We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomadation, average service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast Resort Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good accomadation, average service.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having stayed at the coast every year for the past 5 years for the annual kitesurfing event, I knew what to expect. Modern appartments in great location, however our experience this year was soured when paying our account on departure. Having booked 4 nights a couple of months in advance on the way down from Sydney one of our party had a car accident and the others got called in to work so I called the coast to let them know we would be unable to check in on time. I was assured that would be ok and our booking would be changed to 3 nights however when paying account I was informed booking couldn't be changed and charged full freight for 4 nights. I won't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    50
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
64
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Merimbula is a lovely place to visit - great services, some excellent restaurants, lovely walks and beaches - and Coast Resort is a superb place to stay. This was our fourth stay at the resort and it continues to impress. Just a 2 minute walk across the park to the beach, two great pools for the kids to play in, lovely clean apartment and gorgeous native gardens. For a place that is now a few years old, it has been beautifully maintained and is still really modern. We all loved the Foxtel and the free wi-fi. Walked across the bridge into town on both days for breakfast and dinner. Super easy. Only issue is the 9.30 check-out, which is a tad early, particularly as daylight savings had just started!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Namadgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our 2 bedroom ocean side apartment was stunning & spacious, in a great quiet location.
The only downside at all was that because the apartment was so big, unfortunately I was very cold in the main bedroom as the air con was not able to heat the whole place. Also the blankets were very thin..Apart from that we would definately stay there again if we visit Merimbula.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneyitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We have just had a lovely week in a 3 bedroom 2 storey apartment with a lake view.
The lake view apartments are without doubt best suited to families are are quieter than the pool view apartments and offer a much nicer outlook than the concourse view apartments.
You are less than 50 meters from the nearest pool but we preferred the lap pool which was about 200 metres away.

Our only complaint was the Splash Wireless Internet service which was provided free.
It is exceeding difficult to get a connection and when you do it is exceedingly slow - management really should look at this and seriously consider puting in their own server. They will be doing the guests an enormous favour.
In the end I just gave up and recharged my own Telstra SIM which worked extremely well. It was $10 very well spent.

I am not sure that I would want to stay at the Coast resort in summer however as the majority of the bedrooms do not have A/C.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This review is specifically about the more expensive two bedroom Lakeside units. There are many configurations in this complex and so my comments may not apply to all units.

We chose Coast Resort on this occasion because of its location, positive Trip Advisor reports and, having seen it before, we thought it looked modern and well presented.

This was a really disappointing place to stay and most of it goes down to really bad design.

The units (we were in Number 4) do have two bedrooms and two bathrooms but one bedroom is downstairs and yet both bathrooms are upstairs - so, whoever has the downstairs bedroom has no easy bathroom access.

It was not very hot when we stayed but it was warm and very humid. We found the unit has only one airconditioner in the lounge room on the ground floor. It doesn't help upstairs, nor given the configuration of the unit, the downstairs bedroom. You can open a window upstairs for fresh air but downstairs this is not an option. One tiny window faces onto a public path and the only other options are sliding doors which would give anyone access in the night. The property owners would probably claim you can open the door into the supposedly secure back garden area but the side fence alongside a footpath is easily scaleable. To add to the ventilation problems, neither bathroom has an exhaust fan. They work well as sweat boxes. I should acknowledge that there was a single very basic pedestal fan in the downstairs bedroom. I have looked back over other reviews and found one other reviewer has made similar observations.

Lighting is also an issue (not huge but annoying). A myriad of downlights scatter the ceiling of the main living area but no dimmer switch (why in such a modern complex - cynical cost saving?). In one bedroom beside the double bed there was only one bedside light not two!!!

Added to these design faults: one of the roller blinds in the main window to the street came unstuck and fell to the floor soon after we arrived, it was reattached the next day but fell down again soon after; one access door has obviously been forced at some stage and the door itself is badly split and damaged - not very secure; and one of the sliding external doors was jamming and wouldn't open when unlocked.

There are some positives: the location is good 10-15 minutes walk into town and a short stroll to the beach; fairly secure undercover 2 car parking (not all of the units have this); free WiFi; a two night stay requirement (many apartments in Merimbula require longer minimum stays).

The positives lift this rating from terrible to poor but that is all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Apartment clean and spacious, with undercover car park (steps leading to apartment). Furnishings were basic, but adequate. Would have liked to have had an ironing board to accompany iron and an extra block of soap would not have gone astray. The air conditioner was noisy and this was reported to reception on departure, hopefully to be acted upon. This apartment had a great selection of reading material which was appreciated! This complex is situated in a great location, access to beach is excellent and it is a pleasant walk across the bridge to shops, etc.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jabba15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent 9 nights in a pool-view 2 bedroom apartment. We absolutely loved it and plan to come back next year.

We loved the:
Location – The beach is right over the road, the lake at the other end of the resort, Cranky Cafe (which is pretty good) is a walk around the corner and town is a 15 minute walk.
The pool – The lap pool was a good temperature most days. It’s a good size pool that coped well with the number of people having a swim. There is another pool but we didn’t use it.
The rooms - Big bedrooms & living area. We had 2 long couches and a good size flat screen TV, with Ausstar.
Value – We have spent more in basic cabins in Caravan Park nearby previously.
Facilities- Gas BBQs, tennis court & lock up cages.

Our only minor gripes were:
Car-parking. The basement spaces in our block were extremely tight.
The tiles to the bathroom were raised too high and a tripping hazard.
Stairs. We were on the 2nd floor, with no lift. It was OK for us but not appropriate if you have a stroller.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor if you have a stroller or pram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
NRMA  Merimbula Beach Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Albacore Apartments
Albacore Apartments
#3 of 59 in Merimbula
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#2 of 59 in Merimbula
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Luxury Apartments
Apollo Luxury Apartments
#7 of 59 in Merimbula
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
BIG4 Merimbula Tween Waters Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Resort Merimbula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Resort Merimbula

Property: Coast Resort Merimbula
Address: U 68 1 Elizabeth St, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coast Resort Merimbula 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Resort Merimbula Pty Ltd currently manages 54 privately owned apartments and townhouses within the development know as "Coast Merimbula Beach". The development located in tne idylic fishpen area of Merimbula spans over 5 acres between Merimbula Lake & Merimbula Main Beach. Home sized apartments and townhouses with varying view aspects, lake, pool, garden and ocean. Each apartment or townhouse is fully self contained featuring full kitchen facilities with modern appliances. Smeg Cooktop (Gas), Smeg Oven (electric), dishwasher and microwave. Each has internal laundry facility with washing machine & clothes dryer. Foxtel is connected with 50+ channels (Movies, Sport, Lifestyle & childrens programming) along with free to air TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Resort Merimbula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Resort Merimbula Hotel Merimbula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing