We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillcrest Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In need of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is your typical motor lodge, with rooms opening directly on to the car park. Room was ok, very 70s esque but everything worked and the bed was comfortable. New owners have a lot of work to do to modernise and update. Initial impression was poor due to male owner appearing after some time looking very bedraggled and with a very grubby bandage hanging off his hand. Cobwebs in room in wooden beams above the headboard. Bathroom was cleanish but had seen better days. Ok for a cheap stopover but wouldn't recommend as a base for a longish trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClarenceAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    31
    23
    5
    11
See reviews for
20
47
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

It's so good just to be able to stay overnight in a motel with your dog. The location out of town was perfect, quieter and with the curtains drawn country dark. I booked a room with balcony and the view was spectacular. My room had older decor but was well appointed, everything worked and was clean.

Room Tip: Get a balcony the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PowerV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

this hotel has just been taken over by a young couple who have an enormous job in front of them bringing this place up to a reasonable standard , the owner is a nice guy and let us check in early , but from then on it all went down hill . The views of the ocean are amazing but water seems to be a problem with the lower units , in the middle of washing out shampoo in shower and water stopped not just hot either , next day ( last day ) they didn't make up our room or give clean towels .. we stayed for 3 days all up but wouldn't go back

Room Tip: rooms closer to the office don't have water problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuePocknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merimbula hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

On the way back travelling from NSW and travelling some 2180Kms. We stopped off in
Merimbula for the night We did not have much money left, but found the HILL CREST
MOTOR INN Not much to look at , but for $69 / night we tried it. Well rooms , very comphy
new bed , new tv , new couch very cosy, very well presented and not least the VIEW out
the back was absolutely magnificent. Best view of Merimbula, We liked it that much
so decided to stay extra night.
Go to the RSL for your meals you won't go wrong

Room Tip: stay in the upstairs rooms for a mag view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxed082010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merimbula Gardens Motel
Merimbula Gardens Motel
#10 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#9 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Motor Inn

Property: Hillcrest Motor Inn
Address: 95 - 97 Merimbula Drive, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the escarpment overlooking the township of Merimbula the Hillcrest consists of 30 rooms in a double brick contemporary 1970's style building. Surrounded by 1.6 Acres of garden, the motel offers quiet & tranquil enjoyment of this beautiful part of the world. Our rooms range from private balcony 3-3.5 Star motel suites through to large family style - depending on your budget and size of group we can accommodate your needs. We offer discounts for long term stays, loyalty customers, seniors and also rep rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hillcrest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing