We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beds, clean and convenient”
Review of Pelican Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great beds, clean and convenient”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked a queen deluxe room. It was very convenient and close to everything. There was a queen bed and a single bed in it. The queen bed was super comfortable and great quality, unlike the ones in cabin style accommodation.The room was spacious, clean and the bathroom is decent and has been updated. It was very quiet too even though the motel was full. The room was on the ground floor and you can just park straight outside so from the car to the room was just a hop. The outdoor furniture right by the door is also appreciated. Nice to sit in the sun and have a cup of coffee.
The room has a bar fridge. The microwave is old but it works. Some cutlery and dishes are provided but minimal. There are only a few minor downsides: no dish-washing liquid and it was difficult to wash dishes in the bathroom sink. It was also difficult to fill the kettle as the bathroom sink wasn't deep enough. Overall, we were happy with this motel and will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Green098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Green098, thank you for your lovely review.
With the Queen rooms we prefer to collect the dirty plates etc. each day and run them through the dishwasher, we do supply a smaller jug in each room to allow to fill the kettle.
We do have rooms available on request with small kitchenettes and sinks in them if needed next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    54
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
87
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The room was excellent, well appointed and more importantly very quiet. The hosts were excellent, dealing with a slight issue with the fridge promptly and efficiently. The motel is perfectly located for shops and clubs and only a short drive to the major beach. A problem not caused by the motel is the difficulty of driving out of the motel in peak times - visibility is non-existent so care is needed. Overall, a good motel - value for money. My only criticism, and a small one at that, is this is the only motel at which I have stayed where complimentary toiletries were not provided - possibly an oversight - and not a deterrent to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpatto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
jpatto26, thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we hope to see you next time you are in Merimbula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed as a travelling group of 5 adults
Great value, comfortable and clean rooms
Great pool and BBQ area
Terri was fantastic in sharing local knowledge about seeing kangaroos at the local golf club at sunset - thanks!
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBarnsley82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi Tom,
thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to give us a great review.
Terrie said to say thank you for the kind remarks and is glad we were able to help make your stay in Merimbula an enjoyable one. Hope you have a safe trip back to the UK and we see you back our way again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Agree with the deservedly excellent reviews of the Pelican. Bruce and Terrie really do go the extra mile and more to help their guests and ensure a memorable stay in this beautiful part of Australia. If there were six stars on the rating, that would be my selection.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi Charles,
thank you for the lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad we were able to help make your stay in Merimbula enjoyable. Hopefully we will see you on a return trip one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the Pelican Inn motel again for 5 nights, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the linen always clean & fresh. It is a family operated concern, our hosts Terrie, Bruce, Brayden & Jacob were fantastic hosts, always friendly and extremely helpful. I over head Terrie suggesting a different way for fellow guests to travel to their destination, that would make the trip much more enjoyable time wise and scenery. We have stayed there a few times now and highly recommend it to anyone that is seeking a great holiday in Merimbula or passing through to some other destination. The swimming pool and bar-b-que area is a great place to sit back and enjoy a well earned break from every day hustles.

Once again Terrie, Bruce, Brayden & Jacob, thank you for a delightful stay, we will be back again In March and August.

Room Tip: Any room would suite from what we have seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you Pie35 for taking the time to give us a lovely review, it is always nice to catch up with you and we will see you in March for the Rock' n' Roll weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. Checked in without hassle - greeted with map, instructions for local attractions/food selection and milk for teas/coffees. Room simple but effective and exceptionally clean and tidy - comfy bed, medium sized tv (strangely off centre from bed, made viewing a bit annoying), good bathroom, basic dishes, kettle and microwave, couch, indoor and outdoor dining table, free wifi. Location ideal - town centre a stones through away. Fabulous value ($95/night). Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Laura,
thank you for taking the time to give us a great review, hopefully we will see you on a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The owners here were fantastic and very helpful and happy to go out of there way to make us feel welcome. Great prices and ideal location. Off the main drag but a quick walk to restaurants and shops and the board walk around the water. Rooms were clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed. Definitely recommend to stay here and look forward to exploring this area again soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodders2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Rodders2124 Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review,
We are glad you had a lovely stay and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
46 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#4 of 15 in Merimbula
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motor Inn

Property: Pelican Motor Inn
Address: 18 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Merimbula, the Pelican Motor Inn is the closest AAA rated 3.5 Star property to the heart of town and offers all the comforts and conveniences for a memorable Merimbula holiday. The Pelican Motor Inn is in a central Merimbula location within 80 metres of the Post Office and an easy stroll to Merimbula-Imlay Bowling Club, RSL, shops, Restaurants, Pictures, beaches and the beautiful Lake Merimbula. Merimbula/Pambula and Tura Beach Golf Clubs are only a nine iron away. All 25 of our Merimbula motel units have newly renovated bathrooms, new split system air-conditioners / heating, queen size beds and ground level access, many have scenic views over the township and Merimbula Lake. Family rooms have cooking facilities. All rooms now have HD Televisions and microwaves. Enjoy a BBQ at our great BBQ area, take a dip in the solar heated saltwater pool or just sit and relax in the garden area. For large group bookings enjoy dinner or drinks in the 80 seater marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelican Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing