We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
Review of Pelican Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable room, particularly the comfortable bed, pillows and nice fluffy towels. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. This accommodation is in a great location, very close to the main street. Shame we only stayed for one night, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are glad you had a lovely stay and would love to see you back this way again soon.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    54
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
86
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on a shopper docket holiday. We weren't expecting luxury accommodation and a huge 5star room but we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. A very comfortable bed and adequate space and a good sized bathroom and nice hot water.There was a microwave and general crockery and cutlery, glassware etc to have a meal with. Motel is close to shopping centre and club and across the road from picture theatre. Even though it is on the main road into Merimbula we weren't bothered by traffic noise at all and we had a room facing the road.
Terrie and Bruce are only to happy to answer any questions and steer you in the right direction for meals,(thoroughly recommend Pier One on the boardwalk) sightseeing,walks and the Aquarium or any other questions you might have. Their concern and care for their guests is second to none. Unfortunately I had to call an ambulance for my husband during the night and they came out to make sure everything was alright and could they do anything. Even offered to drive me to the hospital at Bega the following morning.
Nothing negative to say at all except for the chilly weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekenders2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello weekenders2812,
Thank you for giving us a lovely review we are glad we were able to make your stay comfortable..
I hope your Husband's health is on the mend and you are taking care of yourself as well.
Hopefully we will get to see you both get return to Merimbula one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Within sight of the water 200 metres from town, friendly helpful owners assisted us with finding fresh local seafood late in the afternoon and also suggested a nice walking area via a board walk by the river. Pool was also a welcome relief after a hot day. Clean comfortable and quite if you can get a room toward the back away from the main road.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FalconerIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi FalconerIV,
thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we are glad we were able to help you enjoy your time in Merimbula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very glad that we picked this place for a one-night stay during our drive from Sydney to Melbourne. We stayed in their cheapest room as we got in really late and had to leave very early in the morning but were not disappointed and actually were surprised with how comfortable the room was. The room was clean, large, and comfortable with an ensuite bath with a good warm shower. The bathroom was quite cold however but it warmed up with the hot shower. There was a small kichenette with dishware (including wine glasses) and utensils. Internet connection was also good. Diane, who helped checked us in, was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwiminBelugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi SwiminBelugas,
thankyou for the lovely review and we are so glad you had a lovely stay with us in Merimbula and Dianne was able to help with you inquiries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way from Sydney to Melbourne. It was a perfectly functional motel room with adequate heating and all necessary amenities. The bathroom was clean and looked newly renovated, and the shower was good. The lady at the front desk was friendly and chatty, happy to help and answer questions. We didn't meet the owners as they were away for the weekend.

We had fish and chips for dinner from the place over the road from the motel, which was very good.

After checking out the next morning, we spent a delightful couple of hours wandering along the boardwalk. We would highly recommended this if you have the time (as a previous reviewer has also said).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrUrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dr Urbach,
thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we are so glad you had a lovely stay in Merimbula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great value motel. Bruce & Terrie are the perfect hosts - extremely friendly & helpful.Recommended the nearby Bowling Club for dinnner which proved to be a geat choice. Terrie recommended the local "Böard walk" which we undertook in the morning when the rain finally stopped.Make the effort and undertake this walk - suit any fitness level. Provided us with a local map and pointed out a short cut to Canberra - all part of the great "Custömer Service" they provide.

We hope to return in the near future, and will have no hesitation in booking this establishment - assuming Bruce & Terrie are still the operators. Great location close to all facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flavs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Flavvs66,
thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review and we do hope we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Nothing bad to write about this place, great location and friendly staff. As soon as I arrived they rushed over to the room to turn on the heating. Pleasantly surprised by this motel and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curioster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravelling, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
curioster,
we are glad you had a lovely stay and thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
0.0 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#6 of 15 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motor Inn

Property: Pelican Motor Inn
Address: 18 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Merimbula, the Pelican Motor Inn is the closest AAA rated 3.5 Star property to the heart of town and offers all the comforts and conveniences for a memorable Merimbula holiday. The Pelican Motor Inn is in a central Merimbula location within 80 metres of the Post Office and an easy stroll to Merimbula-Imlay Bowling Club, RSL, shops, Restaurants, Pictures, beaches and the beautiful Lake Merimbula. Merimbula/Pambula and Tura Beach Golf Clubs are only a nine iron away. All 25 of our Merimbula motel units have newly renovated bathrooms, new split system air-conditioners / heating, queen size beds and ground level access, many have scenic views over the township and Merimbula Lake. Family rooms have cooking facilities. All rooms now have HD Televisions and microwaves. Enjoy a BBQ at our great BBQ area, take a dip in the solar heated saltwater pool or just sit and relax in the garden area. For large group bookings enjoy dinner or drinks in the 80 seater marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelican Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing