and I manage to get lost in the view. This is something especially great during the day when I would happily eat by myself something I hate doing most of the time but are forced to because most of my travel is for work.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We ate here on our recent stay to Merimbula and the food was fantastic. Entrees served promptly and with beautiful home made dips and salads. Steak was cooked to perfection and seafood fresh. We weren't sure what the quality was going to be like but was fantastic all round.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

This is a great motel/hotel based in Merimbula, on the south coast of New South Wales, not far from a beach with kangaroos and plenty of oyster farms. Our room was very clean and tidy, and had a nice contemporary feel, with a partial view of Merimbula lake. It was excellent value for $79 a night. It has a bistro attached, we had a lovely meal there, slightly pricey but worth it for a one off. We would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay on a trip up the New South Wales coast.

One thing I would mention is there is a beer garden below the rooms, and it was out of season so we didn't have any noise from that...but it might be an issue in the summer I guess (for those that prefer sleeping to drinking!!).

  • Liked — Value for money and good location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmeline73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Merimbula
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel

Property: The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Address: 1 Market St, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing