We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation + friendly staff = fantastic family holiday!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandpiper Holiday Units
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We travel to Merimbula each year, in the last few years we started staying at Sandpiper Holiday Apartments . The owners always go out of their way to ensure that my family enjoys their holiday. Great suggestions for new experiences helping us discover the little treasures in Merimbula that maybe we didn't do the last time , or we just forgot about for this time.......The boys love the fishing at Eden (thanks Glenn) and feeding the pelicans down at the lake (thanks Shirley), I think this has become a tradition we will have to keep for the future holidays at Merimbula !!!!!

The apartments are spotless ,bright and airy and although I try to do as little cooking as possible on holidays the kitchen has everything plus more. What better way is there to relax then watching the kids play outside while sitting on the balcony in the warm sun .

What a place for value , location, service and accomodation. We love it and NO you havent seen the last of us just yet Glenn and Shirley.....Thanks for helping us create some great memories for our kids. The 7 hour car ride is defiantly worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne05052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thankyou for your kind words Anne Dont forget that if you plan your next holiday between November and March, around the time of when we have outgoing tides and no moon you should have a lot of fun Prawning, I bet the kids have not done that. Just a torch and a net is all you need to have hours of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

We have just spent a week at the Sandpiper Holiday Units and were very impressed with the amenities which included everything from a washing machine to an iron, DVD's, books and information about local tourist attractions. Very clean and close to the shops, clubs and supermarkets. We loved the gardens and the pool and the BBQ, which we used on several occasions. We found the owners very friendly and helpful. Glenn, thanks for recommending the fish and chips in Bermagui, they were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourne_Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

We get a lot of pleasure reading the comments from guests in our visitor books, its even more enjoyable when our guests take the time and effort to leave their review for all to see, many say that they will when they get home but quite often forget. Once again Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We found the Sandpiper units to be very spacious, very clean and just what we needed for a single night stay. Had the weather been warmer my 3 year old would have enjoyed the small pool. Walking distance to clubs and main street shopping, across the road from tennis courts if that is your thing. Only concern was the fire alarm that chirped during the night (possibly just needed a change in battery) and the strict 9.30am check out time (fine if you travel with a small child as we did, but not great if you would like a later sleep in). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniBreakMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Very sorry about the smoke alarm, we always change the batteries at start and end of daylight savings. This one must have just gone flat the day of your visit as the guest the previous night made no comment. Have changed the Battery and all is good now. Once again very sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

After 10 years in the Royal Australian Navy I was pleasantly surprised by this budget accommodation. Don't let the low price fool you, it's qaulity all the way and the lovely couple that run the place will ensure you are more than comfortable and welcome. I look forward to staying another time.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tash54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thankyou for taking the time to tell all about our little place, we get a lot of pleasure reading the great inserts in our visitor books, however its fantastic when our guests take the time and effort to leave their review for all to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here.
What we got for the price was great value.
The apartment was extremely clean and comfortable, having everything we needed for a relaxing stay including an interesting collection of books and DVD's.

The location is very convenient, being only a few minutes from the very center of town. It is perfect walking distance to the nearby clubs, restaurants and shops.

By far one of the cutest aspects of the Sandpiper would have to be the pool. Although small, (appropriately being named THE PUDDLE) it is the perfect spot to cool off or just relax. Due to its size it warms up very quickly and is at the best temperature for relaxing in, especially in the afternoons.

Although close to town the pool/ bbq area is nestled perfectly within its own space making it feel as though you are in your own, quite, comfortable area.

Great stay, would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oOAndrewOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed at the Sandpiper units for 7 nights over the Christmas / New Year period. Shirley & Glenn were so friendly, always their to answer questions & help us out.
The apartments were very clean and only being 4 of them, it was a nice quiet area.
The central location was fantatic - within 5 minutes wak to town so no need to drive everywhere!
The pool was great for a refreshing dip.
Thanks Glenn & Shirley, we will recommend to all family & friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Very neat and spotless. Just 4 units and each quite private from the other. Airy and lots of natural light and the kitchen was rightly equipped. The shower head was excellent. Just the thing that you would look for in a self contained accomodation. We loved it. And the kids loved the 'Puddle' which seemed to be the star attraction for them. Everytime we drove out, they wanted to know how long before we return :) . Would stay here definitely again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_traveljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.7 mi away
Wandarrah Lodge
Wandarrah Lodge
#26 of 59 in Merimbula
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
NRMA  Merimbula Beach Holiday Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#7 of 15 in Merimbula
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merimbula Gardens Motel
Merimbula Gardens Motel
#11 of 15 in Merimbula
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Town Houses By Lisa
Panoramic Town Houses By Lisa
#56 of 59 in Merimbula
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Holiday Units

Address: 6 Sapphire Coast Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range: £63 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Holiday Units 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SandPiper Holiday Units/Apartments are situated in the town centre of Merimbula. All units have AIR-CONDITIONING, 400 Mb FREE Wi-fI (daily), 53 Channels FOX-TEL satellite TV, are north facing with private balconies, windows that open, queen beds and linen supplied. We are an easy 2 minute walk to the bowling club, shops, cinema and post office. 10 Minute walk to the water. These units, whilst in the middle of town, are set at the rear of the block and are clean, quiet and comfortable. Please note price is for 2 persons using queen bed, extra charges apply for extra bedding or persons, 2nd bedroom is locked. Kitchenette only on single night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing