We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and amazingly comfortable beds.”
Review of Pelican Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very friendly and amazingly comfortable beds.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had read the good reviews on Tripadvisor - so when I needed a motel on the drive back from Melbourne to Sydney, decided to give the Pelican a go.

I've stayed in many Motels throughout Australia, and I have to say that the Pelican is what you'd expect from a good Aussie Motel.

I rang a few hours before arrival, to book the room. I explained that it would be well after dark by the time I arrived. As other reviewers had commented, Dianne told me that she'd go and warm up the room ready for my arrival, and that all I had to do was just go inside and we could fix everything up in the morning. She also kindly told me to drive very carefully, and not rush, given the amount of kangaroos on the road at night (which can be a major driving hazard).

Sure enough on arrival, I found the room nice and warm. (a plus seeing it was only 5 degrees outside).

The other thing that surprised me about the room, was how comfortable the bed was and the quality of the linen and towels.

I would definitely recommend the Pelican to anyone who is in Merimbula.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    54
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
87
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilmore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one night only on my way north for work. Quick check-in with Bruce, very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and the bed very comfy, with a decent kitchenette. Great shower but the bathroom needs a fan. Motel is in an excellent location, only a short walk to restaurants, post office, banks, supermarkets and the infamous Boardwalk. Would happily stay here again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We needed a crash pad on the way home from the snow and chose the Pelican Inn.

They ticked all the boxes.

It is a motel, so it's not the Ritz, but lovely Dianne had the room warmed up for us on arrival ( it was a cold week), the bed configuration was good, comfy beds, clean, quite and a short walk to the few local restaurants and boardwalk ~300m.

They also have decent kitchenette though we didn't require it.

The only suggestion for the boss is to install an exhaust fan in the bathroom.

We would happily drop in again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
ScambusterSZ, thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
we are in the process of putting fans in each room and we only have a couple to go.
Very glad you had a lovely stay and I will pass on your comments to Dianne, hopefully we will see you next time you head our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Pelican Motel after in-between stops with our families on a road trip from Melbourne to Sydney.
I would highly recommend the Motel and its host's Bruce and Terrie to any travelers heading their way.
Great shower, brilliant heaters and the room was the cleanest we have ever stayed in.
Motel was right in town and Terrie recommended some great spots for us to see in our couple of days.(especially the kangaroo's)

Room Tip: Family room was very large and ideal for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you CRyno for giving us a lovely review, very happy Terrie was able to give you a couple of tip's on what to see in Merimbula.
I will pass on your compliments to our cleaning staff.
Tell your youngest she still does the best kangaroo impersonations I have ever seen.
Hopefully we will see you back in Merimbula one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for one night while visiting Australia. It is very clean. Bed was comfy. Owner very friendly. It was the best room during our road trip along the coast. Owner also recommended a great place for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Melinda G, thank you very much for taking your time to give us a lovely review.
Glad we were able to help out with your stay in Merimbula and we hope you had a lovely trip in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a great stay here. staff were charming. Rooms were spotless. Pool area was well kept. Great to get into a decent shower in the morning. We booked via the internet (3rd party website) but realised after we could have saved money booking direct through them - when will we ever learn! I would recommend this place especially if travelling with a family.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alan_parker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Alan,
thankyou for your kind recommendation and kind review.
Hopefully we will see you back in Merimbula and staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastwood, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights over the long weekend. The room was very clean and tidy, bed comfortable with lovely crisp sheets. The location is excellent with the local shops, supermarket,Bowling Club, RSL, and scenic walks and water only minutes away. Our room had a view to the lake from the balcony. Its location makes a great base for exploration of the region out to Tilba and beyond, Eden and north to Bermagui along the coast.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful, with great tips on local restaurants and places to visit. Their ability to cater for a larger group was brilliant and perfect for our needs.
We're definitely going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican-Merimbula, Manager at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thankyou Cheryl O for your lovely review, we look forward to catching up with you and all the guests over the Jazz weekend each year.
It is a great weekend and hopefully we add a little more enjoyment to it for you all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
0.0 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motor Inn

Property: Pelican Motor Inn
Address: 18 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Merimbula, the Pelican Motor Inn is the closest AAA rated 3.5 Star property to the heart of town and offers all the comforts and conveniences for a memorable Merimbula holiday. The Pelican Motor Inn is in a central Merimbula location within 80 metres of the Post Office and an easy stroll to Merimbula-Imlay Bowling Club, RSL, shops, Restaurants, Pictures, beaches and the beautiful Lake Merimbula. Merimbula/Pambula and Tura Beach Golf Clubs are only a nine iron away. All 25 of our Merimbula motel units have newly renovated bathrooms, new split system air-conditioners / heating, queen size beds and ground level access, many have scenic views over the township and Merimbula Lake. Family rooms have cooking facilities. All rooms now have HD Televisions and microwaves. Enjoy a BBQ at our great BBQ area, take a dip in the solar heated saltwater pool or just sit and relax in the garden area. For large group bookings enjoy dinner or drinks in the 80 seater marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelican Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing