We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandpiper Holiday Units
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Great spot in central Merimbula, close to everything. Very clean and tidy. Rooms are very spacious and the "puddle" is fantastic for young kids. Would definetly recommend to anyone and will be the first place we try and stay at next time. Glenn and Shirley are very friendly and easy to deal with.Simon, Anne-Marie and kids.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TidyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2010

Wonderful spot for our family getaway, great service, friendly proprietors, close to everything.great BBQ area and perfect pool for young children, we would certainly recommend the Sandpiper units to anyone and look forward to returning soon. Thanks Glenn and Shirley.

The Loader family

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoadGoulburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We could only stay a few days on our travels along the coastal road from Melbourne to Sydney and were happy that we managed to be able to stay another two nights on our return to Melbourne. Merimbula, NSW is a fantastic place and if we visited Australia again from the UK we would definitely return to see Shirley and Glen.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The sandpiper units might only be 3 1/2 stars but the service was five stars all the way.
The two bedrooms units where large, very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed to make the holiday confortable was there. The pool is solar heated and was enjoyed by all. It was walking distance to everthing, shop beaches and entertainment. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Staff were incredibly rude when we asked for a late checkout and made various derogatory and rude comments about our party not being Australian, so much so they made my elderly mother-in-law cry. Would not recommend to others in a million years.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PomHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2548, owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2009

It upsets me that someone who booked for 2 days and extended for one more day could write such a review. No late checkout was asked for by this guest however at about 10.20 am 50 miinutes after checkout time i asked if they were nearly ready and her answer was that she thought checkout time was 11.00 am. I said sorry but it is written in the unit that 9.30 is the time. Nothing derogative was said from either my wife or myself on their departure in regards to their nationality, discussions were about departure time and enjoy the rest of your trip.Glenn Bassett owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My elderly Dad and I needed only one night's accommodation en route to Melbourne. I hopped onto the computer and found Sandpiper Units - the tariff was excellent, but apart from this, the rooms looked really spacious and clean.
Upon our arrival we were greeted by our friendly host, Glenn. As we entered our unit, we were absolutely amazed at the cleanliness - far beyond some 5 star hotels at which I have stayed. Everything kitchen-wise had been thought of, right down to plastic plates and cups for children.
The pool, or 'puddle' was crystal clear. Although it is not large, it would be a perfect place to relax while the kids play in the 1 metre deep water.
The units are not beachfront, which wouldn't suit everyone. But their position in relation to supermarkets, shops and clubs is excellent.
I would highly recommend these units for space, quiet, cleanliness and value. They are budget in price, but not in quality. Thanks, Glenn and Shirley, from Heather and Bill.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy-Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thankyou for taking the time to tell all about our little place, we get a lot of pleasure reading the great inserts in our visitor books, however its fantastic when our guests take the time and effort to leave their review for all to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.7 mi away
Wandarrah Lodge
Wandarrah Lodge
#26 of 59 in Merimbula
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
NRMA  Merimbula Beach Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Coast Resort Merimbula
Coast Resort Merimbula
#9 of 59 in Merimbula
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#7 of 15 in Merimbula
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Holiday Units

Address: 6 Sapphire Coast Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range: £65 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Holiday Units 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SandPiper Holiday Units/Apartments are situated in the town centre of Merimbula. All units have AIR-CONDITIONING, 400 Mb FREE Wi-fI (daily), 53 Channels FOX-TEL satellite TV, are north facing with private balconies, windows that open, queen beds and linen supplied. We are an easy 2 minute walk to the bowling club, shops, cinema and post office. 10 Minute walk to the water. These units, whilst in the middle of town, are set at the rear of the block and are clean, quiet and comfortable. Please note price is for 2 persons using queen bed, extra charges apply for extra bedding or persons, 2nd bedroom is locked. Kitchenette only on single night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing